We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and great suite for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Goldstar Resort & Suites
Ranked #42 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Haiku, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good location and great suite for the price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Goldstar Hotel was not far from the train station and very close to the beach. We only stayed one night on our way to Paris. The suite had a small kitchen in the living area and after twenty days eating out, it was enyoyable to eat in after picking up a roasted chicken and fresh vegetables from a shop close by. The bath had a tub as well as a shower, and the toilet was in a separate room.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R0b53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    262
    107
    32
    21
See reviews for
248
242
10
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in July. The best thing about the hotel is that the air-conditioning is very effective and worked perfectly! Rooms are pretty big and the location is good, even though it is not just by the beach. The little pool area at the roof is nice. The room and the whole hotel was very clean and tidy. Another very nice thing was that the windows had shutters that completely darkened the room. We like to sleep in. :)

What I didn't like: most of all the lack of personality of the hotel. It is not going to be a really great hotel if there isn't anything in the atmosphere that invites you to come back after your first visit. I was wondering about what it was that I am missing, but cannot quite put my finger on it.

Anyway, I'll try another hotel next time. Also a lot of little things were annoying: the beds were a little bit too hard, the bathroom door was very heavy to close and made a horrible sound, the gym was almost non-existent. Breakfast was apparently 20 eur for a croissant and coffee, so we didn't even try it. When we were leaving, we asked the reception to ordered a taxi, but it never showed. I had to go back and ask them to call again until the taxi came. Otherwise the staff was nice and helpful though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromHelsinkiWithLove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Level Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Decent base for short stay in Nice, 2 min walk to seafront & 10 min walk to Massena Square. Rooftop sun area, small could be a problem in high season.

Room Tip: Stayed here before, always selected Ambassdeur room. Higher Floor, better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KP2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

The only thing that lets this hotel down is the restaurant. The breakfast was dismal and stingy, which is surprising given where it is... We had stayed at Club Med Opio the week before, where the food was plentiful and fabulous, so this hotel restaurant place came as a surprising disappointment... And breakfast is so easy to get right, especially in the south of france... Shame.

Having weighed it up the night before, we ate dinner in the old town. Correct decision.

Room Tip: Suite with kitchenette perfect for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loubielouEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Goldstar Resort & Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

We are sincerely sorry that the our breakfast did not fill your expectations.
We thank you for pointing that out and will do our best to improve that point for such a disappointment not to happen again.

Kind Regards,
Jerome Burgert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012 via mobile

They need to remove the word gym from there website - I have more equipment at home ! The service is very good and staff are wonderful and friendly . Rooms need block out curtains . We booked a suite and the room size is very good . I think if they tweeked this place a little bit , it would be great for the price . Just not there yet !

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MofSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Goldstar Resort & Suites, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Dear Sir,

We are sorry that the level of equipment of our fitness corner did not fit your training habits. It is true that it more designed for occasional fitness training, rather than heavy work-outs.

Concerning the block-out curtains you have been looking for, a ll our suites are equipped with electric blinds, is there any chance you missed it ? if that is the case, a quick call to the front desk would have enabled us to sort it out, please do not hesitate to call us if ever you stay with us again, we are here to make your stay as enjoyable as we can.

Kind Regards,
Jerome Burgert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Very helpful reception staff greeted us and showed us our junior suite. The suite was plenty big enough with a comfortable bed and large bathroom. The lounge area was fine but would have benefited from another dining chair so that we could both sit at the table to eat at the right height. The kitchen area is tiny but we mainly only ate breakfast in the suite so it wasn't a problem. The TV only carried French-speaking channels which did not incline it to international guests (even the BBCs 'Pride and Prejudice' was dubbed into French).
The air conditioning was the quietest system we have ever come across and the suite was kept beautifully clean. The decor was ultra-modern reflecting more of an oriental (Japanese) theme which in my opinion was incongruous. In fact every time we exited the lift even though we knew he was there the Japanese warrior statue always startled us!
The hotel is situated very close to the restaurants and shops in Nice. The old town is a little further to walk but do-able. The beach is a 5 minute walk.

Room Tip: We had a room that was north facing (no direct sun) and were very glad as the weather was so hot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarleyMarley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

The room we had was a family one, and to have a seperate kitchen area was excellent, it made more of a Hotel / Self Catering experience which we enjoyed. The food was a bit restrited and expensive if you didn't have it included in the price, but the area that the hotel is located in has loads or bars / cafes / restaurants nearly anyway. The rooftop pool was excellent, the kids enjoyed themselves and it was covered as well with an openair terrace. The only drawback was the lift which is transparrent and attached to the outside of the hotel - no good if you are scared of heights!!

Room Tip: There are diffent types of family rooms - some have a dining table others have a larger bathroom or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David46049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#21 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#53 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Nice
#73 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goldstar Resort & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goldstar Resort & Suites

Property: Goldstar Resort & Suites
Address: 45 rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Nice
#20 Business Hotel in Nice
#23 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#25 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Goldstar Resort & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Goldstar Resort & Suites is a 4-star resort in the centre of Nice, just 250 metres from the Promenade des Anglais. It features a rooftop heated pool with solarium. The Goldstar Resort and Suites offers spacious soundproofed suites with modern design. Each air-conditioned room has a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Some rooms have a luxurious living room and a kitchenette. Free WiFi access is available in the entire hotel. For your comfort and wellness, the Goldstar offers free access to the sauna, heated swimming pool solarium on the rooftop from 8:30 to 20:00. Guests can have a drink at the rooftop terrace while enjoying a panoramic view of old Nice. Just 350 metres from the beach, the Goldstar is an ideal base to explore the French Riviera. There is shuttle service available at an additional cost to Nice-Cote d'Azur Airport, 5.6 Km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goldstar Resort & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goldstar Resort And Suites
Goldstar Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing