We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value in excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Regence

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Regence
Ranked #20 of 212 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good value in excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We planned Nice and Hotel Regence to be just a quick stop on our way to Italian Riviera, but because the hotel was so fairly priced and had a day and a day and a day more to extend our stay, we decided to stay in Nice almost a week!

Regence is located in Rue de Massena, which has nice restaurants and bars all over, and also nice shopping possibilities! The beach is almost around the corner, and you can find Chanel, LV and so much more just a few steps away. The street starts from the Massena square, where you cand find the tram stops and your way to Old Town or anywhere else.

Hotel itself is clean and simple, room had a big comfortable bed and spacious bathroom with good shower. Definitely recommend if you wanna explore Nice and its beach!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jenzonbutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    365
    91
    17
    10
See reviews for
65
373
73
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great location for exploring Nice. We asked for a quiet room, and were given one at the back- couldn't hear any noise from the street at all.
5 minutes walk from the beach, easy reach of the bus stops to get to/from the airport if you want to keep costs down and avoid paying for a taxi.
Room was clean, comfortable and basic. Very minor niggle is that the hair dryer was broken in the room (but still functioned) and it wasn't exactly very powerful, so if you have long hair, take your own!

I would definitely stay here again for a summer holiday. If I were going again at a time when the weather wouldn't be so good, I'd get a hotel with more stuff to do/going on.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

we have just returned from our second visit to nice having stayed in a much more expensive hotel last visit ,we found the regence to be perfect base , staff very helpful ,very clean , comfortable bed ,superb location for sight seeing and the beach is only five minutes walk away ,excellent value for money we will book to stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffandjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

stayed there in Sep 2013 with 2 friends and we had a fantastic experience!
Room was good size and clean. Excellent location, easy access to the beach, train station & bus stops and lots of restaurants and shops at your doorstep.
All staff was VERY friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay there again. Big thanks to Alexandre and the rest of team that made our stay in Nice even more enjoyable!

Room Tip: our room was on 3rd floor - very spacious front room can be a bit noisy as lots of restaurants down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

If you want t be in this part of Nice the Regence is excellently situated. No complaints with the Hotel at all, good value for the price and staff are friendly and very helpful everything went to plan and we enjoyed our visit. there is not a restaurant or bar but plenty of establishments around you, breakfast was OK. We will return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My Mum & I have just returned after 1 week @ The Hotel Regence, it was great value. It's location is so close to the Tram line & the Place du Massena, Old Town, everything is so accessible. Every which way you turn when you leave the Hotel there are Restaurants & Shops, so no shortage of places to eat nearby. Although you have to walk further to find the more authentic french restaurants and away from the Pizza/Pasta Houses.... It's a bit like Little Italy! We knew in advance from previous reviews that the rooms were going to be on the small side and that breakfast was limited to breads & juice. Our room 306 was perfect, at the back of the hotel, plenty of place for 2 large suitcases (women never travel light!) and it was absolutely spotless. There are any amount of places to go for breakfast if you want outside the Hotel but we found it was sufficient to start the day. The staff were exceptional, in particular Maria and Alexandra, they were so helpful & always smiling, they couldn't do enough for you. Of note: The Hotel was fully booked when we were there yet it was refreshing that the staff actually remembered what room you were in when giving you your room key when you returned in the evening without having to ask you. In summary, if you are looking for a CLEAN hotel with HELPFUL FRIENDLY staff in the center of Nice that isn't going to cost you a fortune look no further. Oooh & they have air-conditioning & a lift! I just hope I can get a room the next time I am booking a room here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 70schick2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I wouldn't give a better note as the hotel is good value for money : clean, working AC, very well located, friendly staff, good beds, but the place has its downfalls as well.

The location means noise if your room is on the street. And until very late.
The breakfast is very limited : one type of bread, mini croissants and pain au chocolat, coffee/tea/water/chocolate from the same machine, and some juice from another one. No fresh fruit, no cheese, no yoghurt, no cured meats, no honey, no margarine (only butter).
For 6 Euros, better go somewhere in the neighborhood and enjoy a nice breakfast outside.

One nice hotel, still.

Room Tip: Take a room on the backyard to be able to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Celine_F3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Hotel de la Fontaine
#9 of 212 in Nice
4.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regence

Property: Hotel Regence
Address: 21 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#35 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regence 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Otel, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regence Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing