We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a view”
Review of Hotel La Perouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Perouse
Ranked #4 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Room with a view”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Quirky, charming and welcoming. Hotel La Perouse is in the best position to walk around Nice. Our room, 402, had a delightful wrought iron small balcony, with 2 chairs and table, with a lovely view of Promenade des Anglais. The bathroom had the type of hairdryer used in salons, hot and very effective. There was a magnifying mirror that illuminated. The tiles were beige marble. The bed was extremely comfortable. The weather was sunny 16 degrees on 9th January. We had a special offer on the room and breakfast was included. We loved the top quality pastries and museli, natural yoghurt and fresh fruit juice. It was a shame we had to make our own juice and get our own tea. This hotel is built into the side of the cliff so it is a very irregular shape. What is had though was ambience and I loved it. We were here for a rugby match in Nice.

Room Tip: I think at this hotel the room facing the sea is very important. We were on the 4th floor, so superi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hperouse2010, Director of Sales at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
We are delighted to know you have appreciated the charm and subtle distinction of the Hotel la Perouse. Thank you very much for your comment and all the details you have appreciated during the stay with us, it is a pleasure to know this.
We are looking forward welcoming you again at the Hotel la Perouse.
Kind regards,
Irina Iovan
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    759
    355
    95
    38
    27
See reviews for
184
755
42
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This was a great long-weekend holiday experience. The hotel is a quick ride from the airport, so our holiday started about an hour after landing. Our room was at the top of the hotel, with a great sea view from the huge terrace (though not from the room itself). The whole Mediterranean was spread out before us, with a great view along the Promenade des Anglais, all the way to Cannes. The journey to the room was a bit tortuous (several different lifts/elevators involved) but once we got used to it, no problem. Public areas of the hotel we very nice: sunny, warm, well appointed. We ate breakast every day, though quite expensive and not included in our room rate. The room was very reasonable though, on a special deal from Expedia (110 euros for a room with the standard rate of 390 euros). That's off season for you. And, Nice was delightful as ever: sunny, warm, shiny. Great food and museums. Nice martini at the Negresco.

Room Tip: Sea views the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyfliyfhv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hperouse2010, Director of Sales at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your time and comment. We are delighted to know you enjoyed your long-weekend stay at the Hotel la Perouse and the beautiful views over the sea.
We are looking forward welcoming you again at the Hotel la Perouse.
Kind regards,
Irina Iovan
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Had a very good stay here - well looked after, excellent room, very convenient location with beautiful views, very good breakfast. Although the pool was closed (January) and the restaurant closed, it all looked very attractive, including the external hot-tub on the top floor. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The higher floor the room is on, the better the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelleryorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hperouse2010, Director of Sales at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you so much for your recommendation and comments. We are pleased to know you have appreciated your stay Hotel la Perouse and hopefully you will be staying with as soon. Our Restaurant Le Patio will be open again in February and the outdoor pool will be heated in April.
Kind regards,
Irina Iovan
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport -Trefdraeth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

stayed at the hotel over xmas after a pleasant stay during summer 2012. We were shown to our standard room on the 5th floor (after 2 lifts) and our view out of the window was a rock!! We asked for an upgrade room and we were told as the hotel was full there were no free upgrades and we were charged an extra 35 euros per day even though to us the hotel appeared empty as we were the only clients for breakfast. I had no choice at the time even though as former clients there and the fact that the room was empty we were not given a free upgrade. The hotel has now a rather stayed look in need of modernisation and we feel that they take advantage of the position and view from the hotel rather than keeping up the standards expected of a four star hotel especially at their prices! Breakfast was expensive and mediocre and we found numerous ants in the room which were rather unwelcome guests! The hotel clerk had a patronising attitude to our upgrade request also. On return I emailed the manageress to complain and asked for a refund of the upgrade cost as several clients had received free upgrades if there were empty rooms available especially for regular clients but received an unsympathetic reply even defending the reception clerk stating that "hotel policy must be adhered to". I love Nice but will NEVER again stay at La Perouse as there are numerous other hotels who would take care of their clients in a better fashion. BEWARE!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rhyd2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hperouse2010, Director of Sales at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Sir,
We are very disappointed to discover this comment on TripAdvisor after all email exchanges we had. It is obvious that unfortunately we did not manage to convince you that the Hotel la Pérouse was almost fully booked on the day of your arrival with only 2 rooms available left. As we have explained you before, we would be delighted to make public the occupancy reports we have as records in order to finally prove that the hotel was very busy during your stay with us. Furthermore, you did not see other guests in the breakfast area because they were all part of a group leaving the hotel every day at 08.30 am for excursions, we can provide the shuttle timetable if you wish to verify. We are very sorry that you are judging this way the Hotel la Perouse, based only on a personal supposition and indeed our upgrade proposal at 35 euros per night that you accepted while at the hotel will not be refunded, despite your intimidation with getting your comment posted on TripAdvisor.
We understand you may think that December is a slow month in Nice, but we were lucky enough to have actually a busy month to end up the year. We strive to satisfy all our guest requests and wishes and you can be sure that we are more than delighted to systematically please and reward return guests with free upgrades when possible. Again, a free upgrade was strictly not possible during your stay, we are truly sorry about this. We understand this may be frustrating for you but unfortunately we cannot always do free upgrades.
Hopefully, after this very public message you posted you will finally believe what we keep on saying since the beginning in all email exchanges we had.
Best regards,
Irina Iovan
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
481 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

For my money, this is the best located hotel in Nice, easily walkable from the Old Town and the Port. It is high up on the cliff and therefore well away from the noise of the traffic on the Promenade des Anglais (and goodness does Nice have traffic, even in winter!). The rooms are nicely decorated, with marble bathrooms, and we had a spectacular view from a small sunny terrace on the 3rd floor. Overall we were very happy with it and got great service from the reception staff in particular. The location does have its downsides however and I can see that this wouldn't suit everyone's taste. Because it is on the top of the cliff, it only has a very small lobby at street level, which is a bit unprepossessing on first sight. And the layout of the hotel means that, to get to your room, you have to go up in two separate (and tiny) lifts - it definitely feels like a rabbit warren. The niggles - the pillows were extremely hard and uncomfortable to sleep on; the hotel was a bit mean in replenishing toiletries (I ran out of shower gel on day 2 and they didn't replace it); and the restaurant was closed for evening meals while we were there. I'm sure this last is because it was out of season and there weren't that many people staying in the hotel - but we definitely would have used the hotel restaurant, the limited room service menu being a poor substitute. But overall this is a lovely hotel, if not so slick as you would get in one of the chains.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan8552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Located right along the ocean in the best part of Nice for shopping, dining, and beautiful walks/site seeing. The breakfast and hotel restaurant is top class. The staff is very friendly and helpful and all speak english. The rooms are very comfortable. We stayed in a room with a balcony facing the ocean on the 5th etiage, so the view every morning was to die for! The only downside is that the hotel is built into the rocky hill and so weaving to get to your is an interesting experience involving multiple different elevators. It was a wonderful experience nontheless!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyBass1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ницца, Франция
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Really grate place and grate weekend. I've appreciate a lot the view from our room: we could see Bai des Anges just from our bed. Acutely we had everything we needed in the hotel, even jacuzzi on the rooftop in November!!
In the evening we have tried the cocktails in the intern garden - really tasty. Personal was good and welcoming. Wish to come here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DariaBans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Hotel Suisse
#7 of 204 in Nice
1,200 reviews
Hotel Negresco
#16 of 204 in Nice
2,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perouse

Property: Hotel La Perouse
Address: 11 quai Rauba-Capeu, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#7 Family Hotel in Nice
#12 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Perouse 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel La Perouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perouse Nice
Resort La Perouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing