We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great unless you are driving there”
Review of Hotel Regence

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Regence
Ranked #31 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The problem with this hotel is that it is listed as being on Rue Massena, and it is - but that is a pedestrian-only street. Our GPS kept telling us to go down it! We eventually had to double-park (not so uncommon in Nice), my wife stayed with the car and I went to find the hotel. If I had been by myself I do not know how I could have handled this. Then we were told we could park at their sister hotel about 4 blocks away. So we unloaded our luggage, brought it to the room, and then drove to that parking garage. I may not sound like a big deal, but this part of Nice is a maze of one-way and pedestrian streets. Phew. It was great to have that behind us and the car stayed parked until we left Nice.

OK, once at the hotel, we were ideally located right on the Rue Massena with shops and restaurants. It is close to the main old town as well. If you prefer a dip in the ocean, that is only a block away as well. Our room was modest but fine. We elected to have breakfast there, a good call because for some reason none of the many cafes and restaurants were open before 10AM. The staff was very nice but it was apparent that lots of guests had the same issues we had upon arrival. Even if you took a taxi here, you still could not get within a couple of blocks of the front door.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garybirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (802)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 802 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with a friend for 3 days, we wanted a hotel that was centrally located close to the beach/bars/restaurants/shopping. Regence was a great pick, going out was easy and we walked home every night, the reception was open 24/7 and the staff was always pleasant and helpful.

We stayed in the twin superior room, it was nothing luxurious but all the basics were there and I thought it was really good value for what we payed. At first glance the room didnt look very nice, but on closer inspection we found that it was really clean and the beds were actually quite comfortable. Our room was tidied really well every day (especially toilets were super clean!), which I find maybe most important when staying in a budget hotel. Only thing missing was a minibar/fridge so we couldnt keep drinks cold in the room..

Also cant say much about the breakfast, since we always slept past 10am and never made it downstairs early enough to try out it.. Good thing about this hotel is that there are restaurants everywhere once you walk out onto the street, although they are quite "touristy" but fine if you just need a quick bite before heading to the beach etc.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone who's looking for a nice and clean place to crash for a few nights in Nice!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suvi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our four night stay in Hotel Regence on the rue Massena pedestrian avenue. Our room 403 (which window opened to a small court yard) was quiet and more spacious than our Paris room. All the staff were very helpful. It is short walk to the promenade and beach and to the tram stop as well as bus services. It is closer to a 10 to 15 minute walk to old town. Good quality and a good price. If we ever return to this part of the country we will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kytraveler76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Located in a pedestrianised area close to the promenade and old town. Good value and location. Some rooms small and can be noisy at the front. We asked for a larger twin room at the back which was quiet and larger than the double room we had last time. Staff helpful but the continental breakfast was the same every day and a little dull - fruit juice croissants and french bread.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank JohnR1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

Hotel Regence is an excellent value budget hotel in the center of Nice. After arriving in Nice by train, the hotel was within walking distance and easy to find. It is ideally located just a few blocks off the Promenade, which makes the beach easily accessible. The bus routes are also nearby, which is convenient for day trips to places like Monaco or Cannes. While the hotel is positioned on a busy pedestrian friendly street, the back room I stayed in was quiet. The hotel is well positioned near a good selection of restaurants and shops. Furthermore, a grocery store is just around the corner if you want to put together a picnic or snacks.

The front desk staff was all very friendly and resourceful. The desk is staffed 24/7, which was helpful since I had an early morning flight departure. The hotel is equipped with an elevator and the rooms are air conditioned. Compared to other French hotels I’ve stayed in, the room as well as the bathroom were both of a decent size. However, the shower itself was relatively small and I’m not a big person. Additional room features included a private safe to lock up your valuables and a TV with several English-speaking channels. The décor was a bit outdated, but the rooms were clean and well maintained.

Although Wifi is available, it will cost an extra 3 euros/day. Given the hotel’s well priced rooms, I would not consider this a deterrent. Breakfast is also an extra 6 euros/day. I cannot comment on the breakfast as I opted to buy mine at a nearby café.

Overall, I would highly recommend Hotel Regence. I would plan to stay there again for future visits to Nice!

Room Tip: Ask for a back room for a quieter stay. The front rooms may be noisy at night due to the local resta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atlgirl96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

Spent 4 nights June12 hotel is classed in the budget range. What you get as a guest is a very
pleasant hotel,Staff that are always pleasant,staff on reception desk cannot do enough to help.Trip to Monaco on local bus service cost 1euro is excellent value.Yes a good hotel in a very good location.PLEASE PLEASE a mirror in bedroom.Would go back.

Room Tip: Back of hotel are quiter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandyKirreimuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We have stayed here twice - most recently in June 2012. The hotel is well situated in the centre of town on one of the main pedestrianised streets but the double glazing keeps any noise out. The room was small and simply furnished but was clean and well maintained and the air conditioning was very efficient. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Wi- fi was not free but at 3 euros for 24 hrs is not overpriced. We would happily stay here again

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Exdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 204 in Nice
469 reviews
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#60 of 204 in Nice
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regence

Address: 21 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#35 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $87 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Regence 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Regence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regence Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing