We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel in the hub of things!”
Review of Hotel Regence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Regence
Ranked #35 of 205 Hotels in Nice
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel in the hub of things!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Excellent experience, in the heart of the pedestrianised area. Mid renovation, but being done very discreetly so not a problem, Our twin room was bright and clean, lovely shower room. TV with 3 British channels as well as others. Breakfast was what we would call Continental - pain au chocolat, croissants and bread rolls. If you want cold milk ask the staff - its in the fridge.
Room needed a full-length mirror - our only complaint.

Room Tip: We were overlooking the rear courtyard area - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annedw_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    384
    99
    18
    11
See reviews for
67
391
75
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Right on rue Massena, the Regence is a great starting point to get to the Promenade, a 7 minute walk, to the Cours Saleya (Marches Aux Fleurs), a 12 minute walk and to Ave Jean Medicin, maybe 5 minutes. The beautiful Place Massena is a straight walk to the right from the hotel and a new branch of J Multari, patisserie-boulangerie-lunch-to-go place = highly recommended.
We had Room 501- quiet, sufficiently-appointed and clean. And the staff...they were attentive, helpful, efficient and friendly. Start the conversation in French and it will warm their hearts. We were not fluent but we managed and they were very responsive, :)
The street is pedestrian-only so it's nice and great to observe people from the restaurants located all around. The breakfast is OK= a basket containing a variety of breads & croissants. Coffee and juice machines are available and you can refill often. I booked by emailing them and they were responsive with all my questions. Very easy to work with and a really nice hotel, all around. We plan to return in October 2014. We are a Mom & Daughter team and we are experienced travelers. My daughter first visited Nice when she was 8. She is now a mature young lady! We love Nice and the Hotel Regence is super.

Room Tip: The quiet rooms are in the back with a courtyard in the middle. They are decorated minimally but ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamancita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2013

If you are looking for cheap and cheerful in the thick of all the action this place is ideal. The rooms are small, but perfectly adequate for a few nights stop over. Staff are friendly and very helpful. Breakfast is the only downside. Very basic, all that was on offer was a coffee/tea and a croissant!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Anjo499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

The Regence Hotel on Rue Masséna is just off Place Masséna - the centre and hub of Nice. It could hardly be in a better location. Pretty much all aspects of the hotel were very good. The "Continental"Breakfast" was a bit sparse (I am Irish!). Would have liked some cereals and maybe a wider range of cheeses - only "Laughing Cow" offered. Only had breakfast in Hotel, so cannot comment on Dinner - if available?. Remember that Wifi costs €3 per day and if using a second computer or smart phone you will have to buy a second subscription. Speed was a bit slow but adequate.
Nice is a city I would recommend anyone to visit - could not be 'nicer' (sic). There is a cafe culture buzz unlike any other city I have been in. There is a wide range of restaurants in the older part of town - all only 10 min walk from hotel.
Overall really enjoyed my 2 day visit to Nice - go there - i will be back and will stay at the Regence Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Faheyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2013

After 12h journey and arriving in Nice to find our first hotel left us hanging, Hotel Regence came to the rescue! The gentleman at the front desk was extremely helpful. They were very limited in room selection as we came in later in the evening.

We misunderstood the room size and he pointed us in the direction of other hotels in the area. We ended up almost immediately coming back and took the last room.

The room was clean, a decent size and very good value for the money in Nice. Plus it is in a very central area. We would definitely return next time we are in Nice and would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ccc999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Togher, Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We booked into a nearby hotel but weren't satisfied so walked off the street to the Regence. I am so pleased we did! The staff were incredibly friendly and gave us good directions and touring ideas. Room had a nice view overlooking shops and the hotel was in a very good location, walking distance from most central locations in Nice. The room was simple but well-priced. Would stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swansea
Level Contributor
171 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Right on the Rue Massena a few minutes walk to the Place and The Old Town. We had an inner room which was totally quiet. The place was clean and the staff were efficient and helpful. For the price you cannot complain. Some people have bemoaned the breakfast, it's continental, just bread, croissants, jams and cheese.........if you want Dragon's eggs sprinkled with powdered Unicorn horn then your gonna have to pay a little bit more for your hotel!

Room Tip: ask for an inner room around the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swan2555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#19 of 205 in Nice
776 reviews
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 205 in Nice
402 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#54 of 205 in Nice
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regence

Property: Hotel Regence
Address: 21 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#35 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regence 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regence Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing