We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel les Cigales
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (507)
Filter reviews
507 results
Traveler rating
218
217
59
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
217
59
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationquiet streetold townsmall hotelwithin walking distanceconvenient hotelroof terracerestaurants and shopsthe ground floorgood sizewould stay here againthe hotel staffquiet roomexcellent locationfew minutes walkbreakfast roomvisiting nice
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
168 - 173 of 507 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My experience was outstanding at the Hotel Les Cigales during my recent 12 day stay. I typically select hotels that are the top rated TripAdvosr hotels from Rick Steve's recommended list. For purposes of compassion, I have stayed at Aster House in London, Londress Eiffel in Paris, Oceania and Albergo Chiara hotels in Rome, and Panella's Residence in Florence, all of which were excellent picks. Hotel Les Cigales was by far the best pick, in all respects. The friendliness, and willingness of staff to assist with directions and services is the stand-out feature, and the level of service was unparalleled at any hotel I have stayed at. I have never recevied such polite, and freindly service at upscale US hotels. The hotel is in excellent condition, and all facilities, air conditioning, elevator etc. work flawlessly. The bed was new, firm, and comfortable. My room on the second floor was perfectly quiet, and my sleep uninterrupted with no street noise whatsoever. Noise should only be an issue if the tenants at the time are noisy; there was noise early the last morning due to tenants in the hallway, but I was rising for an early departure anyway. The hotel is ideally located for the Promenade, and great restaurants which suited my purposes perfectly, less convenient if you are primarily interested in repeated visits to the old town for dining or entertainment which is farther away, but fine for several sightseeing visits. There is a very freindly, full service laundry and dry cleaners several stores up at number 18 Dalpozzo. The breakfast was healthy with fruit, cereal, cheese etc. I heartily recommend this hotel.

Stayed: September 2012
1  Thank Stephen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you're looking for a 4-5 star hotel, do not go here. However, if all you need is the essentials it is perfect. About a 5 min walk from the beach (you can take the hotel towel, they have mats and an umbrella for you to use, also). About a 10 or less minute walk to the train station (we did it with 4 pieces of HEAVY luggage between 2 people). The woman that is there during the daytime (I believe her name to be Eliane) is very helpful and speaks very good English. We could not figure out how to use the safe and the man at the front desk (although new to the
Hotel and not fluent in English) was very helpful, as well. They have a cute rooftop where you can enjoy their breakfast (we opted out and went to a bakery right up the street) but they did charge us 3€ for a cup of coffee from them from the breakfast room! This was disappointing because most hotels would give it to you, had we known this we would have gotten it somewhere else, though it was good coffee. Also got a bottle of wine upon our arrival using the code "welcome in nice" (not sure how long this will o on)... nice touch. And the bed was not bad at all for a European bed - we stayed in room 5... VERY quiet!!!

Room Tip: 5 is in the very back... Quiet!!! And easy to get to (no stairs). Only thing is you can hear the people in the next room when they are coming/going.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AZSteelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The location is great w.o. Being right on the promenade, and the staff is super friendly. There's always someone at the lobby to greet you. The rooms are nicely spacious and the bathrooms are sleek. However the walls are paper thin and you can hear everything, inside and outside.

Also do not take their "garage" parking. It is just one spot and very hard to get into. I scratched up my car getting in.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank jimbomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

excellent service-very friendly and helpful staff.Room was modern ,comfortable and clean and moderate size.Effective air conditioning
The hotel provided sun umbrellas and beach mats
Location excellent- 5 minute walk to Promenade
10 minutes walk to old town
10 minutes walk to station.
I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 8 on 1st floor has 2 large windows with small balconies( enough for small chair)
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardfromwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very good location only 2 blocks from promenade at congress just east of Negresco. Convenient for bus from airport, walk to train station, and all public transport. A short walk to bars restaurants and shopping with decent options within a block or two. Carrefour City just around corner for groceries. Our room (4) was pretty small but fully equipped, clean, decent bathroom, working air conditioning. Hotel has a nice roof terrace where you could hang out and relax, which means room size was not a nuisance. Staff were pleasant and very helpful on arrival.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank DublinEoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews