We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hotel L'Oasis”
Review of Hotel Oasis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Oasis
Ranked #77 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Nice
1 review
“hotel L'Oasis”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

pleasant small hotel with very friendly and helpfull receptionist. Adequate breakfasts but the lady in charge takes no prisoners ! Nice garden for breakfast and sitting out. Would certainly return. Handy for the station.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    168
    76
    39
    19
See reviews for
33
209
30
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Ok so trust me I am really not the hardest person to please but this hotel was up there with one of the worst places i have ever stayed and i have stayed in my fair share of cheap grubby hostels over the years what with being a seasoned traveler.
After reading the reviews on trip advisor my partner and I booked this hotel the night before we checked in after a nightmare with another reservation.
So on arrival the lady at the desk was ok, not particularly welcoming but she was nice enough, the other lady behind the desk was too busy on her mobile phone to acknowledge our presence.
Our room was on the ground floor at the end of the corridor...on approaching our room you could immediately see that the door didn't fit the frame....about a 5cm gap at the bottom so they obvs had to refit that door in the past. (that is just me being picky and not really an issue other than it looked crappy)
Went in to the room to be greeted by a damp,dark oppressing room. Like i said i have stayed in many places from 5* hotels to dirty cheap hostels and living outside for a year sleeping in a open walled hut but this genuinely felt far worse than that hut...maybe because i was expecting to at least feel clean in a hotel?!
We asked for a double room but had two (uncomfortable) single beds clumsily pushed together, and instead of having a duvet we had sheets with a blanket and eiderdown/quilt ugly brown thing on top with a rank damp cushion to finish off the brown look.
I had to sleep in my clothes to make myself get to sleep as felt so dirty!
Behind the fridge there was a HUGE pile of sawdust which was so obvious i have no idea how the maid didn't see it to hover it up.
There were A4 tatty paper signs all over reception and the room informing what you are NOT allowed to do (eg have any food or drinks in the mini fridge other than drinks bought from the hotel themselves)
When having a shower the shower screen for some reason didn't realize what its job was. Now i understand completely that a little water could escape but seriously. There was a lake on the floor when you stepped out of the shower and so you would then spend 10mins mopping up after yourself. (with towels which already felt damp before you had even touched them!)
The morning i was packing (i hardly unpacked) a cockroach ran across the room...now again to be honest i can handle them, i am not a squeemish person but had my boyfriend seen it he would have probably had a heart attack but thankfully he survived because at that point he was flooding the bathroom trying to have a shower.
Now i cant comment on the breakfast as it was literally the last place i would have wanted to of eaten!
The staff were all ok. Not overly friendly and did answer the odd question.
The hotel itself is overpriced for what it is. There are far far nicer 3* hotels in Nice which we have previously stayed in.

I can safely say i will never return to hotel oasis. It was/Is a pit!

LOVE Nice HATE this hotel!

Room Tip: Stay anywhere but here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mayzee86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nice hotels

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Initially we searched on trip advisor and the like for a good value hotel in a decent location in Nice - close to the main parts of NIce (Old Town, Promenade de Anglais) and near enough to the train station that it was easy to get out and about for day trips to Monaco, Cannes etc.

This hotel was in a really good location and not bad value for money. Our trip was spoilt somewhat by the paper thin doors, and the sound of the cleaners daily flip flop march up and down the corridors. Also, no hot water on the final day of our stay which is not ideal when you have to catch a train out.

We came back to Nice for one night to fly out and safe to say we didnt stay here and found a better value for money hotel in an equally good location.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexK19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My favourite in the area, the Darse in Villefranche, was fully booked and they wanted £100 for my usual reserve choice, the St Georges, which seems rather a lot for what they offer, so I decided to try somewhere new. Oasis is certainly an appropriate name as it is tucked away at the end of a private drive, so traffic noise, often a problem in Nice, is entirely absent.

The man on reception was very pleasant with none of the grimacing common in French hotels when I returned to say that, as usual, my room key card didn't work. He found a new one and accompanied me to ensure that it worked this time. The double room was six feet wide, not too much of a problem as I was alone but it really would be a squeeze for two people and the shower room was as small as I have ever seen but everything was fairly new and scrupulously clean.

In cheap hotels I ask only for a good night's sleep but the couple in the next room chatted until about 2.00am, the male having a very resonant voice which penetrated the apparently cardboard wall. I suspect that the long, narrow room was once part of a larger room that has been converted into two, not very professionally.

A bigger room and better sound insulation would make the Oasis, even with its zebra carpeting, value for money but as it is I don't think it is nearly such good value as the St Georges, even at £30 less per night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Had poured over trip advisor's Nice hotels found very mixed reviews. Wanted a reasonably priced clean hotel for just one night. This is exactly what we got in the Hotel Oasis. Friends had stayed and recommended it. The plus point is the location very near the train station and it is set back from the road so quiet. Some guests not so quiet unfortunately but that can happen in the most upmarket hotels too. This is unpretentious basic and clean. Staff very friendly and accommodating. We would stay here again as it is good value for money. Rosalie in particular
very helpful. We found lots of places nearby for breakfast as weather was a bit dodgy for sitting out in courtyard plus a bit dear for the hotel's breakfast. Only thing that did annoy was noisy air conditioner.

Room Tip: One overlooking courtyard would be reasonably quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupar Fife
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Have just stayed at Oasis with 3 friends. Have stayed before, and found it just as good as I had remembered. Rosalie in reception is a gem, she speaks excellent English and is a mine of information. Rooms are small, but adequate and very clean, with bed linen changed daily. The hotel is ideally situated for rail station and Promenade not too far approx 400 metres. Publicc transport in Nice very cheap, buses cost 1 euro for an hours trip to St Paul de Vence, but don't expect them to be punctual! Good choice of restaurants in pedestrianised Rue de Massena which is a 10 minute walk.

Room Tip: Book superior rooms on first or second floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiaoraCuparFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights at the beginning of May 13. We paid extra for a superior room and have to say we had a lovely time here. When you walk into the courtyard it is so peaceful and you can opt to have breakfast served outside from 7am. We didn't have the breakfast as thought the 12 Euros each for a continental breakfast was a bit expensive. We had breakfast on the go from a local patisserie. We eat in the old town on all three evenings and the food was really good. Lovely atmosphere especially on Saturday night.
Our room was a superior and not that big but very clean and everything we needed. The bathroom was a very odd layout and you had to be careful not to bang your head but again clean and loads of hot water, toiletries etc: hairdryer a really nice touch.
The beds were comfortable and sheets lovely and crisp and fresh. We had two singles pushed together and made as a king so had loads of space.
Would definitely return here as it was so easy to get to and from train/bus station and only about 5 minutes to the beach.

Room Tip: No 124 has a balcony so you get extra outside space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#54 of 204 in Nice
112 reviews
Hotel Aria
#24 of 204 in Nice
321 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel Durante
Hotel Durante
#99 of 204 in Nice
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel le Lausanne
#120 of 204 in Nice
175 reviews
Musiciens
Hotel Gounod Nice
Hotel Gounod Nice
#62 of 204 in Nice
520 reviews
Centre
Hotel Boreal
Hotel Boreal
#36 of 204 in Nice
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oasis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oasis

Property: Hotel Oasis
Address: 23 rue Gounod, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oasis 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Nice on a quiet lane the L'Oasis Hotel offers an ideal base for guests looking to explore. This facade of terracotta, green wooden shutters and some wrought iron balconies adds to the ambiance and tranquility of this hotel. This hotel is only 500m from the popular Promenade Des Anglais and the beach, while the elegant arcade Place Massena, with its sparkling fountain, gardens is a mere 800m walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Oasis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oasis Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing