We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best meal of our honeymoon!”

Le Bistrot d'Antoine
Ranked #127 of 2,147 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed August 15, 2016

Bistro d'Antoine was highly recommended by our Airbnb hostess. Without making a reservation, we showed up when it was packed and (after first being turned away) were approached by a manager and made a place on the patio for us! It did seem a little rushed because there are only two seatings per night and we showed up a bit late, but we were SO HAPPY they fit us in. Our favorite was the beef carpaccio, but we pretty much licked every plate clean it was all so good. Not a restaurant to miss while in Nice, and our server and service was great!

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank meghanfab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviews (1,697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

281 - 285 of 1,697 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2016

Having read all the positive reviews, we passed by this place around 11 am and were told to return at 12:15 pm, which is when lunch service opens. So we did. At the doorway, we were stopped by who I can only assume was the manager, who asked if we had a reservation and promptly showed us out with one rude hand gesture. We tried to explain that we had been there an hour earlier and had been told to return at 12:15, and nobody had informed us that we needed to make a reservation. She just said something along the lines of "it's you who must ask" and went back inside.

Even if the food is as good as they say, that kind of "service" was enough to put us off this place (or any place for that matter) for the rest of our time in Nice.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Service
Thank Katya I
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 2, 2016 via mobile

My wife and 9 year old daughter visited Le Bistro d'Antoine with my Aunt and Uncle who are both Nice locals. The food was perfect, in particular the Boudin Noir was very good, it would be the stand out dish of my last month of eating in France. We couldn't get a table outside however we were seated upstairs by the window and I think it was actually a better spot for our group of 5.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank robinmarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 31, 2016

Everything was top notch. Our waiters were on the ball and courteous. The owner came over and introduced herself to us. The duck was succulent. I'd recommend it.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 27, 2016

We booked this restaurant as novices to Nice. The city (and especially the Old Town) is awash with restaurants and bistros. Having secured a table we arrived only to have two waiters ignore us as we stood waiting. Unfortunately these were the same two who would serve us.

The Pros:

The food was good.

The Cons:

Inexplicably rude and curt waiters, despite my partner's attempts to charm even a smile out of them.

The Rush - we were the first sitting (never a good sign) and the imperative to get us fed and out was evident. For me the enjoyment of a meal out is a mixture of the food and the ambience. The staff's indifference and evident desire to move the first sitting on destroyed the enjoyment of the food.

The Business Imperative: the mature lady who ran the bistro told a couple next to us that she owned 3 more restaurants; we felt that this was purely a money making exercise.

Top Tip - Have a wander around the old town and see where else is popular, there is a plethora of hidden gems off the main drag. This place just wanted to churn through the most people to make money.

Finally, the decor is at best average and completely in keeping with the other Bistros that we experienced. All were better then Antoine's.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank strayjagmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistrot d'Antoine also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Bistrot d'Antoine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.