We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay”
Review of Hotel Lepante

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lepante
Ranked #107 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed March 25, 2012

My friend and I were looking for a last minute hotel option in Nice and came across this hotel. Whilst it's not in the Old Town, it's well located, with a few minutes walking distance from the Promenade and the Train station. The owner is a nice, elderly man who was very helpful in giving us tips on what to do and see. Their breakfast is basic but filling. The room was clean and large with a large bath. Good value for money!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloudlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 177 reviews

Reviewed January 8, 2012

I booked this hotel because it was one of the cheapest option available for an hotel centrally located in Nice (around EUR45). Having traveled several times to Nice in the past, from my experiences I was not expecting too much from an hotel in that price range in Nice. But I took the risk, as it was only for one night.
And I must say that I have been positively surprised. The room was reasonably large (and according to the emergency map posted on the door, it was probably one of the smallest available), with enough space for my luggage. It was clean. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom was in very good condition and clean too. There is also a little balcony. Tramway is a 10 minutes walk away, same for the shopping area. The sea is also not far away.
One minus point, there is no elevator. This was not a problem for me, but be warned if you have bulky baggage.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank CH_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed here for one night in September. We had arrived in Nice off the ferry from Bastia, Corsica and were catching a flight back to the UK next day. We had booked a room at The Hotel Star in Rue Biscarra but there was a problem with our booking and they had moved us to The Hotel Lepante (2 mins walk away) and a twin room cost us 83 euros including continental brekkie.Front desk was helpful. Room was small but clean with decent aircon and provided everything we needed. Balcony opened out onto main road but it was v.French and we loved it. 15 mins walk down Rue Biscarra and Rue Jean Medecin to Old Town and Promenade Des Anglais and the seafront. Delightful. Had an exceptionally good dinner at L'Authentic restaurant on Rue Biscarra, less than 5 mins walk. Food was fantastic and the Lebanese maître d’ was great. Try it! Next Day they arranged an Airport Shuttle, expensive but a real treat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry_Morton_Stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights while in Nice. The room was small and outdated but sufficient and seemed clean. The staff was okay--some spoke limited English (or at least pretended that this was the case...). One nice perk: They leave open the room and patio that is used for breakfast, so you can sit out on the patio with a bottle of wine or snack from the nearby market.

The location is pretty good. About a 10-minute walk from both the train station and the ocean, but it's on a relatively quiet street so you don't have to worry about noise.

Nice is very expensive, and the Hotel Lepante is a decent choice for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoCalNative7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Stayed one night en route to holiday in Villefranche. We were looking for reasonable accommodation and booked a family room for 5. We had received a call from the hotel the morning of our departure confirming our stay. On arrival we were told the room we had booked was not available and we had been placed in 2 rooms-a 3 and a 2. After walking up 3 flights of stairs with our luggage we were very disappointed with one of the rooms in particular. The room for 3 was basic but fine-1 single bed and a double with air conditioning and small en suite shower room. The other room was a disgrace. It was a bathroom with a double bed in it. The smell of drains was unbearable and no air conditioning. The receptionist came up to the room and claimed he could not smell anything. He then said that our reservation had been cancelled as my credit card had been invalid so the rooms we had been given were without a reservation and we should be happy we had a room at all. This was clearly not the case as the hotel had rung to confirm the reservation that same morning. He also said they were fully booked so could not move us. I also questioned why they were taking payment from my card before we arrived at the hotel-after that we were eventually moved to another room which was again very small but without such an overpowering smell. The air conditioning unit leaked and water dripped constantly and noisily onto the carpet all night, soaking the carpet and producing another unpleasant smell. The room was so small and stuffy it was impossible to manage without using the air conditioning.
We wanted a basic hotel so did not expect The Ritz, but a bed in a bathroom is totally unacceptable.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hullJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

My wife and I spent three enjoyable nights at he Hotel Lepante and would definitely stay there if ever in Nice again.
Pros:

- well located 15 minute walk to central station, 10-15 to beach and approx 5 mins to main shopping area
- large supermarket a couple of doors away
- several small restaurants in immediate vicinity although we didn't try them electing to go to the main restaurant area just off the main street down towars the beach end
- nice clean quiet and spacious room with air conditioning and small work desk
- bed very comfortable although pillows were a little flat
- good bathroom and shower
- FREE WIFI in room
- Breakfast was available (extra cost) but we didn't try it so can't comment

Cons:

- No lift. We were on the 1st floor which wasn't a real problem but could be an issue if staying on a higher floor
- pillows were a little flat

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yotsmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Even though the neighbourhood isnt very impressive, Hotel Lepante positively surprised me. I loved the room, the bathroom was impeccably clean and it only took us 15 minutes of calm walking to reach Place Massena or the Old Town. The only negative thing I could write is that our double bed was in reality two single beds put together. Minor annoyance though, we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Lepante.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dalaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Riquier
Hotel des Dames
Hotel des Dames
#111 of 203 in Nice
85 reviews
Hotel des Flandres
#166 of 203 in Nice
164 reviews
Star Hotel
#78 of 203 in Nice
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Parisien
#94 of 203 in Nice
138 reviews
Centre
Hotel Le Seize
Hotel Le Seize
#108 of 203 in Nice
254 reviews
Centre
Hotel Antares
Hotel Antares
#92 of 203 in Nice
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lepante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lepante

Address: 6 rue de Lepante, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#19 Best Value Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $46 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Lepante 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lepante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lepante Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing