We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Location for this Fantastic Hotel !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel les Cigales

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel les Cigales
Ranked #51 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Excellent Location for this Fantastic Hotel !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

During October I stayed at the Cigales Hotel in Nice for 4 nights along with my family.
We wife selected the hotel based on the great reviews from TA.

I contacted the hotel for directions from the Airport, and Veronique provided clear instructions for Bus 98, which is a short 5 minutes walk from the Hotel.

The location is excellent : 5 minutes walk to the Beach and Promenade de las Anglais, 10 minutes walk to the Old Town, 10 minutes to the train station. Across the Hotel there is a pharmacy which sells water and soft drinks, and just in the corner there is an very good bakery. There are dozens of options of restaurants in walking distance.

We booked a triple room, and we stayed in room 14, which is in the back of the hotel on the second level . The room has a double and a single bed, with a very good size and plenty of space. The room is spotless clean ! The bathroom is of very good size and also very clean. There is a flat screen TV with several international options, including CNN, BBC, etc.
There are 2 windows in the room, which provide good illumination. The windows face a quiet garden.

The wireless internet is free and worked with good speed in the room every day.

The staff in reception, including Veronique are extremely friendly always. When I arrived for check in, I was provided with a map and directions to all places of interest.

Overall, a very good option to stay in Nice which I recommend with no restrictions !

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willy2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    195
    56
    9
    3
See reviews for
85
225
22
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire, UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

Clean, friendly hotel which is 5 mins away from beach and great shops. Old town is about 15 mins walk away. Boulangerie selling croissants, cakes and coffee is about 1 minute walk away. We can recommend - it is our second stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

Myself and my boyfriend stayed here in mid September for 6 nights. The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave us great sightseeing tips for Nice, Monaco and Antibes. The room we stayed in was spotless and quite a good size and the amenities provided were as advertised. We didn't get breakfast in the hotel as there was a lovely breakfast, cake and coffee place just around the corner and the food there was delicious.
The hotel's location is great - close to both the train station, the Promenade, to Central Nice and the Old Town.
The only downside was that the walls of the room were a bit thin so you could hear people coming in and out and having showers in the adjacent rooms.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RumyAna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2011

We stayed there first and last night of a trip to south France. The hotel is in a very good position for exploring the city, and it is not difficult to get there from the airport. There is no parking except for a couple of reserved places along the street. The staff was very helpful and the rooms were very clean and good enough for our short stay. Unfortunately, the rooms are noisy because many of them practically open in the hall of the hotel, and the walls are very thin. On a weekend night you can hear people arriving at every hour, so it is not recommended if you like to go to bed early and sleep long hours undisturbed.

Room Tip: If you have no problems to climb about ten steps of narrow spiral stairs, then the two rooms on firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meditativo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johns Creek, GA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Hotel les Cigales for 4 nites (9-13 thru 9-16-2011) and had an execellent experience, in particular with the extremely professional & knowledgable staff. Eliane, Veronica and Mr. Valentino were outstanding and a wealth of knowledge on about all topics that tourists would inquire about. The day before we were scheduled to depart from Nice for Genoa, IT by train we found out that the Italian rail line had called for a 1 day strike and there was no commercial air service between the 2 cities. The staff worked together and we were able to take a bus, and there is only 1 bus per day between the cities, and managed to maintain our schedule for the remaining 2 weeks of our vacation.

The rooms at les Cigales are typical European room, at least from our experience, for this price range which is small and not a lot of extra amenities. However, our room (a standard double) was very clean and quiet and had the necessities that we needed for confort, including no smoking and A/C. The location is excellent. It is about 5-10 min walk to the beach (south)and about 10 minutes to the train station (north). There is a bus stop at the beach on Promenade des Anglais, the main drag along the beach (almost a straight line as the crow flies from the hotel) where you can catch bus #98 to and from the airport which is about a 20 minute ride and is only 4 euros. It runs about every 15-20 minutes (I think). We did not include breakfast in our room package. There are plenty of restaurants around and there is an outstanding pastry shop on the corner immediately left as you leave the hotel, which we frequented at least once daily, which provides pastries, sandwiches, coffee, etc.

Again, this location is centrally located and convenient to many or most of the attractions. If and when we return to Nice, we would plan to stay there again.

Happy traveling...

~Ed

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnsCreek11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

We have just had a girlie weekend at Les Cigales. The room we had, which was a triple, was bright ,spacious and spotlessly clean. The staff were very friendly and helpfull in giving directions, bus and train information for the places we wanted to go.The terrace was basic, you are overlooked from all sides but it is quiet and peacefull. There is a supermarket over the road for the basics, there are a varity of restaurants about 10 mins walk away and the promanade is about 15 mins walk. We were so pleased with the hotel that we intend to go back next year.

Room Tip: get a room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2011

We stayed here 9 nights. Hotel is ideal for 3 to 4 night stays. We missed having a hotel lounge to relax in. There is a small sun terrace ideal for having a glass of your own wine before going out to dinner in the evening.
We enjoyed our stay here as it is in a good position for Nice at night. Approx 250 meters from the Nice front.
The service from the manager and his staff is quite outstanding. They are very friendly and keen to help to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Breakfast is continental and adequate. We don't go to France to eat English breakfast!

Room Tip: Have a room at the back to avoid road noise. Avoid top floor with sloping roof unless under 5 foot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Broadsword23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel de la Fontaine
#8 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#13 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Centre
BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Regence
Hotel Regence
#32 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel les Cigales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel les Cigales

Property: Hotel les Cigales
Address: 12 rue Dalpozzo, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Nice
#19 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel les Cigales 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a recently renovated white façade, the privately-owned hotel is located in the esteemed neighbourhood of the "Carré d'Or". It welcomes you year-round in the heart of the city, just a few blocks away from the famous "Promenade des Anglais" with its pebble beaches, and from the pedestrian streets with their many shops and restaurants. The hotel is also within walking distance of the Place Masséna and its tram stop, the old town, and the city's main train station. Hotel les Cigales offers a welcoming and relaxing environment with 19 spacious and comfortable rooms, all equipped with air conditioning, a minibar, an individual safe and free Wifi access. A private terrace is also available, where customers can relax and peacefully enjoy the sunny weather of the Côte d'Azur. You will appreciate the availability of the hotel's staff, as well as the discretion and serenity of this family hotel. It would be our pleasure to help guide you in working out the details of your stay and suggest the best places to visit in the city. Whether you are in Nice for business or pleasure, you will love how quiet the hotel is and will appreciate its rooms with courtyard room and rooftop views. And feel free to use the terrace to relax between two escapades in the capital of the French Riviera. With many of the city's most valued assets nearby, Hotel les Cigales is also ideally located if you wish to visit neighbouring towns such as Cannes, Monaco or Menton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel les Cigales reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Cigales Hotel
Les Cigales Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing