We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“brilliant- can't fault it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach
Ranked #149 of 213 Hotels in Nice
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“brilliant- can't fault it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I have just returned from nice on friday and stayed at the hotel with my husband and 2 girls aged 3yrs and 1.5 yrs for 3 nights. I was very impressed with the hotel and our room which was an indoor terrace. It was very modern and contemporary (exactly how i like my hotel to be) and very clean, comfortable and central to all facilities. the staff were very helpful, at night they would provide me with warm milk free of charge and charged my husband's i-phone for him as we forgot the charger. we both really enjoyed the fact that the room was open plan apart from the toilet, as we were able to keep an eye on the children whilst having a shower. This was the first time in a very long time, i stayed in a 4 star hotel as usually we opt for 5 star and not once did i feel it could not have been a 5 star hotel. I really enjoyed the quirky facilities in the room - electric blinds, all light switchs were silver monochrome. the hotel is only a 5 minute walk from the pebble beach which you pay for and about 15 mins walk from the main centre with bars and restaurants. there were plenty of supermarkets, cafes, restaurants round the corner, leading upto the promenade de anglais. I wish we could have stayed longer and would return to the hotel. overall, we all thoroughly enjoyed our short break.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    136
    115
    76
    66
See reviews for
46
292
35
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Pros:
Different themed rooms.
Unique concept.
Loungey feel.
Splendid location.
Friendly staff.
Discounted access to "private" beach.
Free internet.

Cons:
Rooms are not large and not suitable for all groups (definitely not recommended for families).
Rooms are very eclectic and may not suit a broad range of people.
Basic amenities are compromised to blend in with a theme or design (form over function)
Expensive and limited food options within hotel (although there are several eateries nearby)
Difficult to guage the room type by seeing pictures online.

Bottomline: If you are feeling adventurous and young, then by all means this is a good option to consider. It is a few blocks away from the world famous Promenade de Anglais, Place Mediteranee and Old Town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank abkumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontvieille, Monaco
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

THis hotel proudly boasts its 4 stars at every opportunity. THere is no way on earth that any reputable travel company would give this 4 stars - i am sure they made it up. Check in - after the excruciating sound of squeaky sliding doors that greets you, you get a long slow check in process where they want every last detail about you. The welcome drink is a plastic cup of water or apple juice. I said i wasn't sure how long i wanted to stay but that i would know in 24 hours and it would be a maximum of 7 nights. So they said well we'll book that and then you can let us know. Then they want to debit my card for half the total for the stay. I hate doing this and think it rude and unecessary but i let them. They took EUR 715. Each night was 299 but on some complicated 7 for 5 package if i stayed 7 nights. No luggage attendant, the check in girl helped me unload my car - i find it extremely embarassing when girls have to lug my bags - and it is only acceptable in a 2 star establishment.
The room was just atrocious. Shades of turquoise assault you. An ikea-like canvas hanging thing in lieu of a wardrobe and no drawers. Paper cups so that your toothbrush falls over. A toilet so small that you have to literally crawl around the door to get in. Low SMALL double bed that was uncomfortable to get in and out of. Light switches only on the bed head and impossible to see unless you were actually IN bed. THe design of the whole hotel is quite simply revolting. Bright garish colours that just look old and grubby. Zero practicality. No space for any toiletries, and the shower gel and shampoo had stickers saying DO NOT REMOVE. For those prices - seriously, let people steal the toiletries if thats what they want.
I ventured to the pool bar in the evening and there was a sign saying 'go to the vending machines' - classy. The vending machines stock champagne and offer you paper cups to drink it out of. The pool is more of a large tub. Downstairs i tried to find the restaurant but ended up in the kitchen. I gave up. The next day i was informed that what i thought was the kitchen (it looked like an airplane kitchen) was in fact the breakfast self service area. With trays like in a company canteen. It was quite literally the most appalling breakfast set up i have ever seen. I decided to leave. In returning to my room to pack, i shared the tiny slow lift with the cleaner and her trolley for the 3rd time.
They told me that i was lucky that they weren't going to take the entire stay cost (7 nights) and that instead they would just keep the 3.5 nights 'deposit'. I explained that i never confirmed how long i was staying, and was happy to pay for the one night i spent there. They had also told me that the 'deposit' was in case i left without paying - not a non refundable fee. Apparently lots of their customers leave without paying - well now i know why. They literally begged me to stay and offered me a different and nicer room but who would want such a miserable customer to stay? The manager tried to tell me that had i tried the breakfast, the quality of his yoghurts and ham would make me want to stay. It could be the best produce in France, but i would still be serving myself using a tray from a disgusting kitchen sitting at a multicoloured plastic table. When i said his refusal to refund was illegal, he told me to go stay in an Ibis and then insulted my nationality (i am swiss). Nice.
I will sue them. I will also win.
I should have realised that a small boutique hotel with free rooms last minute in July is obviously a really bad hotel. I saw plenty of other guests looking pretty miserable too.
I have had some pretty bad service in my years of travelling the globe but this place should seriously be closed down. And yes - the beach is miles away and you have to pay extra for it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank penguinwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nice hotels

vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

When searching for a Nice hotel there were so many classic designed places that the Hi Hotel immediately jumped out to match my trendy/small/design hotel style. It met my expectation on uniqueness and size and exceptional staff -  oh the breakfast was by far my best hotel bfast bar to date. From arrival at just past midnight the checkin gentleman was ever so friendly and polite to make sure I felt at home and was looked after, to the next day a member of staff walked with me two blocks to help arrange my bicycle rental when I had problems. 

I highly recommend booking the Hi Beach, again staff amazing as well as beach and mojitos - rooftop pool small but does a superb job for a cooling  sunset dip!

The area of the hotel is a touch off the side of the city, make sure to be prepared to walk and also bring plenty of euros for taxi's. Going for a day to St Tropez via boat was definitely a highlight of my experience. They can help arrange this for you. 

All in all, a wonderful experience.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank natkathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012 via mobile

The location is poor unless you are coming to stay in the hotel and only get spa treatments. The beach is 5 blocks away. Not convenient to local transportation. The room made me smile for the first 5 minutes, then I realized half furnished as past of the 'design'. Aren't you trying to make something better when you design something? They failed here. On the positive side the staff was friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trav3lguyus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This hotel is classified as a design hotel and it certainly has some interesting rooms. I have to say our room wasn't exactly the most relaxing or practical. The outside space and breakfast area was lovely as was the food for breakfast. Service was excellent and very friendly. The location is pretty good, they have a very nice private beach section which is worth using.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drjohn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Reasonable location, quite near to beach and central area. More emphasis on appearance and novelty than on comfort and practicality. Studio room has an open bath in the middle of the room that guarantees water gets splashed everywhere when showering. Toilet - also in the room - has glass doors and walls so no marks for privacy. Impractical 'arty' wash basin that's only a couple of inches deep. A lot of money for a lot of inconvenience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank UkMarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Windsor Nice
Hotel Windsor Nice
#21 of 213 in Nice
4.0 of 5 stars 918 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#40 of 213 in Nice
4.0 of 5 stars 883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Victoria
#8 of 213 in Nice
4.0 of 5 stars 744 reviews
Centre
Hotel Nice Riviera
Hotel Nice Riviera
#43 of 213 in Nice
4.0 of 5 stars 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach

Property: Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach
Address: 3 avenue des Fleurs, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Nice
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#45 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design boutique hotel and ecologic in the heart of Nice with a private beach and spa designed by an ex Philippe Starck's partner: matali crasset had imagined a modern hotel.This beautiful premise of 38 rooms benefits of a special localization, 200 meters from the promenade des anglais and HI BeachHI was designed by matali crasset and differs from their nine concepts, which arebased on a specific organization of a given area to be lived in and experienced.Beyond decorative themes, these configurations provide an alternative to your everyday codified areas.HI is also concerned about well being and with a strong commitment to ecological values, in relation with today's engagement to protect the planet. Our premises propose original benefits as well.The happy bar is at the heart of the hotel. It is formed around a suspended<< nacelle>>, massive yet light. The << nacelle>> comes to life with the presence of lives of eclectic music and video screenings. Our restaurant, the organic canteen, offers organic products, it is a restaurant where you eat healthy and simple cooked dishes in a playful way, vegetarian plates available or diet snacks in the patio garden, real cocoon surrounded by plants organic breakfasts and brunches.In evening, at sushi bar, you can appreciate the original creations of our Japanese chef kazuomi ota: selection of original sushi, typical starters, green tea matcha desserts and sake bar.Between meals, you can relax in our Spa Hi body by REN (clean bio active skincare), which is directed its well-being space towards relaxation and massage.Hi proposes two annexes as well.The Hi business proposes a new and contemporary work environnement inventing a new way to meet and work for your seminar.Our beach, the Hi beach, which is based on an innovative concept thatreconciles the simplicity of the pleasure of the beach and the seaside. It developsa new logic of spaces : a beach where each beach of us will find their own rhythm and well-being. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hi Hotel Eco Spa & Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi Hotel Eco Spa And Beach
Hi Hotel Eco Beach
Hi Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing