We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A favourite hotel.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Perouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Perouse
Ranked #4 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A favourite hotel.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2011

The location of La Perouse is a major attraction - lovely views over Nice, and an easy walk into the old town one way and to the port the other way. The hotel is modern, but has much charm and the atmosphere is calm and friendly. As well as a sunny pool area, with sauna nearby, there is a large roof terrace with a jacuzzi and a fitness room. The many different levels make the hotel less convenient for those with mobility problems.
On this occasion (we have stayed once before) we had the "standard" type of bedroom, which faces straight onto the cliff. However, we had a charming little patio, almost like a grotto, and felt that the room was very good value. The room was sizeable and comfortable, with a bathroom lined with very attractive brown and white marble. Breakfast was good, without being special. The staff throughout the hotel were courteous and helpful, which contributed to a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
2 Thank screen1379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    340
    92
    36
    25
See reviews for
173
718
37
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2011

Our family of three (two adults and a 1.5 years old child) stayed at La Perouse for five nights in February of 2011. Here are some pros and cons about the hotel.

Pros:
1. Location (you cannot do better in Nice!)
2. Cleanness (the bedsheets and towels of great quality, crisp and super clean)
3. Friendly and knowledgable staff
4. The building (if you like boutique hotels, you will love this one the building is just gorgeous)

Cons:
1. Not built for person with disability or young children needing a stroller!

Note: the hotel has a lovely hot tub on the sixth floor terrace but its temperature is too cold for winter days it is set on 32 degrees only!

Personal Issue with the Hotel:

1. We booked for their basic room but we were told during the booking process that if there is a better room available we will be upgraded. We arrived and were told there is no room for us to be upgraded to. We were given a room on the fifth floor, we had to take 3 tiny elevators plus at least 10 stairs to get to our room, it was absolutely inconvenient with a baby and her stroller! We asked for a similar room on a lower floor, they offered us a better room on the first floor for additional 80 euros per night. We could not take that better room because there were stairs in the middle of the room.

2. We did not take the better room but when we were leaving the hotel, one of hotels receptionist followed us to our taxi and told us we owe the hotel for three nights of upgrade! (I guess it was an oversight)

3. The last day we were leaving early in the morning so we couldn't have our breakfast that we had already paid for, the night before we were told by one of the hotel's staff that they will bring our breakfast to our room before we leave, but they did not! we had to eat at the airport.

4. The wireless Internet was not working in our room, we had to go to the lobby to get the Internet.

What you get for a 21 euros breakfast:

The breakfast in La Perouse is nice served in a lovely breakfast room overlooking the backyard and pool, the breakfast is on the expensive side, 21 euros per person.

Here is what you get:
Hot drinks, Bread and baguettes and two other kinds of pastries, Jam, scrambled eggs and sausage, three kinds of cold cuts, two kinds of cheese, four types of juice, two types of fruit salad, some fresh fruits, four types of cereal and milk.

Bottom-line:
For adults only this is a perfect hotel.
We really liked La Perouse but we do not recommend it for families with young children or person with disability as we faced a great deal of inconvenience every single time going in and out of the hotel.

Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank sishab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2010

This hotel is very clean. In fact, maid-service was provided twice per day. Given the four star rating for this hotel I was expecting a larger room. In fact, the room was too small to fit a dresser - which would have come in handy for a 6 night stay. The closet was minuscule - so much so that the 12 inch hanging bar was perpendicular instead of parallel to the closet door. The bathroom was also just average. I had mentioned the lack of a shower curtain to Caroline, who by the way was an extremely pleasant and very helpful hotel service representative. She was surprised. Which leads me to recommend reserving a room with a bathtub that has a shower curtain.

Upon check-in, which went very smoothly, I was offered a choice to upgrade my room to one with a water view. I didn't think an extra 30 Euros per night was worth it. On the other hand, the hotel is built in the side of a mountain. So, a non-water view room is actually a room with a view of large slab of rock. I had a look at the floor plan on the fire-escape route and noticed that most rooms on my floor (the fourth) were about the same size but my room was noticeably smaller. I believe hotel management policy should be to offer the customer the best possible room for the price paid - especially during low-season when the hotel is at low capacity. But that's just me.

Location is excellent. The "Marche des Fleurs" in old Nice is a mere 5 minute walk away. The port and the main shopping streets are within reasonable walking distance.

The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful.

The continental breakfast at 11 Euros was reasonable especially considering you get a full pot of coffee (instead of the standard 2 ounce cup of coffee found in most restaurants).

A couple of other details:
- Wifi is free however the reception from my room was poor. The hotel lent me an ethenet cable.
- Parking (with valet service) costs 18 Euros per day.
- Swimming pool is not heated

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2010

We booked La Perouse on an Expedia package because the photos looked so enticing. We were not disappointed! Unlike many hotel photos, these were so real! We requested a sea view room, and had a huge balcony, with two chaises, a table and two chairs, that overlooked the Mediterranean and a view of the Promenade des Anglaises. One morning we woke up after a bad rain and the snow capped mountains had peeked out of the horizon over the city - amazing! The hotel is only two blocks from the Cours Saleya and many great restaurants, which lead to the charming streets of old Nice. The hotel has a nice car service to the airport, and the desk attendants are absolutely helpful and courteous. We gave the sleep quality four stars because the beds are a little hard - oh and I agree with other reviewers, the restaurant is way too expensive, so walk a few blocks and you'll find some great deals in charming restaurants. I could go on and on, and can't say enough about the hotel. It may be a little too expensive by itself, but the deal on Expedia was WELL worth it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JARMoreno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

Great bathroom
Great view,at least from our room
Good size
Attentive staff
Decent value

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaanSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

The hotel was in a great location right next to the old town. I thought the rooms were quite enjoyable minus the shower. The shower was big, but it came from the side which I hate because you get water everywhere. We didnt eat breakfast there because it was outrageous for 21 euros. The beds were good and the terrance was great (if you get a view, which we did) Overall I liked the atmosphere of the hotel and everyone was very friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjackson33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2010

I reserved 3 double standard rooms. The rooms that they gave us had patios with no view but rocks and wall. You could only see the sky if you raise your head up. The rooms were dark beacuse of that. We wanted to change the rooms but the front desk offered us rooms with higher prices. They said that none of the standard rooms has view. The pictures are nothing related with the rooms that we stayed at. We wanted to change the hotel for the second night but this time they told us that they would charge a cancellation fee which is one nights room fee. You have to change 2 different elevators and pass a long corridor to reach the rooms. We stayed in a 4 star hotel in Milan before this hotel and this one was like a 2 star comparing to the one in Milan.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TripMember081820153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hperouse2010, Manager at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this review, December 13, 2010
In the first place we would like to thank you for giving us your feedback on your stay at the Hotel LA PEROUSE this last November and we would like to express our deepest apologies as obviously we did not meet your requirements. Though you must admit the hotel contacted you prior your arrival date to inquire whether superior rooms would have been of any interest for you at charge as you were a party of 3 rooms and as we know how it is difficult to reprotect 3 rooms on the day of arrival. You did not wish to take this offer. You have been accommodated in standard rooms right from your arrival with view on the garden exactly the category you have booked you decline those rooms as you wished to be accommodated in the upper floors. We have tried to meet your requirements at that stage but on our opinion the first rooms you were in were much better in terms of view and light. We really tried hard to make you happier obviously we failed but we gave you the choice to move for superior rooms in the upper floor but with a supplement and you were not interested. Free upgrades are unfortunately not available when hotel is sold out. We feel so sorry you did not enjoy your stay as we made every endeavor to find an easy issue. Once again our deepest apologies and would you indulge another stay in Nice then contact the hotel General Manager, Mrs. Laure GIOMETTI. With our best regards.
Mrs. Laure Giometti
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Negresco
#14 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perouse

Property: Hotel La Perouse
Address: 11 quai Rauba-Capeu, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#7 Family Hotel in Nice
#12 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Perouse 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, Agoda, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Perouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perouse Nice
Resort La Perouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing