We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb value!”
Review of Hotel Regence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Regence
Ranked #43 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb value!”
Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We arrived this morning, super early expecting to dump off our bags and go out for the day but to our surprise our room was ready! Our room is basic but it's immaculately clean. No travel dodge here! I'm amazed as this is a budget hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is perfect. I really can't fault it! The beds are comfortable and clean. We took the airport shuttle no.98 and got off at Albert 1 er/ Phoceens for a mere €6 and with the aid of google maps walked 5 mins to the hotel! I almost want to keep this place a secret!


  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 3r1k4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    256
    388
    101
    19
    11
See reviews for
68
393
77
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband. Arrived by Train at Nice Station and took a taxi.
Very easy to find.
The staff was friendly. The internet connection is charged. we bought the same but there was no connectivity in our Room. We informed the reception about the same and we did not have to pay for the internet. But it was a disappointment since having Internet connection is always helpful
Apart from the same the lobby gives you an impression about the hotel being very lavish but when you see the rooms you can be a bit disappointed.Spacious but still smaller rooms.
The Breakfast again we thought was very Disappointing for what we paid.I have travelled to many places in Europe but this was the hotel where we got the minimum food at the price for hat we spent.
Next day we didnt buy the breakfast at the hotel but rather got the breakfast a Cafe which is next to the hotel.

Positives:
1) Location wise great - We had to go for a trip to Monaco and the bus Stop was at a walking distance. The bus stop to Nice Airport was at a walking distance( But make sure that you note down the timings for the same and plan accordingly)
Best to visit any tourist spots..especially Promenade des Anglais and Safe to travel at any time
2) Staff- Helpful and friendly Staff. Always available with prompt feedback for any queries

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank priyanka p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently stayed overnight in this hotel. It was conveniently located to Place Messina, many good restaurants and the airport shuttle bus. iIt was a five minutes' walk to the beautiful azure beach and just a ten minutes to the Old Town. The hotel is tastefully decorated and the staff friendly, welcoming and ever ready to assist. Rooms, although small, are clean and comfortable. I have only one criticism of this hotel - they could do with some new towels in the bathroom. Ours were very small and almost threadbare. Despite this, I would recommend the hotel for a short stay in this vibrant and ever improving city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaf_2229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

A great location, good prices, and a basic breakfast as part of the daily rate. The room was clean, housekeeping was good, the TV had BBC so we could understand at least one channel, and a helpful front desk staff. We arrived early in the morning due to limited flight options, but were allowed to check in. The only drawback, but a major one, was that the room temperature was too hot. We were told the air conditioning was not operational because they had not turned it on for the summer season. (We were there in early May.) We opened the window several times, but then the noise was too loud to sleep. We suffered through with either earplugs or no sheets. I liked the hotel, but it the hot room would be a dealbreaker for my wife.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked a small courtyard which compromised privacy with the other guests. I can't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeLazyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Located in between main tourist restaurant areas this has a very smart lobby. Rooms are very small I struggled to walk round the bed and this was much smaller than two star Little Palace rooms. Wifi good but a miserly extra euro for the hotel code. Staff pleasant and rooms clean. Ok

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HTTcyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Excellent experience, in the heart of the pedestrianised area. Mid renovation, but being done very discreetly so not a problem, Our twin room was bright and clean, lovely shower room. TV with 3 British channels as well as others. Breakfast was what we would call Continental - pain au chocolat, croissants and bread rolls. If you want cold milk ask the staff - its in the fridge.
Room needed a full-length mirror - our only complaint.

Room Tip: We were overlooking the rear courtyard area - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annedw_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Right on rue Massena, the Regence is a great starting point to get to the Promenade, a 7 minute walk, to the Cours Saleya (Marches Aux Fleurs), a 12 minute walk and to Ave Jean Medicin, maybe 5 minutes. The beautiful Place Massena is a straight walk to the right from the hotel and a new branch of J Multari, patisserie-boulangerie-lunch-to-go place = highly recommended.
We had Room 501- quiet, sufficiently-appointed and clean. And the staff...they were attentive, helpful, efficient and friendly. Start the conversation in French and it will warm their hearts. We were not fluent but we managed and they were very responsive, :)
The street is pedestrian-only so it's nice and great to observe people from the restaurants located all around. The breakfast is OK= a basket containing a variety of breads & croissants. Coffee and juice machines are available and you can refill often. I booked by emailing them and they were responsive with all my questions. Very easy to work with and a really nice hotel, all around. We plan to return in October 2014. We are a Mom & Daughter team and we are experienced travelers. My daughter first visited Nice when she was 8. She is now a mature young lady! We love Nice and the Hotel Regence is super.

Room Tip: The quiet rooms are in the back with a courtyard in the middle. They are decorated minimally but ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamancita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#15 of 204 in Nice
799 reviews
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Fontaine
#5 of 204 in Nice
423 reviews
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regence

Property: Hotel Regence
Address: 21 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#35 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regence 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regence Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing