We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class service”
Review of Hotel Villa Rivoli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Ranked #11 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Thank you Villa Rivoli for a memorable short stay, and to British Airways for recommending this well-positioned and inexpensive boutique hotel. The room was clean, everything worked well. Katja was most welcoming and efficient in forwarding an item of left luggage back to me. No
hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Peter, Perth, Australia

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionVilla, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Peter,
many thanks for your very postitif review for the Hotel Villa Rivoli..
I will not forget to pass your compliments on to the team, especially to Katja, my assistant. They work hard every day to receive this kind of praise and I am sure they will be as touched as I was.
Our warmest regards of Nice
Barbara Kimmig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (846)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 846 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

We can not say enough about the staff and how they

The hotel in general lacked cleanliness and the accommodations had problems - including: non working lights 2 days to get a working light in the bathroom), noise from flushing toilets, fluctuating water temperatures - ranging from extremely hot to very cold, cramped spaces, bad soundproofing, and loose trim lying on the floor. Apologies were made but it was still an inconvenience.

When checking out at 8 a.m.Sunday, there was no one at the reception desk to handle our departure. The breakfast wait staff girl tried very hard to help us but spoke only French. With the aid of a phone language translator, 2 taxi drivers, and others, we were able to get some understanding of how to pay our bill.

We left feeling frustrated & insecure about the entire process.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionVilla, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Dear Jack S,
We read very carefully your advice and we would like to thank you for your very positive remarques concerning our team. They all of them are trying to make the stay of every single guest the most enjoyable and they are working hard. So it's really motivating for all of them to get a very positive feed back.
Concerning the technical problem and the problem during the check- out, I would like to apologize and I really feel very sorry about this.
Concerning the technical problem of the bathroom of 109, I am glad to let you know, that since last week we are renovating completely this bathroom (entire new facilities, new marble...). The light problem was an electricity problem not only a question for changing the bulb. This is the reason why we couldn't help immediately. We did put quickly an addititional lamp in the bathroom the ceiling spots were working as well.
Concerning the early check-out, somehow we didn’t give the information clearly enough to you, that the check-out time is from 9.am on ( or the day before until 11p.m. ) My sincere apologies we will make sure that this was an exception. Please, contact me personally in case you will come again to the Côte d’Azur, in order to organize a nice stay at the Villa Rivoli. Yours, Babara Kimmig.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Darren H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed here in May 2013, but our late review is no reflection on how lovely this hotel is, just on our own procrastination! The hotel is charming and well situated close the the beach and restaurants. The owner is very friendly and speaks English, French, German and maybe other languages too! She and the staff were very helpful, offering to make reservations and help make our stay more enjoyable. We stayed in a "superior" room on the top floor, and also saw one on the 2nd floor (premiere etage). The 2nd floor room was a bit small, so I would suggest opting for a "superior" room for those of us Americans who are used to larger rooms than your average French hotel rooms! The room was sweet with a cute little "Juliet" balcony overlooking the garden and a spacious and newly renovated bathroom. Breakfast was tasty and pleasant sitting in the dining room or garden. A hint - call directly to reserve your room and you may be able to get possible discounts. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back again if we return to Nice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionVilla, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Mrs. Donna B.,
Thank you for your compliments. We specially appreciated the understanding of the size of the rooms, as the Hotel Villa Rivoli is a real Belle Époque building of 1890, we have to respect the architecture. Its absolutely correct that, for clients who are booking directly we can choose the " right room for the right client" and yes, we as well try to give special conditions for our clients who has been here already or are taking the time in contacting us directly. We would be very happy welcoming you again, as you know here in Nice it's always something going on : by the way, 3 weeks ago the " Promenade de Paillon" = the nicois central Park... is opened and it looks fantastic because of the new perspective in between the new and the old town. With very best regards of Nice... and thank you again, Barbara Kimmig.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We could not have been more pleased with our time at Hotel Villa Rivoli. It is a very lovely and
charming place, centrally located in a beautiful section of Nice. Katje was so accommodating and helpful. She made a dinner reservation for us at a wonderful, tiny restaurant that we would not have known about without watching the hotel's video.
We had a glorious time and would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: I loved our room, the walls were covered with a delightful gray toile patterned fabric.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueM13054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionVilla, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Sue M,
It was a real pleasure welcoming you and your husband for this very special occassion ! As every room is decorated differentl,; as we know the reason of the journey, we always try to adapt the room the every client. Thank you for your compliments and looking forward welcoming you again. Barbara Kimmig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hotel was in very good location. 3 minutes to the beach. Breakfast was a good variety and efficiently run. The have parasols and mats for sunbathing. This is a town house property with winding stairs, no lifts. They help you with your luggage but you still have to walk up and down so not great if you have mobility problems. Rooms are on the small side but maybe not unsure as it is a very central location. Receptionists speak good English. Do try Restaurant 11'eme Art, 11 Rue Meyerbeer. The set lunch menu is very good value. No shower cap in the room - you will need to bring your own.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anna26a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionVilla, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Dear Anna,

Thank you for your compliments. We are very happy that you had a nice stay at the Villa Rivoli and that your enjoyed Nice. I well noted your remarque of the shower cap. We do have as well rooms on the groundfloor, for guests who doesn't want to use the stairs. Looking forward welcoming you again, and please do note hesitate to book directley in order to make a personal attribution of the room. Very best regards to London. Barbara Kimmig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Barbara and staff were very hospitable. We enjoyed our breakfasts in the garden,it is in a good position close to the beach,restaurants and shops. We really had a most enjoyable experience. we stayed in june where the weather was excellent.our daughter and her family also stayed and similarly enjoyed the hospitality.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking gardens are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DirectionVilla, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Rivoli, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Dear Charles S,
many thanks for the very positiv review posted on Tripadvisor. Looking forward welcoming you again and please, contact me personally when you plan coming to Europe..Here in Nice it's always something new to see .Yours Barbara Kimmig.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel de la Fontaine
#6 of 204 in Nice
469 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rivoli

Address: 10 rue de Rivoli, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Nice
#22 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $58 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rivoli 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Rivoli, located in a former unique Belle Epoque (1890) private house, is in the heart of the historical town center of Nice. It is 100 meters away from the beaches and the famous Promenade des Anglais with the Museum Massena. Only 3 min. Walk away from the pedestrian shopping area and its numerous trendy bars and restaurants. The square Massena, leading to the old town of Nice with its flower market, quaint lanes and the opera is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Villa Rivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing