We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of Heaven!”
Review of Hotel La Perouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Perouse
Ranked #4 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Angleterre
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A little piece of Heaven!”
Reviewed November 20, 2006

We stayed for a week in August 2006. We were initially surprised at the location of the hotel, set into the rock face and seemingly incorporated into private flats. The reception staff were very helpful and our car was valet parked (at additional cost but not extortionate). Our luggage was taken to our room via the quaint and tiny lifts. The room was very clean and although small, very comfortable and stylish (except for the plastic furniture on the balcony).

We ate in the hotel restaurant twice for dinner during our stay and the food was excellent. We also had a couple of light lunches. Breakfast was very pleasant sitting out in the lemon grove as long as we were not too close to some guests who liked the sound of their own voices! On two mornings we chose to take breakfast in our room. We would thoroughly recommend this! The greedy sparrows and pigeons with an eye on our croissants added to the fun!

Nice itself was a delight and being in the old town made all the difference to our fun nights out, despite some torrential rain showers. We had one special dinner at Negresco and many much cheaper dinners in the fascinating narrow streets nearer to La Perouse.

The beach was an interesting place to people watch. We tried one day on the public beach and two on the private beach. It was worth paying those euros for a sun-lounger as the pebbles are not very condusive to sun-bathing! Swimming was a bit limited when the jelly fish came in. Look for the flags indicating 'meduse'!

Our best day out was to Vence, a lovely medieval town out in the mountains; a haven for artists. Tourettes Sur Loup was equally quaint and we spotted Charlie Watts from the Rolling Stones there...well, we thought it was him and the RS were playing Nice that week! Grasse was huge disappointment.

We will be returning to La Perouse next year and maybe many more years in the future. There is so much more to see and do and this hotel is the perfect place to be.

  • Liked — Stylishly furnished with modern bathroom.
  • Disliked — Cheap looking plastic outdoor furniture.
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't read negative reviews! make your own mind up!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank GG&ICS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    356
    95
    38
    27
See reviews for
185
755
42
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2006

We have recently returned from a long weekend at the Hotel La P erouse in Nice. We had an absolutely wonderful time in this real gem of a hotel. The service we received was outstanding, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left. In particular the concierges could not do enough to help us get our bearings and make suggestions for dinner. We arrived on Thursday evening and were immediately given a room up grade from sea view with balcony to sea view with terrace. The views were magnificent. This hotel is in a prime location. We were told by our taxi driver that in his opinion it was the best hotel in Nice. Don't book if you like big swanky hotels, you would be disappointed. This hotel is intimate with oodles of character and charm. The staff conversed with me whilst I practised my schoolgirl French even though their own English was perfect, they were patient and kind. The room was a little small but more than compensated for by the lovely bathroom, the king size bed and the stunning views from the terrace. We breakfasted every morning, warmed by the early November sunshine in the terrace garden. The breakfast was very good and the service excellent. Thompsons holidays arranged our pick up from the airport, the taxi was a brand new Mercedes this, coupled with the beautiful hotel, made for a memorable weekend break. We will return and incidently we loved Nice too.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The room was a little on the small side
  • Tips/Secrets — The walking is superb get a map and explore. But don't bother trying socca or the petits farcis ,these are local delicacies and they are horrible.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Diana900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

Spent two excellent nights and then returned for one night before our flight back home. We were upgraded the first two nights to a lovely room with a large terrace. The last night we were in a courtyard room that was fine but a bit small if you were to stay more than a night or two.
The location is great the quiet is very welcome from the excitement (and cars/motorbikes) of Nice. The employees could not have been more accommodating from recommendations for a tabac to dinner reservations. I would love to return.

  • Liked — Quiet rooms
  • Disliked — Lots of stairs
  • Tips/Secrets — Terrace rooms are best
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank pegnbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2006

Enter the street level Reception of this hotel from the hustle, bustle and sheer exuberance of Promenade des Anglais, be transported 6 floors in a lift and your world will have changed into one of complete peace and tranquillity. At this level all street sounds have as if by magic disappeared and you have a charming indoor/outdoor restaurant and bar oozing ambiance serving good food. Just off the retaurant is the swimming pool area.

Our comfortable room complete with large well furnished secluded terrace was on the 5th floor and provided spectacular uninterupted views of the whole Bay of Anges. On the 6th floor above is a huge terrace complete with exercise equipment, hot-tub and sauna and of course magnificent views.

The hotel's position is perfect - in one direction a few steps into the Old Town with its 24 hour buzz, in another direction a short stroll to the picturesque Port area and immediately in front access to the beach with its excellent facilities and restaurants.

The staff were extremely friendly and helped us throughout our 8 night stay arranging several trips as well as restaurant bookings etc.

A truly remarkable hotel and one that we will be revisiting.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank KerryBethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter,Florida
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2006

Four of us stayed at La Perouse for 3 days. Everything about it was wonderful. We booked the seaview rooms with balconies. The view was incredible!
The employees of the hotel, especially Alexis and Jamel, were exceedingly friendly and helpful. We were welcomed warmly, and our car and luggage were dealt with quickly and efficiently.
Our rooms were large and well-appointed - the toiletries were by Fragonard, and smelled divine.
I would recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Liked — the view of the Bay of Angels
  • Disliked — the small elevators
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank clairez133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, England
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2006

This hotel is certainly not cheap but if you fancy a bit off decandance, it's certainly worth it. When we arrived at the hotel they informed us that we had received an upgrade, a room with a fabulous terrace overlooking Nice bay.
I must admit that despite this being one of the best rooms it was not particulary big and also I did find that you could here the room next door running water in the bathroom quite loudly which was a bit annoying at night but that is probably common to most hotels.
Howver, the room was spotless and the bedding and towels were changed everyday. The staff too were very attentive.
The pool area was pleasant and it was fantastic after a good read by the pool to enjoy a spot of lunch outside under the lemon trees, not to mention the obligatory glass of wine!
In the evening there is so much choice as just behind the hotel is the Cours Salyeya with loads of excellent places to eat, although many aren't cheap. Toward the end of the holiday we found an excellent simple restaurant called La Festival de la Moule, which served Mussels in a variety of sauces together with fries. The excellent bit was that you received another bowl after you had finised at no extra cost. The place was always packed out though, so arrive in pleny of time.
All in all a very good hotel in a super location.

  • Liked — Quite location
  • Disliked — Thin walls
  • Tips/Secrets — Already in the article
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank CeliaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2006

The hotel staff were very helpful and went out of their way to accomodate our needs. We had booked a room with either a double or twin beds but the bed we got was a small double so we asked for an additional single to be put into the room and this was done within an hour of our arrival. The location is great - 5 minutes walk to the old town and just opposite a very nice (paying) beach. The place you have breakfast is a delight - next to the pool and under the lemon trees. It's pricey, but well worth it. Small, friendly and great location

  • Liked — The area around the pool and breakfast area
  • Disliked — The ventilation shaft outside the bedroom window
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank LHB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Hotel Suisse
#7 of 204 in Nice
1,200 reviews
Hotel Negresco
#16 of 204 in Nice
2,292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perouse

Property: Hotel La Perouse
Address: 11 quai Rauba-Capeu, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#7 Family Hotel in Nice
#12 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Perouse 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Perouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perouse Nice
Resort La Perouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing