We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, rude, not great area, ok value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel De Madrid
Ranked #85 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Small, rude, not great area, ok value”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The woman at the desk at check in was very, very rude. She was pregnent and I've never been treated with the sort of disrespect She greeted me with. The night time guy who worked the weekend was nice. Anyway, the room was small, the TV was small but that was ok, sort of the French standard that you need to expect. The bathroom shower was too small to even turn around in and I'm a thin guy. If you just need the bare minimum of a place to stay this will do. The neighborhood was not good. Taxi driver said not to walk around at night and not to have any jewelry showing or they will run by and snatch it. There was a McDonalds a few steps away where nightly crowds hung out. Could here them shouting at each other all night long. Did not feel safe there after dark.

Room Tip: I think the higher floors are slightly bigger. 3rd floor rooms had no bath, 4th floor rooms did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperYachtBroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    207
    114
    45
    30
See reviews for
57
225
64
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Easy to get to, just a 5 minute walk from the train station and airport bus stop. The rooms are on the small side and the bathrooms are tiny but the location is excellent. Quiet at night as it's not on a main street. The immediate vicinity is a little run down but as two female travellers we felt perfectly safe walking back to the hotel late at night. The shopping, eating and sight seeing areas are all within easy reach on foot. The tram stop is just two minutes away if you don't fancy exploring on foot. The hotel is not cheap but compared to the others in the area it offers good value for money in an expensive city. The staff are helpful. Our air con didn't work in our first room, and whilst they couldn't move us on the Saturday night we were moved on the Sunday and upgraded to a superior room free of charge (superior rooms are a reasonable size but the bathrooms are just as small). I would stay here again for the convenient location. Everything was spotlessly clean. I wouldn't bother paying extra for breakfast, it's just a limited continental selection, but if you get it thrown in for free it's perfectly edible and an easy option.

Room Tip: If you can afford the superior room go for it as the budget rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMc09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitesti, Arges, Romania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I went to the Best Western Hotel de Madrid. I like this hotel because is large breakfast is good and room was very nice.I was surprised because i think is a small hotel but wen i look to this I says :Is the best hotel ! Hotel de Madrid was good situatde.I wJwalking to promenaded angle and a travel with Tgv to Marsilia.You can walk arond Cote de Azur .

Hotel Best Western de Madrid recomanded all people!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrei C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Have been a Best Western Gold member for many years but this hotel is not up to the expected BW standard.On arriving late the night receptionist on duty came across as being very insolent although he had all the info required - the graveyard shift does things to people!!! having said that at E100 including a very poor breakfast it is not cheap; also the area around leaves much to be desired especially for women travellers.My double room proved to be very tight and as regards the shower cubicle forget it if u r big....on a positive note the girls on reception in the morning proved to be more customer friendly and didn't hesitate to keep my luggage on hold...a big thankx..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

I was really positively suprised after moving to BW Hotel de Madrid from B4 Nice Plaza (Boscolo Hotel Plaza) where I spent half of my stay in Nice. BW was far nicer even though it was 3 star comparing to 4 star Boscolo. Hotel is perfectly situated if you plan to travel around Cote de Azur with trains sice train station is 2 minuts walking. My room was small but furnished decently. Bed was comfortable and spacious. Bathroom was also small but ok. Room was clean and bedding clean and fragrant. Staff nice and friendly. We asked for arranging transport to the airport and cheap and decent transport has been arranged. Only one minus for poor variety of food for breakfast and ladies in the dining room starting cleaning during the meal time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Piotr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were coming and going by train for our Nice trip so this place was great as its less than 5 min from Gare de Nice Ville the main train station. The station is also a stop for the Nice Hop-On-Hop-Off bus as well, so bonus.
Rooms are your typical Best Western style, relatively contemporary, comfortable and clean and lets face it you don't want to be in your room all the time anyway. The Hotel breakfast was perfect for a free included breakfast and considering the room rate was cheap I have no complaints. Hotel staff were adequate.
Walking to places might be a bit of a hike, say 15 min to the beach but there is a tram 2 minute walk away / aka 1 block over on Avenue Jean Mèdecin that will take you straight down to the town square and then a 2 min walk to the beach. Plenty of restaurants and supermarkets around the neighbourhood as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a non smoking floor if its going to bother you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank APHW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were welcomed to the hotel & felt at home quickly - the staff recognised our attempt at French, but conversed with us in English. Check-in was quick and efficient.
We found our room to be very tiny - in fact it was almost impossible to open the door fully without knocking the bed. Storage was minimal, there was room to hang about 10 items in the wardrobe; the rest of our weeks clothing had to stay in our cases. The bathroom was also bijoux; having only room for a small shower & no bath. Comparing to the picture on the website - our room bore no resemblance. Having said that, everything was clean and new; the bed was comfortable and the air conditioning effective (but we had no control over it and the noise took some getting used to!).
Breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, cereal, pastries, toast, cheese and ham (freshly prepared eggs were offered every morning). The food was average. We felt that the one member of staff overseeing all duties was totally overstretched being expected to fulfil multiple roles; welcoming customers, restocking food, slicing the cheese and ham, clearing the tables, washing up the crockery and cutlery, preparing the eggs etc... etc... often when arriving for breakfast the supplies were understocked and there were no mugs, plates, cutlery or clean places to sit.
Overall, our stay was fairly comfortable. Nice is a wonderful city to visit and this hotel facilitated our visit but certainly did not augment it. For the price we would have expected a larger, more luxurious room, a more comfortable and complete breakfast.

Room Tip: Do not accept the "room 10" e.g.: 110, 210, 310 etc... for each floor as these seem to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Best Western Alba Hotel
Centre
Best Western New York
Best Western New York
#28 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#65 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Best Western Hotel Roosevelt
Thiers / Train Station
Ibis Styles Nice Centre Gare
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel De Madrid? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel De Madrid

Property: Best Western Plus Hotel De Madrid
Address: 3, Rue De Belgique, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel De Madrid 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel De Madrid reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western De Madrid
Best Western Nice
Nice Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing