We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Game of war at the zoo”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach
Ranked #153 of 205 Hotels in Nice
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Game of war at the zoo”
Reviewed October 19, 2013

Not for quiet and peace or as mentioned on their website "HI is ..... based on conviviality, open mindness and exchange..." Something that I disagree strongly and Thursday experience related more to a kafkaesque experience where during 5 minutes of verbal abusive exchange I thought I was visiting the apes in London Zoo except that in London the apes looked more civilised than the hotel manager and his acolytes swinging amongst bamboos. I have no idea what went wrong on that day but I can guarantee that the behaviour of the manager and of his team was not appropriate for any hotel or services dealing with customer service. The aggressive behaviour on display was surreal and I feel sorry for the very tiny mature lady that was, I guessed, the object of such belligerence. For this and only for this I have marked the hotel very low as I believed the hotel which such staff and manner is not a luxury hotel where client can feel safe to complaint just in case one of the member of staff decides to transform themselves in an aggressive orangutan.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaurenceShukor, Directeur général at Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Hi Caroline,
Thank you for your comment. However, the problem that you witness in the patio of the hotel concerned neighbours of the hotel that were cutting the bamboo trees that are in our garden. So we are very sorry you had to endure the altercations but you have to understand that there was no other way the owners could prevent that. I think if you had a neighbour that came in your garden to cut the trees you would somehow over-react.
We are sorry for the inconvience caused and would be happy to upgrade you according to availabilities for your next stay in the region.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    146
    123
    78
    71
See reviews for
46
309
39
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I like, in theory, what the designer (who's name is all over everything...a little bit of narcissism thrown in there) was trying to accomplish which was turning the traditional idea of a hotel room on it's head. Kind of like the W hotel chain - edgy, funky, different. I can honestly get on board with that, but the execution failed in several areas (will get to those in a sec). What I will say is this. If you are a male, traveling alone, without a lot of luggage or at least a need to unpack, and have a desire for something edgier, this is a great hotel for you. In fact, I would recommend it. For anyone else (or at least people who need privacy), I would not.

The most noticeable issues (and why it's so totally obvious this space was designed by a man):
* There is no privacy. Like none. I'm totally fine with showering in clear glass but I'm not really so excited about certain bathroom issues in front of my spouse.
* There are only two plugs in the room. Two. And not near the bed. As it happens we both needed our computers and our phones plugged in for various work things - not to mention other items such as our running watches or my husband travels with his own clock/radio. We played musical plugs the entire time.
* The hair dryer (if you can call it that) is in small glass enclosed toilet area. You can dry your hair sitting on the toilet. No woman would ever do that in a design form. So bring your own hair dryer if you want to not dry your hair in the toilet.
* There are no drawers to unpack things into. There are useless shelves. Lots of them. For the books you don't carry around anymore because it's 2013. I say they are useless because they are incredibly high up. I was able to use them (kind of) because I'm quite tall but if someone were 5'5 or less, they would have nowhere to unpack.
* I would also suggest moving some of the useless shelves into the shower area where shelves ARE needed. Instead of all toiletries just having to sit on the floor. And another reason it's so obvious it was designed by a man - no tiny little shelf anywhere to put your foot to shave your legs. It's all in the details...
* Lighting is 'meh' - not awesome for anything
*There is one luggage rack - but if you're traveling with two people, one of you gets the rack and the other one gets nothing and since there's nowhere to unpack you're just living out of your suitcase on the floor. Fun.
*The cantina is frustrating...sometimes self-serve, sometimes not.
*Needs some updating - paint was scratched in my room, shower door had big cracks, wood floor was showing some wear

Here's why I gave it 3 stars instead of 1
*Towels are great. They're big and comfortable and smell good
* Water pressure and temperature in the shower are also great
* Bed is good. Not fabulous but I slept ok. Pillows are fine - would rather they not all be square but they were fine.
* Staff is friendly and pretty helpful
* Automatic black-out screen was wonderful for a nice dark room
* Space in the room is fairly decent
* Location is great.
* A/C worked well

Would I stay here again? Yes, if the price was low enough to merit dealing with the really frustrating parts. I would not pay 200 euros a night for it though. I would pay 100. And I would come alone because it's impossible with two people.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TexaCan32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Shocking room layout! Toilet is up some steps and in full view and therefore unusable for purpose, what's wrong with a cubicle? The shower is in a see through cabin, right in front of the rooms only window / patio door. So unless one is totally free spirited and does not mind having a shower in front of all the residents, it is necessary to lower the blinds first. These were excellent and darkened the room completely, so lights must be on in order to shower. All a bit of hard work really. As two girls travelling together we had asked for a twin room but ended up with a double, which did not help. That said the room was clean, although this cannot be said for the pool, which seemed a good deal smaller than on the photograph, and had dirt and flies in it. The pool patio area was quite nice, but quite small, and the associated bar was closed. The hotel does indeed have its private beach, but using it would have set us back another 17euro per day. Bearing in mind the price we paid for the room, this should have been free! Breakfast was also not included, at 19euro per head, and served on paper plates to go with the Eco theme. To end on a positive note, the hotel lobby provided an excellent launch ramp for our roller blading effort, and the automatic doors opened swiftly, even when approached at considerable speed! There is always a silver lining, but all things considered, I would not stay there again!

Room Tip: Unless you don't mind having no privacy for anything, take a room each!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelticket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This unique hotel located in Nice, is a very special hotel, and you should be aware of this before you go. There is a lot of different rooms, and the one we stayed on was a bit dark with a small room, but relatively spacey though. - so I will suggest that you choose one of the larger, lighter rooms.
The location is great, and there is a lot of good restaurants and shopping possibilites near.
The hotel has a private beach with WIFI (!) and a restaurant, and you can get the food served at the sun beds.You get half price for a day, (€17,-) when you stay at the hotel.
The staff is extremely friendly, and you feel very welcome.
For extra charge you get the organic breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SebastianT86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Massive disappointment. Looks trendy and modern on website. Actually is dated, impractical and dirty.
Unfortunately we were staying on the last night of our honeymoon having travelled throughout France and this was not a good way to end out holiday. We have stayed in a range of three and four star hotels in France,Corsica and the UK and this was the biggest let down. I do not feel it should be allowed three let alone four stars. The design is interesting and probably was cutting edge when it was built but the whole hotel has a cheap youth hostel feel. If you were paying youth hostel prices you would be fine with this but at 200 euros a night I expect a lot more. Our room was big enough but the decor was faded and impractical. Not enough shelf space so you have to put clothes wash bags etc on the floor, which itself is blue painted Lino that looks dirty around the edges. The staff seem proud of the lighting features and automatic blinds but this just gives the impression you are shutting down a shop window with you inside. Bed side tables are weird metallic shelves that look like bargain basement ikea and our double bed was too singles not very expertly joined. With two separate duvets. Nice honeymoon touch. There isn't much privacy with a see through door to the bathroom but that would be ok if it wasn't covered in dirt dust and hair at the base. The sink and shower had dubious stains and watermarks and basically had seen better days. The hair dryer was a hose on the wall. And there was the lovely touch of a loo roll that looked like it had been there for months. Towels/dressing gowns were pretty scratchy and obviously been re-used a lot. Eco credentials must have been responsible for the paper cups instead of glasses for use with our water but this comes across as cheap to me. Public areas were similarly jaded and tired. Tiny and dirty pool and terrace on the roof with an odd bar playing A playlist that would alienate 99% of clientele. The hi beach bar seemed to be a good venue and would have potentially made up for the stay if guests had a discount or priority there. But its an extra 17 euros for a sunlounger. And a towel. Thats probably been used a lot. All in all-would be a basic place to stay in a good location in nice if they give it a revamp and cleaned it up a bit and dropped the price/stars to reflect the quality. This is quite scathing but I don't want anyone else to be similarly disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The friendly staff at the Hi Hotel made our stay relaxing and a pleasure to explore Nice with our 2 small children in for the ride. The hotel was spotlessly clean, good value for the money and well located just a 5 minute walk from the beach club. The kids loved the pool on the roof (small but a perfect place to end to the long hot riviera days with a swim) as they loved the beach club family beds.
A refreshing change to find a hip hotel welcoming family's!

Room Tip: The white rooms have great jacuzzi's and private roof terrace's! Worth the euro's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We arrived to this 4 star hotel and were really surprised. The room was a monospace, meaning a room with shower, toilet and bed in one space with class doors!! Luckily we are good frieds since there was no privacy at all! We would not call that 4 star hotel but rather a cheap student room. Not worth the price. Would not go there again. The idea must have been good but does not work.

Room Tip: In a monospace be prepared to take a shower in the middle of the room behing see-through class door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJLhki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#20 of 205 in Nice
1,004 reviews
Musiciens
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#49 of 205 in Nice
979 reviews
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#45 of 205 in Nice
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Cimiez
NH Nice
NH Nice
#28 of 205 in Nice
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach

Property: Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach
Address: 3 avenue des Fleurs, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Nice
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#45 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Hotel Eco Spa And Beach
Hi Hotel Eco Beach
Hi Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing