We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to the train station, neat and affordable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid
Ranked #84 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Yerevan, Armenia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Close to the train station, neat and affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

My wife and I enjoyed our stay at Best Western de Madrid Nice for an affordable price. The hotel is on 15 minute walking distance from the beach and it is veeery close to the Gare de Nice Ville (the train station), it's a good choice if you are going to visit nearby cities like Juan Les Pines, Antibes, Cannes, Monte-Carlo. The multilingual personell is very nice and willing to help with the room / to show directions. I missed my tablet in the room and they sent it via mail, which I am very grateful for. I will definately choose this hotel again when I'm in Nice again.

Room Tip: "Superior rooms" are overall nice, but if you're choosing a normal room, first check t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIDNICE, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Sergey B,

Thank you for this comments en our hotel,
We are delighted that you have enjoyed a memorable stay with us and that you were entirely satisfied of our services.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in Nice.
Best regards,

Reception service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    204
    113
    45
    30
See reviews for
56
224
64
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Vacationed in Nice for 9 days. Best Western Hotel de Madrid is my 3rd accomodation. I had traveled in France 6 times over the last 12 months and I often stayed at a Best Western. This is one of the worst Best Western hotels I had experienced.
Cons:
1. I reserved a standard double room but the room is still very small, even smaller than the hotels in Paris. There is very little room to walk from the bed to the work desk and you have to be careful not to bump your head into the TV, which is mounted on the wall.
2. Separate room for the shower and toilet. The room for the toilet is tiny. I cannot fit into it properly so I had to sit sideways with the door open. I am only 5'2" so this room is not appropriate for someone taller than me. Shower was also small but comparable to Paris hotels.
3. Maid services stops at 12 PM. If you don't leave your room before that time, she will not make your room.
4. The coffee/tea/cream supplies were not refilled each day.
Pros:
5. Close to the Nice Ville train station, only a 5 minute walk.
6. Close to a tram stop. The tram (1.6 EURO) is not necessary is you don't mind walking everywhere.
7. Lots of in-expensive restaurants near by and they open late.
8. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable.

For more space and pay a little more, try the Best Western Roosevelt.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tulip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIDNICE, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear customer,

Thank you for leaving your comments on your stay in our hotel. We regret that we could not manage to exceed your expectations.
Our hotel has different categories of standard and superior rooms with bathtubs and showers. The area of standard room is 10 to 15 m2 and the upper rooms of 18 to 30m2. The rooms are equipped with trays of courtesies and Coffee are available free of charge in all rooms.
Our reception service is open 24/24, 7 days on 7 for all the demands of our valued customers and we are always listening to them.
Our hotel is located in the heart of the city of Nice, 2 minutes walk from the station and Avenue Jean Medecin, tram and shops.

We remain at your disposal dear customer for all future requests.

Best regards
Reception service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

This hotel is a good choice in Nice if you plan to use the Nice "Airport Express Bus" (6 euros; 15 minute trip to Gare Nice Ville), and then use trains out of nearby Gare Nice Ville for easy day-trips to places like Cannes and Monaco. The hotel is a short 3-block walk when you exit the Airport Express Bus (with luggage), and then back to the Gare for trains/bus. Local trams only one block away. Hotel is clean and modern and the staff is friendly and helpful; the breakfast room is large and bright, with a great breakfast to start your day. Plenty of restaurants, including McDs, nearby. Neighborhood was safe and quiet at night (Police Station on next corner).

Room Tip: We asked for a "higher" room to minimize any street noise. Room 301 was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alpha26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIDNICE, Responsable réception at BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel.
We remain at your disposal for any future reservation request.

Best regards
Reception service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carrick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

we stayed one night at the Hotel de Madrid and were really pleased. It is very central for the main shopping areas, the train and tram. There are lots of restaurants in the area while the vieux ville old town area is 10mins. away on the tram. Our room 304 was spacious, clean and comfortable. We were not disturbed by noise from the street or other hotel guests. The self service breakfast was as good as other good hotels and was a pleasant surprise. There were tea and coffee making facilities, in the room, but its a shame to miss out on boulevard coffee breaks in France. Reception was helpful with maps and advice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I have just got back from a 5 night stay at this hotel with my boyfriend.
The location is brilliant, you can walk to the train station in a matter of minutes, there is a Casino Supermarket 10 minutes down the road & you can get to the Promenade De Anglais in about 15 minutes.
The room was fine, separate toilet to shower and sink - the toilet "room" was tiny, but this seemed to be a common theme in France, and how long do you really spend in there?! The shower was so good, always hot and excellent pressure.
Our room was 307, and could see up and down the streets from our window which was nice. Air con kept our room cool and we also used the safe in the room with ease. Cleaners were always about, we had new towels and our room cleaned regularly.
The young woman (seemed to do the morning shift) on reception was so helpful, finding out train times for us before we had our own timetable. The gentleman on reception (seemed to do the evening shift) was also lovely, such good customer service displayed from him.
The only slight negative I do have is with the breakfast; we were told on arrival that our breakfast was included by the lady with glasses on reception so we had it for the first 2 days. The food was fine, bread, ham, cheese, jam, cereal, fruit juice, hot drinks, eggs etc. but when we decided to double check breakfast was included (when we booked we didn't think it was), we were told by the young receptionist that it wasn't included... She told us to query it with the lady who told us but we never saw her again (think she did the afternoon-ish shift and we were always out) We asked the gentleman on reception about this at check out, and he was kind enough to knock 50% off for us - but it still cost us 34 Euros for 2 breakfasts as they whacked tax on too... If you don't have breakfast included, I wouldn't go for it; there is a brilliant place called Le Circuit (reviewed separately) 1 minute down the road which we much preferred.
Overall, apart from the breakfast confusion, this is a good hotel to stay at in Nice.

No need to get a taxi or even included transfers for this hotel - bus 99 from the airport takes you to the train station for 6 Euros each and runs every half hour from 08:00a.m. The hotel is 2 minutes away from the bus stop, easy, even with suitcases! The train station is called Nice Ville, and you can get to Monaco in 20 minutes and Cannes in 40.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

Location was excellent. Walking distance from the train station and main street. Great shopping and restaurants nearby and approx. 15mins walk to the waterfront.

Staff were very friendly and approachable.

Getting to the room was a little complicated - there seems to be a few "doors" to get through before getting to your room which was a little challenging with luggage.

The room was clean and sufficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
BEST WESTERN Alba Hotel
Centre
Best Western Hotel New York Nice
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#68 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
BEST WESTERN Hotel Roosevelt
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid
Address: 3, Rue De Belgique, 6000 Nice, France (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel de Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Madrid
Best Western Nice
Nice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing