We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An awful rat hole”
Review of Ambassador Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Hotel
Ranked #102 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An awful rat hole”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Booked the hotel because of the "sea view" for my two day stay in Nice. The hotel is centarally located. Could see the sea far in the horizon on my tiny balcony. The view mostly consisted of the building opposite the hotel and the entrance to a parking lot / tunnel. Paid 200 € / night for this most awful place. The room was really shabby, outworn and awful. Absolutely not worth the money. Stay out of this awful dump!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    79
    36
    32
    29
See reviews for
40
120
21
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

I read other reviews which always praised the location but criticised some of the rooms. However, I thought I might get lucky. I wasn't! The room was small with two single beds squeezed together to make a double. The shower over the bath was inadequate with virtually no pressure (my wife was unable to wash her hair). We couldn't use the bath because the internal plug system didn't work. We complained to no avail. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel at 12 E each. Why would we with plenty of cafes serving as good or better at 5-6 E within a few metres of the front door? As I said: great location. We would not stay again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Foidman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nice hotels

São Paulo, SP
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Well located, a few meters from the beach, restaurants and shops, the staff was really friendly and helpful. The bedroom has a balcony with beatiful view of sea.
The problems of this hotel was the high prices, breakfast not included (paid apart by high prices) and the bedroom was noisy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoemiBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My husband and I used our travel agent to book our flights and accomodations for our honeymoon in Greece. He warned us that this hotel wasn't the best, but that we would hardly be in the hotel in Nice so it wouldn't matter. Boy, was he right! Our room (on the 1st floor), was a dump. It was two twin beds pushed together, the room was pink and the toilet was in a different room from the rest of the washroom, which would be great, however it was so small it was hard to even get into. The shower was in a tub with no shower curtain, so the entire floor would get wet.
We complained to the front desk that we were on our honeymoon, and they said that they were fully booked and couldn't provide us with another room.
The only good thing about this hotel is the location (right in the heart of nice), but I would suggest spending a few extra dollars and booking at another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pkauj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

By the time we reached Nice all hotels were full due to Ironmen challenge but we managed somehow to check in this hotel. The only thing that works in favour of this hotel is a location, everything else is so average. Rooms are in desperate need of makeover, bathroom is clean but never looks clean because it is old and rusty. As we were on the road every day visiting Cote d'Azur we did not worry about the view or the breakfast. Great location of this hotel provided us with the base to visit nearby beach (2 minutes), visit Cannes and Monaco by train,(20 minutes walk to a train station), which is best solution due to a very heavy traffic and also enjoying being in the absolute centre of Nice and loving our evening walks. Hotel does not have parking facility, but Garage is close by and we took advantage of long term parking costing 60Euros for 3 days. Loved the free WIFI throughout our stay in the hotel. Reception staff is very friendly and very helpful. Our room was cleaned regularly and had lots of clean towels. I think staff deserve better hotel. If this hotel does not have much needed renovations, personally I would not come to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank suzie-luvs-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in the hotel for 3 nights in July..
The day when I checked in the hotel was completely full.
Check in was quick..rooms Were clean , but small.
2 minutes away from the beach and nearby to old town

U can take bus 98 from airport which will drop u in walking distance of the hotel
Value for money

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papakancha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a rest in Nice from 7 till 14 September in 2012. Out tour - guide booked us a room in Ambassador hotel. As it was a tour we came to the hotel nearly at 10.30 – 11.00 p.m.. Old looking manager gave us a key of our room. The room was on the second floor (N 208). From the first sight the room looked fine, but first impression was wrong.
It was stuffy in the room, we took the curtains off and what we saw: there was a roof of additional building 10 inches down, cigarette ends and ash, dust and different trash were all over that roof. When we opened the window all this trash headed in the room, and I’m not talking about the smell. Besides, we had to manage hardly to see a piece of sky through the window because all we could see was the corner of another building.
Let’s back to the room there were hairs on the pillow, floor in the bathroom wasn’t clean, hip bath was grey from dirty (As I was told next morning by manager the hip bath wasn’t dirty it was old. Every normal person who used to leave in cleanness can see the difference between what is dirty and what is old), towels were dirty too (We asked to change them three times and we were given dirty towels three times.), the air in the bathroom told that before we came in to the room there was a skunk and more of all a shower was out of order.
We asked to change the room, but there wasn’t available one. At 7 a.m. the main manager came and changed our room during 30 minutes. I suppose if a shower was in order we wouldn’t be receive another room, because when I explained manager why we’d like to change room he told that it was OK (I mean the way of cleaning and not that we wanted to change the room).
The number (201) where we were placed was cleaner; a bath was better; though the view out of window wished to be better. View was out on the broken roof of inner yard, roof was closed to the windows of numbers on the first floor and we saw rats shifted in room two or so times.
Before leaving hotel we were sitting in the lobby, two men came in and asked manager if they had an available room, manager said that they had only a room as they name it “a number for friends” and showed them a room where we had seen rats before. In a couple minutes men leaved hotel in indignity. So I suppose the room where we were placed for the first time wasn’t the worst in the hotel.
During our stay our room was cleaned every day, towels were changed each alternate day and bed was in order every time we got back to the hotel, it was some problems with hot water for three day. Staff was very kind. The breakfast was scant, but due to France it was normal: croissants, coffee and something sweet.
To summary we liked the location of the hotel, TV and mini – bar (fridge to be exact) in the room.

Room Tip: More quite rooms have no see view, but they are the same size and have the same furniture
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tirlibom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#76 of 204 in Nice
103 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Hotel Suede
Hotel Suede
#56 of 204 in Nice
508 reviews
Hotel Albert 1er
#37 of 204 in Nice
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 204 in Nice
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Hotel

Property: Ambassador Hotel
Address: 8 avenue de Suede, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ambassador Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Nice city centre this hotel is a 2-minute walk from the Promenade des Anglais and the beach. It offers air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi. Guest rooms at the Hôtel Ambassador are bright and feature satellite TV and a mini-bar. All rooms are serviced by an elevator and some rooms have a sea view. A buffet breakfast is served each morning at the Hôtel Ambassador and guests are invited to enjoy a drink in the hotel's bar in the evening. Additional facilities at the hotel include a 24-hour reception desk and luggage storage. The hotel is located a 5-minute walk from the famous Nice Flower Market on the Cours Saleya. Hôtel Ambassador is 550 meters from Nice Opera and 1.6 km from the Nice Acropolis Convention Centre. Nice Ville train station is situated 1.5 km away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing