We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place and wonderful breakfasts”
Review of Le Castel Enchante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Castel Enchante
Ranked #99 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Glasgow, Bonnie Scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing place and wonderful breakfasts”
Reviewed August 28, 2007

I stayed here with my mother in June and this is one of the most delightful bed and breakfasts I have experienced. Our hosts could not have been more warm and welcoming and the breakfasts were delicious (especially the chocolate brownies and home made Jams). I can't wait to return.

  • Liked — warm hospitality and great food
  • Disliked — on top of steep mountain - but well worth the drive!
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbabeGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
84 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2006

I stayed here for 3 nights with my ex sister-in-law, between us we have 5 teenaged daughters (14, 15, 16, 17 and 18 years old). They loved it - and as anyone knows, teenagers are very hard to please!

The house is gorgeous and one of our rooms had a terrace which was great for us all to sit on in the evenings. The pool is a Godsend!

The breakfast, taken on the terrace was simply great - and Martine always had something different everyday = lovely fresh brownies or fruit cake or different cheeses. The breakfast was bountiful and fresh and you could really stuff your face!

The owners couldn't have been nicer - friendly, cheerful and helpful. Unlike a previous reviewer we did get a good taxi who only charged 15 euros for a car here. Martine also recommended a driver to take us to the airport (35 euros).

Only word of warning - it is a very steep walk from the mainroad and if you want to save money by not getting taxis - the last bus back from the centre of Nice goes at 8pm! So if you prefer to be a short stroll away from all the activity, restaurants etc then this is not the place for you. It is a bit off the beaten track, but that is part of its charm. Alternatively, hire a car, as long as you are happy negotiating hair pin bends.

In this respect, it is not for the faint-hearted or infirm - it's a bit like a cardiac workout walking up the hills, but if you don't mind this, you will be rewarded with a lovely stay. I shall definitely be returning with my husband next year, but I will hire a car!

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank notenoughtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

We have just stayed 3 nights at this excellent B&B. The owners Martine & Jacques are lovely people and make you feel very welcome.

The room was comfortable and included a fridge and TV with english speaking channels. Although there was no air-conditioning, which I must admit concerned me a little when I booked, a fan was provided and this kept us and the room cool.

The breakfast - well this for me was the highlight! with freshly baked croissants and the preserves made with fruits from the garden. yum yum.

The pool was clean and a welcome respite from the heat.

The hill up to the hotel is steep and is about a 15 minute walk. There are bus stops at the bottom of the hill and these can take you into and out of the city centre.

A word of warning though! Don't use taxi's!!! they are expensive and don't like having to travel here. They charged us 30 euros for a 1.5 mile trip compared to 1.3 euros per person on the bus.

  • Liked — Friendliness of the owners
  • Disliked — the hill
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EnglishTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2006

This was a really lovely place to stay although there were two major drawbacks. Firstly we were in Nice in August - tres hot - and there was no air conditioning, which felt unbearable at first but we got used to it. Secondly, you have to go up one of the biggest, longest hills to get here. However, both of those things were worth it for the friendly welcome we received and the beautiful italianate house. Our room was big, confortable and clean with it's own bathroom, fridge and TV. The buffet breakfasts were very nice (fresh croissants etc.)and you could sit outside on the gorgeous terrace to eat. It has it's own pool (that we had to ourselves mostly) which was great after getting to the top of the hill and the owners Jacques and Martine were more than friendly, helping us with our French and speaking as much English as they could with us. I would recommmend this B&B and probably stay again, but unless you enjoy hiking hire a car for the hill!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Gleavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Le Panoramic
#74 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Armenonville Hotel
#122 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Hotel Villa Les Cygnes
#21 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Servotel Saint-Vincent
#13 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#19 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
Mont Boron
Hotel Villa La Malouine
Hotel Villa La Malouine
#101 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Castel Enchante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Castel Enchante

Property: Le Castel Enchante
Address: 61 route de Saint Pierre de Feric, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1 star — Le Castel Enchante 1*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Castel Enchante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Castel Enchante Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing