We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A+ location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Ranked #4 of 212 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“A+ location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I used Nice as my base during my 6 day stay in southern France, staying at Ajoupa Residence Baie des Anges.

To start off, I was a little surprised that Ajoupa showed up under the "hotels" section of TripAdvisor as this particular place is definitely NOT a hotel - it is more of an flat/apartment, complete with a kitchen (including fridge/oven/microwave/utensils/etc.). As a result, there is no daily room service (only after every 7th day), including no change of towels, garbage, etc. It's good to be aware of this just in case anyone gets thrown off by the whole "hotel" heading.

Back to the flat itself, it's situated in an awesome location - steps from the very cool Massena Square and very easy to get to/from the main Nice airport. Although the street itself can get pretty noisy, my room faced the back of the building so I didn't hear any of this during the night (would be a good idea to request a place facing the back if noise bothers you). After a quick check-in with the very friendly fella at the front, he promptly took me to my room, passed along some quick instructions (WiFi password, take out the trash before leaving, etc. etc.) and that was about it. The room itself - as mentioned a bit earlier - had a bed (somewhat oddly located in the middle of the "kitchen", a TV, some drawers for clothes, etc, and a VERY tiny bathroom. The shower in particular was exceptionally small and was pretty uncomfortable to take a shower in...that was definitely one of the most irritating things about this flat, especially considering the rest of the flat was so large (relatively speaking).

The location, of course, simply cannot be beat - you'd be staying right in the action and in the heart of (one of) the livliest places in Nice with an abundance of places to eat, shop, etc. As well, the flat is pretty close to the Nice Ville train station to get in and out of town, and literally 5 minutes away from the stunning Promenade.

As long as you know what you're getting (a self-serve flat, not a hotel), I would find no reason not to recommend Ajoupa Residence to all Nice visitors, especially families/those with kids who would appreciate the extra space and cooking tools.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Vik_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    275
    55
    17
    6
See reviews for
188
278
82
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We had a flat on the 3rd floor in Ajoupa and it was perfect for friends staying for a few days of city break. It had a double bed + a single bed; sofas; kitchen with dining table and a small balcony. The location is good - even if it´s in the middle of a shopping street there´s not a lot of noise up to the rooms. The standard of the flat is ok. Not luxurious but what you need when you´re not planning to spend a lot of time in the hotel anyways. And all kitchen equipment etc that you need is already there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MnOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Our first time to Nice and we found the location of Ajoupa to be excellent. It is basic accommodation but as we only used it to sleep and eat breakfast in, it was ideal for the price. Yes the lift stops between floors and you have to walk about a dozen steps with your suitcases upon arrival and departure but no big deal. The receptionist was very helpful. We caught the bus to Monte Carlo and for only 1 Euro it was amazing value and a beautiful scenic drive. We particularly liked the old town which was about a ten minute walk away. The street below our room was a very busy one full of cafes, shops and restaurants but we found the double glazing was very effective and when we shut the balcony door, very little could be heard. I have reviewed some excellent value restaurants elsewhere on the site including one which is a little to the right of opposite the front door (Panice), a couple in the old town and one particularly outstanding one (Le 7eme Sens on 10 Rue Tonduti de L'Escarme) about 8 blocks to the left in a straight line as you leave the front door.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterLeedsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for six nights while visiting the Monaco Grand Prix. We had a superior quiet room. The property is very old but has everything you need. Well located for trams, buses, restuaurants and shops and excellent value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ktty99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
118 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Nice was expensive … especially so when you are trying to book hotels around the Cannes Film unknowingly. With limited choice, I picked a fairly well rated Résidence Hôtelière Ajoupa Baie des Anges at Rue Massena at 90 per night for a superior studio. The location is just fantastic and this apartment lives upto its reputation. A no nonsense welcome, with a sheet of to-do’s and not to-do’s and you are shown the room. You are requested politely to clean the utensils etc. if you are cooking and throw the garbage before you leave. Just drop the keys at the letter box next to the reception which is open only between 9 am – 6 pm or so.

A large room with a kitchenette having all facilities (micro, hot plates, mixi/blender, utensils, glasses, cups etc.), you are all set for an excellent stay at one of the most happening areas of Nice. A separate WC & Bath (large one at that) with limited amenities, our room faced the backside of other apartments / offices and was quite and peaceful. WiFi is free though the reception in the room was very poor.

The location is just fantastic … Place Massena is 2 stops away on tram from the main station. Rue Massena is a happening place with excellent shopping options and restaurants, pharmacies and even 2 supermarkets. For an apartment stay, it could not be better. A 10 mins walk takes you to the old part of the city and the over hyped Cours Saleya market area, 15 mins to the Chateau (a must visit) / port area. Walk 5 mins to get into a bus for Cannes (1 hr ride, take the train instead), 3 stops to Garibaldi where you get bus # 82 or 112, 100 for Nice and Eze Village. Would strongly recommend Ajoupa … for an independent and enjoyable stay at Nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WheelsOnOurFeet_JD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We booked up the week the F1 circus was coming to nearby Monaco so all prices were hiked considerably but Ajoupa remained reasonable at around €90 per night. We arrived early on our flight from Edinburgh but Ajoupa had already emailed us to confirm our arrival time so when we arrived at Ajoupa, we met Anne, a friendly and helpful lady who spoke very good English. Anne provided us with a city map and marked on it the nearby supermarkets and places of interest before taking us to our room which was located on the 2nd floor "Superior Double Studio" according to the booking and indeed it was a large and comfortable room with ample storage, a fully fitted kitchen, comfortable bed, toilet with shower cubicle. Towels and sheets are provided but you do need to pay a modest fee of €1 if you wish to have a fresh towel within 7 days (rooms are cleaned every 7 days). Our room looked out to the back alley which whilst not scenic, did protect us from the noise of the Rue Massena. Residents also benefit from free Wi-Fi which was good for keeping up to date with everything happening at home, and uploading pictures to friends to show them how lovely Nice is :-)

The location really does do it for this place. The hotel is located on the lively Rue Massena which is packed with shops, cafes and restaurants so you don't have far to go for something to eat. It is a short 5 minute walk to the Promenade Des Anglais, a 10 minute walk to Nice Ville train station and about a 5-7 minute walk from the Old Town of Nice and the lovely shopping streets off it, which are packed with lots of weird and wonderful shops, cafes and bars, leading you back nicely to the water Fountain at the Place Massena.

Over and above our stay, I contacted Ajoupa several times by e-mail prior to our trip for advice and they replied within the day to each e-mail. Not a lot of places will be as quick or as helpful from my experiences.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone I know who is looking for a good value hotel in Nice.

Room Tip: Ask to have a room which faces the back of the hotel so you don't get noise from Rue Massena at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mika1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect location. The room was large, clean, comfortable and had great wifi and a well-appointed kitchen. We were pleased that it was extremely quiet despite being on rue Massena, which is quite busy. The staff was polite and helpful. Compared to other Nice hotels that I've stayed in, this hotel is an incredible value and I would not hesitate to stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 404 and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 237anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Hotel Villa Victoria
#8 of 212 in Nice
4.0 of 5 stars 728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice

Property: Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Address: 4 rue Massena, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre , Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Nice
#6 Family Hotel in Nice
#6 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#20 Best Value Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The residence Ajoupa Baie des Anges is situated in the lively pedestrian zone of Nice, right by the Place Massena, the Albert 1st Gardens and only a 3 minutes walk from the sea and the famous Promenade des Anglais. In the heart of the city you will find all means of transport (tram, bus, train) as well as many restaurants and shops nearby. All studios and apartments are equipped with kitchenette (fully equipped), private bathroom, individual air conditioning and double glazing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ajoupa Residence Baie Des Anges Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing