We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, good room, good stay.”
Review of Hotel Regence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Regence
Ranked #35 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Very central

- however from the train station, make sure you get some good directions as we got lost for a quick second as the google maps took us on a loop. < this comment has no reflection on the hotel but an error with a map application.

Room was clean
Bathroom was clean
Safe in room
Breakfast in the morning was good with croissants- coffee and juice.

Ask for the wifi password as they will not give it to you- make sure they don't charge you!

Recommend for a quick stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dubbshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Regence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 793 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

A basic, though comfortable, hotel. Comfortable bed and really hot shower. Breakfast was very basic - just the usual French stodge with butter, jam and La Vache qui Rit cubes. Drinks were from a machine. A nice gesture would have been to leave one of the machines on so that the footsore and weary could get a hot drink on returning in the afternoon. The free wi-fi was excellent and the position is very central - convenient for buses, trams, walking, shopping, sight-seeing. Staff friendly and helpful. No extras such as shower caps etc.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morag B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My mom and I had a terrible experience staying here for the first weekend of Carnaval in Nice. First of all let me point out the two good things about the hotel so I can show I'm not completely negative: 1) good location. and 2) good water pressure in the shower. Now for the negative aspects. 1) The staff was rude and didn't seem to know anything about the Carnaval events that were going on. For example, we asked how the bus schedule would change for the events, and they knew absolutely nothing, nor could they give us proper walking directions to the nearest station that COULD tell us. 2) Breakfast (which we paid extra for) was literally just a basket of 6 croissants on each table, a coffee machine, and a (disgusting) juice dispenser. No water, no fruit, no cheese, no eggs, no yogurt, no milk. Just croissants and coffee. 3) There was only one mirror in the room (which was the bathroom mirror), so when getting ready we had to take turns going into the bathroom. 4) There was only one working outlet, unless you also include the outlet for the TV, which I unplugged in order to use (even though it was a foot below the ceiling). 5) THEY CHARGE FOR WIFI!!!! We depend on wifi overseas, so we were forced to pay the 3 euro per day, PER DEVICE, for our two phones and one iPad in order to communicate with our family, look up directions, etc. 6) the toilet paper was behind your head when you sit on the toilet, making things extremely awkward. 7) the room was very cramped and barely had room for our two suitcases and two backpacks. 8) the blow dryer was probably not an actual blowdryer...it certainly didn't look like one, nor did it dry hair. 9) the lobby smelled like cigarettes.

Please don't support this hotel with your patronage...it is a complete waste of money and you will be miserable...unless maybe you're used to hostels...then this might be one tiny step above that...

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Kate L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We chose this hotel for a short stay in Nice and it met all of our expectations and more. If you use your hotel as somewhere to sleep and shower and spend the rest of your time out and about, then this place is ideal. The location is perfect, near the main shopping streets and a stroll across the square to the old town and the beach. Breakfast was included and was quite adequate to get us going for the day. The rooms were spotless and, as we were at the back of the hotel, very quiet. I would certainly stay here again, the staf were very friendly and helpful, i couldn't fault our stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com
Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Regence is in the heart of Nice, and is a great place to base yourself if you plan to visit Nice. It is basic, and the rooms are small, the breakfast is minimal, but, but, but, this is Nice, and you do get amazing value for money. We had a room down the side of the hotel, 506, which overlooks the alley down the side, it was very noisy from about 6 in the morning from what i would imagine was the kitchens of one of the restaraunts on the Rue Massena, other than that, it was quiet at night and the bed was comfortable.

It is what it is, you pays your money and make your choice. The staff are friendly, the location is great, and it is the second time we have stayed their, that says it all.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the courtyard
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank forrestd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Very small basic rooms but clean and bathroom serviceable. The location is brilliant and makes up for rooms being quite tiny. Reception staff were less than friendly... One lady in particular on the morning shift. Breakfast was economical in the room (basic pastries and coffee) and a good start to the day. Excellent value hotel if all you want to do is sleep and shower and expect "no frills"

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnieandSimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Lovely quiet room and spacious compared to others in France that we stayed in - the reception was extremely helpful and friendly and the location of this hotel was perfect - close to everything. We chose this hotel from Trip Advisor reviews and were at first a little worried that being a smoking hotel and we aren't smokers that there might be some cigarette smell - but we were assured that the cleaning of the rooms was very thorough and removed any odours - and we certainly didn't notice any. We were very glad we chose this hotel and would be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jozcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#58 of 204 in Nice
513 reviews
Hotel de la Fontaine
#5 of 204 in Nice
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regence

Address: 21 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#35 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $90 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regence 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regence Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing