We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be Careful”
Review of Hotel Dante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Dante
Ranked #180 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed July 26, 2013

You might get a bargain price here but be careful what you are bargaining for. The hotel itself is dated and the rooms need maintenance. I had trouble with the air conditioner, jammed shutters, and a clogged shower drain. When I sat on the toilet seat I felt it was going to collapse under me. It didn't but it slid a little. My pillow was lumpy and the mattress was like a rock. The owners are cooperative but maybe not their employed staff. Depends on which one you have to deal with. There's a younger man at night who's pleasant to deal with but lacks the authority of his seniors. If you decide to stay here, know that rooms are small and you need not book ahead, because there will most likely be rooms available. The beach and promenade are close by as is Gambetta Boulevarde where you can find reasonable shopping and restaurants.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
Thank Zoom_Gotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Dante
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

39 - 45 of 185 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

the rooms were awful smelly & bathroom was shocking only made worst by the kebab shop underneath the hotel. The only nice things I can say is that the guy on reception was very helpful & it had free wifi

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scouse_and_Mouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

great price, great service except the morning i checked out, good location especially for the price, original room had loud neighbor so they moved me immediately without question to a much better room

Room Tip: don't just take the first hotel offered if you book on arrival with a tourist or info agency in...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diamondjubilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I picked the rock bottom offer and got their rock bottom room. I moved to a different room because the heater didn't work and what a difference that made so if you choose the lowest rate, you will get the worst room they have. However the room has TV, "heater" should you need it in the winter time, and a so so bed. Both rooms smelled but the second room was better than the first and so was the bed. I was grateful for the change and managed to sleep well nevertheless. The staff is very nice so I can't complain about that. Internet only works on the ground floor. One review says they probably up for renovation, they probably are but its not going to happen in this economic crisis so you know what you are in for upfront. It could be a crapshoot what you get.

Room Tip: As I said above, I believe if you pick the rock bottom priced room, that's what you will get. Yo...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suehung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I stayed here in early March and got a great price. Yea, the rooms are small, but I traveled solo and as I have stayed in approximately 6-8 different hotels in Nice I would say this one is average for the city. However, the hotel is family owned and the desk staff during the day is typically the owners. They are very polite and helpful and this is why I recommend the hotel. If you require an inexpensive stay with clean and adequate rooms and friendly staff (+ decent location) then this is a great choice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ERIC W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

small room, smelling bad (had to keep the bathroom door close), with the impression of the ceiling soon falling down.very hard to find parking around despite what they say,
all of this for 37€ which is over priced to me.
at least position is good and people are nice but wouldn't go back there even if they offered me a room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gianfausti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

This was terrible !

We knew that we were not going to a luxury hotel, but this may not even be called a hotel. Very small room, rock hard bed that should have been replaced 10 years ago (at least). Small, ugly bathroom. Not particularly clean, but probably the best they could achieve in such a rundown hotel. The walls of the room were paper thin, a lot of noise from surrounding rooms and corridor. We woke in the middle of the night and thought someone urinated in our toilet, but after further investigation it turned out to be sounds from the next room.

On the positive side: Central location, elevator, manned reception, quiet neighborhood. Close to bus, train and beach.

The trip was March -09

Tip: On the corner of the quarter there is a fine restaurant (Restaurant Aux Gourmet) with very good French food at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Solveig_and_Espen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Evelia Hotels
Evelia Hotels
#142 of 204 in Nice
62 reviews
Hotel Parisien
#92 of 204 in Nice
136 reviews
Centre
Hotel Acanthe
Hotel Acanthe
#159 of 204 in Nice
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#150 of 204 in Nice
89 reviews
Centre
Hotel d'Ostende
Hotel d'Ostende
#145 of 204 in Nice
156 reviews
Centre
Hotel H33
Hotel H33
#160 of 204 in Nice
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dante

Address: 12 rue Andrioli, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: $50 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Dante 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Dante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dante Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing