We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful French Hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Rivoli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Ranked #13 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 2, 2012

A true French hotel charming and cute,
The rooms are a bit on the small side bute very cute.
The stairs up to the rooms should be considered, there are 44 to the second floor.
Very clean and good bathroom.
In a good part of town

Room Tip: If you have big suitcases get a room on the first floor ,not as many stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (853)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 853 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2012

my wife and i stayed here in march 2012,booked following reviews on TA,a hidden gem in nice,excellent location,just a few minutes walk from the promenade and old town.our room was a little on the small size but apart from that it was perfect.staff were very friendly and helpful.we throughly enjoyed our stay at hotel villa rivoli.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martinpsmithable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

We were recommended to Hotel Villa Rivoli by Nice Garden Hotel when their 9 rooms were full. What a find Villa Rivoli is! We took 4 rooms, and all were clean, upscale, and well appointed. The best part, even over the great location a couple of blocks from the beach, were the caring, friendly employees. To a person they seemed like family. They gladly keep our luggage under lock & key after we checked out, so we could tour until our flight time. The full breakfast was well worth the 12 Euros. Excellent experience!

Room Tip: All our rooms were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carson3238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in March following good reviews on TA, definitely not disappointed. The room was on the 2 floor but the hotel has no elevator, the reception lady offered to carry the bag but it was almost as big as her! We had a double room with ensuite and a balcony; though the room was small the decor was beautiful and was a perfect little spot to base ourselves in Nice. Reception staff were very helpful and the lady who owns the hotel offered us both coffee before we checked out early for a train.

The hotel has 2 supermarkets very close by and a Boulangerie 1 block away. I'd also recommend the Ma Yukka restaurant around the corner and Voyager Nissart a little further away (still walking distance). Those two restaurants were absolute highlights of the trip for spectacular food at a very reasonable price.

The beach/promenade des anglais is 2 blocks away and a beautiful walk towards the old town.

Best bits: location, friendly staff, balcony
Worst bits: they were doing construction to the road when we stayed on 1 of the 3 nights (weekday) which started early in the morning. That's obviously a temporary thing and was just unlucky timing. It wasn't really a problem though.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MukMukOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Booked through expedia and paid only $73/night for a pretty and charming room with a chandelier, balcony that opens to the garden, and a spacious, clean and big bathroom. The location is close to the beach about 3 minutes walk, we walked from the train station to the hotel (to and from) about 11 minutes on a straight road Rue Rivoli which becomes Rue Berlioz until Ave Thiers where the train station is located.Place Massena is about 15 minutes walk and the streets of Old town are 5 minutes away from Massena. Couple of Boulangerie's located within walking distance - one on Rue Berlioz(turn right from the hotel and go straight for bakery on your left)and another one right from the hotel and first left until bakery J.Multari on your right. We didn't pay the 12euros for breakfast instead had good treats from Multari and more(O.juice,madeleine's, chocolates, chips etc.) from supermarket Marche Casino right across from Multari. Got bread, cheese and fruits from Cours Saleya, climbed up the Chateau hill for a nice picnic with a view :)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FussZy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for only one night and although the room was very small it was clean and the front desk staff were extremely helpful. Fortunately they allowed us to store our luggage after check-out for a few hours until our departure.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanadianVacationer09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We booked this as a good deal three months ago- and got upgraded on arrival. It is definitely value for money, though parts are in need of refurbishment. Nicely located for the Airport bus ( both there and back) - ask for Rivoli (or Negresco- everyone knows that). The cost is 4 euros each way rather than the 30 euros by taxi.
Staff extremely friendly- but would suggest booking the best room available. Even on the road side of the hotel it was not too noisey ( Room 15). Showers rather than baths are the norm. AC worked extremely well and quietly.
For bus transport from Nice to Grasse and from Nice to Monaco is a staggering 1 euro per person. must be the cheapest bus service in the world !
A drink at the Westminster Hotel's patio is also recommended in the sunshine, overlooking the Promenade des Angles.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Go for the best rooms- do not consider the basement ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oilmanDorset_U_K_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#11 of 203 in Nice
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Hotel de la Fontaine
#7 of 203 in Nice
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Rivoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Rivoli

Address: 10 rue de Rivoli, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Nice
#22 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $54 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Rivoli 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Rivoli, located in a former unique Belle Epoque (1890) private house, is in the heart of the historical town center of Nice. It is 100 meters away from the beaches and the famous Promenade des Anglais with the Museum Massena. Only 3 min. Walk away from the pedestrian shopping area and its numerous trendy bars and restaurants. The square Massena, leading to the old town of Nice with its flower market, quaint lanes and the opera is also close by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Rivoli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rivoli Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing