We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful boutique hotel-great location”
Review of Hotel La Perouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Perouse
Ranked #4 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Hotel La Perouse is a fabulous little hotel within walking distance to the historic part of Nice (with lots of cafes and shops). It is on the water--our room had a beautiful view of the sea. It is situated near a park and the port and you can walk along the Promenade des Anglais next to the beach. The room was lovely, with a very nice bathroom and balcony. We would definitely stay at La Perouse again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doxiemomNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,350)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

591 - 597 of 1,350 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

A lovely hotel in a brilliant location at the tip of the Promenade des Anglais and a few minutes from the old town and flower market. We had a superior sea view room on the 4th floor. The room was small but immaculate and the bathroom and terrace more than made up for the size.

The 'slow' free wifi available in the rooms is perfectly adequate compared to the hideously expensive 'fast wifi' costing €5 per 15 minutes!

The hotel is slightly quirky. Reception leads to a lift to the first floor (restaurant, pool etc), then another lift at the back takes you to the room floors. Not unsurprising, as the hotel is pretty much built into a cliff but a great use of space especially the pool area which has been built at the base of the cliff and that leads down to the beautiful terrace restaurant - Le Patio. The food there's delicious and highly recommended.

Having stayed previously at the 5 star Palais de la Mediteranean, we would now not stay anywhere else than La Perouse on our visits to Nice.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have balconies but sea views and overlook/are overlooked by the terrace restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PlummerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Great location, nice size, very clean rooms with balconies. Great and helpful staff. Has a really nice restaurant with great breakfast. Walking distance to everything, including bus and metro stops. Next to all the great restaurants and shops. Cross the street is the Ocean and you can request ocean view rooms. Best place to relax and enjoy your vacation. Only 1 hour and 20 minutes away from Montecarlo on a bus, with bus fare of 1.50 Euro.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for ocean view and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ld5432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have just returned from a five night stay in hotel la perouse. We arrived before the room was ready which was not a problem as our luggage was taken and stored for us whilst we went off to explore. I was a bit worried about what our room would be like after some of the reviews I had read.....I was so relieved to find the room (109) to be extremely contemporary chic and the bathroom was awesome. The balcony was tiny though but at least there was one!!!! The air con is loud and room 109 is above the patio restaurant so was pretty noisy at times......earplugs might be a good idea. For the price people pay to stay here I think breakfast should be included or at least a lot cheaper...we did not actually spend a penny in the hotel because we like to get value for money. It was much cheaper to eat out and as we were so close to the old town we were spoilt for choice. People would spend more money in the hotel if prices were better and the hotel would probably make more money in the long run. We never actually went to the pool as we preferred to sunbathe on the roof terrace and sit in the jacuzzi up there. The staff in the hotel were very professional but not overwhelming or intimidating as they can be in some other expensive hotels. I loved this hotel for its quirkiness but my husband missed having breakfast in the hotel and found some aspects of the quirky layout annoying.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hperouse2010, Director of Sales at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Julie,
Thank you for choosing the Hotel la Perouse for your stay in Nice and we are delighted to know that you have appreciated the charm of the property and the professionalism of our staff. Your comments are valuable to us and we will definitely consider them for future improvement.
We truly hope having the pleasure of welcoming you again in Nice, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. During the winter months we have interesting deals on the official website and you can easily enjoy the magnificent views over the Mediterranean from one of our Sea View rooms.
We are looking forward hearing from you soon.
Kind regards,
Irina Iovan
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We thought the service was good, the room was clean, bathroom was very good and the bedroom was very average for the price. It was very expensive! Our bedroom was quite but really small, dark and desperately needed to be refurbished. The rooms with a view were certainly brighter and nicer furnishings. We had our evening dinner twice at the restaurant and it was excellent. We thought that the breakfast was too pricey for what it was.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Virginia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hperouse2010, Director of Sales at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Virginia,
We are delighted to hear you enjoyed having dinner in the Restaurant le Patio and our fresh Mediterranean cuisine. We are however disappointed to know that the room you booked did not fulfill your expectations. To enjoy a spectacular sea view over the Mediterranean it is worthwhile booking a Superior room. Our Classic rooms can be very as well pleasant and comfortable and however they will be enhanced this winter with some new renovation works scheduled.
We hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in Nice, please let us know when you would like to book your stay. We would be delighted to make you discover other room types and aspects of the charming Hotel la Perouse.
Kind regards,
Irina Iovan
Director of Sales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

The room we booked was supposed to have balcony with garden view. Expedia description read as follows "Measuring 194 square feet (18 square meters), this room opens to a balcony with garden views." When we got to the hotel after overnight flight from NYC we were given a room that has no balcony, the window opened to a roof and the room was close to an elevator so everybody (60 other rooms) entering and leaving the hotel had to pass by this room. I told hotel right away that room does not match the description and they said it is a "Classic" room and this is the only Classic room they have available. They also showed us a tiny room that opened to some kind of terrace, but I would say it hardly had 100 sq feet together with the bathroom, so we had to stay in the room we got originally. This is all after we prepaid our vacation almost 2 month in advance. Our experience was more like a 2 star hotel in a good location. At 5am people started dragging their luggage by our room. At 6am you hear dishes clanging because room was near the restaurant of this hotel or on top of some service area of it. At 7am everybody that leaves the hotel passes by your room. Parking is 25 euros and you have to wait 20 minutes to get your car because it is parked 10 minutes away to walk. To top all this I found cockroach in the drawer when packing (or something that looked like NYC office building cockroach). To sum up - unsatisfactory.

Room Tip: Don't even consider "classic" rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for one evening before moving to another hotel on the promenade.
Paid over 350 GBP (+ breakfast) for a room - which was great with a lovely terrace and an awesome view.
However, the service was a let down
- we arrived at 9:45 pm at the hotel and there was no one to help us with our bags from the pavement to the front desk. My wife and I were traveling with our 2 year old daughter and I had to take turns to lug the bags one at a time to the reception area with some help from a guest who offered to help on her way in !

- we had requested for a crib to be set up in the room- which was done. However, at around 11 we noticed that there were no sheets or pillow in the crib. Upon checking with the front desk, we were told that nothing could be done as it was late and the person managing the front desk was alone. That's not acceptable ! Having no choice, we used pillow covers to substitute for sheets on the baby cot.

- On the way out again, the bellhop did help us with the luggage until the front desk. We left the luggage there for a bit and took a quick tour of the hotel rooftop before exiting. However, on our way out - there was no one to help us with the bags and/or the push chair down the small set of stairs to the pavement. The gentleman at the front desk could clearly see that help would be welcome - but did not call for anyone

It's a great property overall but the service leaves a lot to be desired especially for the price one pays.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teddy374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Suisse
#9 of 203 in Nice
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perouse

Address: 11 quai Rauba-Capeu, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#7 Family Hotel in Nice
#12 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $136 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Perouse 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hidden trasure of Nice, facing the Mediterranean Sea in a peaceful atmosphere, even if we are in the very center of the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel La Perouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perouse Nice
Resort La Perouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing