We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location , charming hotel, shame about the workmen”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel La Perouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel La Perouse
Ranked #4 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Ideal location , charming hotel, shame about the workmen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

My dilemma - Do I mark according to the hotel this was for our first 2 nights, and probably usually is, or do I mark down because of the very obtrusive refurbishment that was still under way and went into full swing on our 2nd morning? I'll compromise; this might have been pushing a five star a bit further into the season, but was no more than a 3 as we sat at breakfast listening to the sound of drilling, having picked our way down the stairs past a variety of toolboxes, the lift being entirely occupied by builders.

We did come, to be fair, on the very first day this was open for the season; naturally you expect a few teething problems & of course I wasn't planning to use the pool. However I would usually expect to be told if I was staying in a hotel that was in the middle of reburbishment. It looks like they had just finished our floor; we had a beautiful room, with a stunning sea view and a large comfortable bathroom. The Old Town location seemed to us to be a great improvement on the vast majority of hotels, which are in the New Town. La Perouse is minutes from the flower market and the many restaurants and interesting little shops that surround it. Staff were polite and friendly; the layout of the hotel is quirky and full of history. I was also thrilled to realise that it's in virtually the same location that Katy Carr stays in in What Katy Did Next (presumably the next-door Hotel Suisse is the actual descendant of her Pension Suisse, but the layout and age of the La Perouse buildings make it much closer).

If I return to Nice, I would definitely consider staying at La Perouse again. But hopefully they'll tell me in advance if they've got the builders in.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MirandaMEJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    347
    94
    36
    26
See reviews for
176
729
39
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

We stayed in La Perouse in October 2012.
As our daughter was with us we booked a small suite with an extra bed.
The room was fine but there was no view other than the dining courtyard.(see Pics)
The hotel doesnt have much in the way of communal space except for a small lower level bar/dining area.
The drinksare expensive in the hotel.
There are no views of Nice from any of the public areas of the hotel which is a shame.
The staff were friendly and it is well located at the top of Rue des Angles.
A good tip to get aroung is the local bus service.
We walked around to the old harbour to get the 101 route which takes you to Villefranche for 1 euro each, great value but I can imagine its packed in the summer as we had to wait a couple of times as the bus was full.
There's also a bus that takes you to Eze which is a beautiful medieval town around 20 minutes from Nice.
There's also a great bar in the old town called Distilleries Ideales which is reasonably prices and has real ale which is great.
A nice restaurant in the old town is Chez Juliette which is cozy yet oppulent and the foodd was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cgg5072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Our fourth stay in this hotel (fifth in Nice itself); this hotel remains one of the best and good value for money. Located on the at the end of the Promenade des Anglaises around the corner from the old port, all interesting parts of Nice are within good walking distance and the views from our room/balcony were unbeatable. Great room, well appointed, spotless and with everything you could wish for. Great service, breakfast in pleasant roomy dining area next to beautiful patio. Also wonderful 5th floor views from patio. We will return

Room Tip: We had 403 but others have been equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillWYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I and our two teenage sons stayed here for 3 nights right after Christmas. The location was perfect, right at the end of the Promenade des Anglais/Quai des Etats Unis. We did not book a room with a sea view, but even from our "Garden View" room we had a decent view of the sea. The rooms were a good size for a European hotel and the bathrooms were very nice, decorated all in tile. I think they may have been recently renovated, as there was some work going on in some of the rooms while we were there. The hotel is a bit like a maze so it can be a little confusing the first couple of times you try to get to your room, but the staff is very helpful and all speak wonderful English. The breakfast is quite good, though you will want to get there before 10:00 as they did not really continue replacing items after that. The beds were fabulous with very firm mattresses. All in all, a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, spring for a sea view room, I wish I had!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CathyP488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

one tip for anyone who rent a car and stay there. The hotel will provide service of valet parking. Park your car in front of the hotel and get into the hotel to get this service. And stay at the room with balcony, you will enjoy the best view and feeling. don't even forget to go to the highest floor to take the best view of Angel beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Supoj R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Wow, wow, wow. Just returned from three nights stay at this hotel in Nice.
If anyone is considering a trip to Nice - book this hotel now.

The hotel is located at the far end of the Promenade from the airport, above Hotel Suisse and on a cliff face. Two lifts need to be taken to reach the Superior Sea view rooms. The rooms are spotless, typical French decor, but its the balcony overloooking the whole bay that is magnificent. After a day's sightseeing, to sit here and relax with a glass of wine is fantastic!!
In our room upon arrival, the Manager had left a welcome note and box of nougats, which was a lovely start to our stay. The bathroom is perfect too - toiletries, bathrobe and slippers provided and spotless.
The rooftop jacuzzi has a wonderful location, almost set in a green oasis and to pop on a bathrobe, slippers, have a jacuzzi, and return to that balcony is heavenly!!
Had room service breakfast twice - such a treat and delicious. Ordered basket of breads - croissants, toast, pain au chocolate, assorted jams, honey and two coffees. (Note - We were charged only for this and not the expensive price of two continental breakfasts)

The location of the hotel - turn right exiting the hotel and you are literally beside Cours Selaya where there are numerous bars/restaurants & Old Nice. Turn left, around the corner and you are at Nice port and the bus stops to Monaco, which costs 1 euro!

I could not recommend this hotel highly enough. I would suggest it as the most perfect located hotel in Nice, stay here and you will have had the French Riviera experience!!!!

Room Tip: Superior Sea View worth every penny - Room 303
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AllyMcP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel La Perouse for 3 days this November. We thought the room was perfect and we were very happy with the size of the room, bathroom, and patio... although we were just coming from a hotel in Paris, so that might have been why we felt like that! Loved this hotel, and if we ever make it back to Nice, we know where we will stay!

Room Tip: No tips to offer - we were given an upgrade (garden view on top floor) without asking. It was perfec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arianaekimball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hperouse2010, Director of Sales at Hotel La Perouse, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear Ariana,
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the assets of the Hotel la Perouse and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward welcoming you back for your next stay in Nice!
Irina Iovan
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Negresco
#15 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,188 reviews
Hotel Suisse
#7 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Perouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Perouse

Property: Hotel La Perouse
Address: 11 quai Rauba-Capeu, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#7 Family Hotel in Nice
#12 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Perouse 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel La Perouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perouse Nice
Resort La Perouse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing