We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best Nice tour EVER!”

A Taste of Nice Food Tours
Ranked #1 of 26 Food & Drink in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nice's Best Food Tasting & Cultural Walking Tours! Savour the unique flavours of Nice with the A Taste of Nice Food Tours.On this gourmet walking tour, you get to taste your way through local specialities. You will not only get a feel for the flavour of Niçois cuisine, but also the unique history and culture of Nice.Tour includes: 8 food tastings, 1 olive oil tasting, wine tasting, and enough food for lunch (and go for a light breakfast!)
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“By far the best Nice tour EVER!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Our tour guide was second to none! At first I was thrown off because he came a bit strong but I soon realized that this guy knew the area, the locals, the food and simply had a warm and welcoming personality! I am not exagerating when I say that walking up and down the farmer's market, our tour guide would get greeted everywhere we went. Great food, plenty of wine, pastries, ice cream, olive oil and more! For sure the best activity in Nice!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 1_traveling_foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    32
    1
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Food Tour with great food and a special surprise”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Al is wonderful. He provided an excellent cultural back drop for the yummy food we tasted on this tour. Our guide was well informed, fun and very accommodating. He also arranged for us to be seranaded by a lovely older gentleman. A very special day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CDBinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful tour - a must do if you'd like a leisurely walk thro Nice learning about the food & wine culture in Nice & the surrounding area- such a relax & informal atmosphere - I was worried when they advised only a light breakfast beforehand as I'm a porridge girl - but I need not have worried - we munched and drank our way around Nice learning lots & lots about its food & wine with a lovely mix of snippets of history - our guide Al was so knowledgable & his passion for his city was palpable - which he shared with us in a very fun & easy going manner . I learnt so much in a lovely causal way & have used the wine tips when buying wine since & have not been disappointed with my choices ! Everything We tried & tasted was delicious & enjoyable - and we tasted lots - so much that I didn't need to eat again til late evening - this is a really enjoyable , good value way to spend a day & learn about the city you are visiting - as Georigo says - Viva - viva - Nissa la bella !

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eveyemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
286 reviews
120 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A Better Understanding of Nice thru its Food”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Easy to find meeting point with clear directions. Al gave us a first-hand experience and understanding of how Nice's history has shaped its cuisine on a tour of 5 on a Sunday. He provided just the right amount of historical detail and coupled each step along the way (our tour nearly 4 hours due to a tram traffic delay) with a taste of food and drink--citrus bread, candied fruit, socca and tapa-like vegetables with meat, olives, olive oil, and gelatto, and wine. We toured a market that vividly illustrated so much about the history of Nice. Along the way we met Georgia who sang a patriotic song with much spirit. Al is well informed, approachable and engaging. I would recommend this tour to anyone who wants to get a feeling for the food and culture of Nice.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ArtsyGalBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
“Amazing Tour!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We did a tour with Al and about 10 other people were on the tour with us. The tour was fantastic and definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Al was very knowledgeable and engaging throughout the tour, and we loved the variety of foods and wines that we were able to try. Al guided us through Nice, and provided us with the history of the city and was able to answer any question that was asked. We were able to try a variety of different foods, and definitely did not need lunch after. The tour was very interesting and we would recommend it to anyone who visits Nice.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RamonaBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A Taste of Nice Food Tours also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to A Taste of Nice Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing