We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The best place to stay in Nice” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Massenet Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Massenet Hotel
Ranked #78 of 211 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“The best place to stay in Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have been to Nice many times, but this was our first time at this hotel. From the minute we entered the hotel to check-out everything was great. The hotel staff are the most caring and wonderful people. They made sure that our every request was catered to swiftly. We had booked the superior room and it was quite big by french standards and was very clean. There was a small balcony facing the front of the hotel. There was zero noise at night inspite of being less than 100mn from the promenade. The hotel is in a very quiet street and is 2mins away from many restaurants and cafes. The room itself was very comfortable. We took our travel boiler along, and it was very useful in having teas and boiling water for our newborn. We had requested a cot for the baby by calling them a few days in advance. Probably they can change the mattress in the cot to something slightly softer. Overall, we loved the hotel and will be back very soon. Thank you for the previous reviews to allow us to find this gem of a place.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms where we stayed were quite big. Superior room with a small balcony. All rooms wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank choudhurylondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    153
    21
    6
    1
See reviews for
31
184
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is a comfortable hotel with friendly, helpful staff who spoke good English. Hotel is in a great location, very close to the Promenade des Anglais, plus the cafes and bars one road back, and within walking distance of the Old Town (Vieille Ville).



Genuine Hotels.com guest review

Room Tip: We were in room 204 on the 2nd floor. The view from the window is just the backs of other buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaVB47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

My wife & I stayed 5 nights could find little to complain about . The staff were all very helpful specially at reception, they went out their way to make us comfortable which helps to make a good holiday. We had continental breakfast there every morning adequate for us anyway, although there were plenty of cafes close by. It was Ideal for us & would not hesitate in going back again.
J & J

Room Tip: If you like to make a cup of tea take a small electric kettle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack281031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chimkent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

100m far from the "promenade des Anglais" and the sea shore, the hotel is closed to the very center of the town where most of the restaurants and shops are located. The hotel is quiet and clean.
An underground and closed parking is available at the hoteland wifi is working well.
I didn't try the breakfast

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcM788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Massenet for one night in August. It was perfect.
The location was ideal, tucked away on a quiet cul-de-sac, close to the beach, close to the pedestrian road with all the shops and restaurants, close to the airport bus stop (2mins walk).
The room and bathroom were clean and spacious. We liked leaving the room key with the front desk when we left, it was one less thing to carry around. The wifi worked perfectly for us during our stay.
The staff were extremely helpful; they allowed us to check-in early (10am!), gave suggestions about the area and restaurants, and held our baggage all day for us in storage so we could enjoy our last day in Nice.
We would most certainly stay at the Massenet again if/when we return to Nice!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maksru21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
555 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 388 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Location: Less than 200 meters from Promenade des Anglais, 10 mins to Place Massena
Hotel: Small building tucked in a lane, joined to other properties on the sides
Room: Big, well lit, big bathroom
Positives: Location, big room/bathroom, helpful staff, parking available, free internet
Negatives: noisy airconditioner, no system of multiple room cards
Ranking at time of writing: #18 of 213

This is one hotel regarding I was confused between 3 or 4 stars. The location is fantastic for the price. You can't get anything better. Less than 200m away from the beach (no view of the sea though), close to a plethora of restaurants. The reception is manned 24 hours and the staff is very helpful. They serve breakfast (extras) near the lobby. Parking is in a sheltered garage next door.

The room is quite big with a balcony, which unfortunately was not in the best of shape - dirty and had no view as there were trees around. There's a cupboard to store clothes, a locker affixed into the wall, a table, chair, enough room to walk around. The bathroom is big with a clothes heater and a shower + bathtub. They had free internet (apparently only for a short time as the new wifi network was patchy and hence they didn't want to charge for substandard services)

The downsides - the aircon in our room would vibrate very very loudly at the highest fan setting. What put me off is that the staff was very much aware of that!!! It was very annoying as the room wouldn't cool at a medium fan setting and one couldn't sleep at the higher fan setting. We were there on the Bastille Day weekend and hence no chance of having that fixed. The other downer was the card system. They could only issue 1 card per room, so if one of the occupants needs to go out whilst the other stays in to sleep, you are in trouble. And when we did a bit of an adjustment for the 2nd card, the card just wouldn't work. Nearly 1am at night, I couldn't enter the room, nor could I wake my wife up. Finally after going to the reception twice to reset the card, the receptionist had to come up and open the room with his master key.

Had it not been for these two issues, I would've certainly given a 4 start to this place, may be even a 5.

Room Tip: 1st floor south corner room had plenty of A/C noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveleator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a family run Hotel in a great location in a quiet street, between the Promenade des Anglaise and the main Street with lots of restaurants and bars. Facilities are excellent and it is spotlessly clean. Have breakfast in the Sal du The on the corner.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aprosser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#75 of 211 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#57 of 211 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Hotel Solara
#101 of 211 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Ambassador Hotel
#90 of 211 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#24 of 211 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Massenet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Massenet Hotel

Property: Massenet Hotel
Address: 11 rue Massenet, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Massenet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massenet Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing