We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service”

Le Comptoir du Marche
Ranked #27 of 1,924 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We happened to find Le Comptoir du Marche after finding out that we could not get into Bistro d'Antoine which had been highly recommended by friends. We were totally unaware that the two were connected.
It was certainly the best meal we experienced in our week in Nice - the staff were friendly and efficient and the food was beautifully cooked and presented. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJD091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    244
    53
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice but not quite as good as Bistrot Antoine”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Another great option in Nice for a good night out. Great service. Nice atmosphere. But think cooking at bistrot Antoine has the edge

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank loulou410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A rare intelligence”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We visited this when it first opened because Big brother Bistro D'Antoine was full and we had always made a beeline there. Now our beeline is for the Comptoir du Marché because we find a little more elbow room and the same incredible intelligence of organisation and service and how every little aspect has been thought out and perfected. The regular staff are young, very bright and knowledgable and treat us with the deference and consideration and warmth that is so natural and relaxed that only people of a certain professional standard and intelligence can master when dealing with variable humanity.
We always leave , admiration in tact, after beautifully presented and delicious fresh dishes each one a delight and not expensive. Our favourite in Nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A rare intelligence”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We visited this when it first opened because Big brother Bistro D'Antoine was full and we had always made a beeline there. Now our beeline is for the Comptoir du Marché because we find a little more elbow room and the same incredible intelligence of organisation and service and how every little aspect has been thought out and perfected. The regular staff are young, very bright and knowledgable and treat us with the deference and consideration and warmth that is so natural and relaxed that only people of a certain professional standard and intelligence can master when dealing with variable humanity.
We always leave , admiration in tact, after beautifully presented and delicious fresh dishes each one a delight and not expensive. Our favourite in Nice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank j0ve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food well presented”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We ate here for lunch on our final day in Nice and it was a lovely way to end our holiday. The food was excellent, some interesting choices for the adventurous but also familiar dishes for those less willing to experiment with something new. Good service and good value, would not hesitate recommending this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nanawink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Comptoir du Marche also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Comptoir du Marche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing