We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bland and average”
Review of Hotel Busby

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Busby
Ranked #180 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Bland and average”
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

As noted before, the decor is totally out of date and tacky. There are hints of what could have been in the entrance, but once you climb to your room, you can start to see what I mean when I say tacky.

The room we had was a good size. It fit two people a d two large suitcases well. The mattress was pretty good, and the linen was fresh and changed daily, as were the towels.

Wifi is €5 for 24 hours per room, but the staff don't seem to know how to turn off the Internet after that period so we had unlimited wifi for our stay. One annoying thing was having to reconnect via a slash page every time you woke up your device.

The room we were in (112) was subjected to the most annoying noise ever. Every 30 seconds, it seemed liked someone was flushing the toilet next door. This went on for our entire 2 day stay, with no explanation of what it was from the staff.

As expected, there was no iron (seriously, how hard is it to buy an iron and an ironing board?) but the staff did not even know where I could find one, even though there was a laundry service two doors down from the hotel which offers ironing at €1.25 per piece.

Last note: do not drink the water from the basin taps in the bathroom. You only need to partially fill a glass with water to see how much sediment is in it - it is disgusting, but yet again, the staff were unable and unwilling to help.

Needless to say, we will not be visiting again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    42
    48
    25
    33
See reviews for
12
36
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed at this hotel whilst on our Trafalgar tour in June 2012. It was a very nice old hotel with all the characters features. Clean, tidy and very friendy people. only a couple of blocks away from the beach and shops. we stayed with 2 adults and 3 children in 2 rooms which were next to each other.

Room Tip: we had both our rooms on the first floor. no issues
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in January 2011. Hilarious hotel as reception shows signs of once beautiful grandeur, but the rooms tell a different tale. Really small rooms, no iron as is the norm in Europe, but there was something very charismatic about the place and I think I would stay there again! Great location, but no restaurants or cafes in the area and the staff speak little English. Something very je n'est c'est quoi about it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolaMaycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Castilla-La Mancha, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 19, 2012

And I have the pics to prove it, seriously a thin mattress laying on an old door with it's hinges removed. The place was filthy and when we asked them to clean the room they told us we could go sleep on the street. Then, in the middle of the night they turned off the electricity for our ENTIRE floor because they said we were using too much electricity. The place is a filthy dirty firetrap and the owner and employees are all rude as can be.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fourwaysunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nice hotels

Ellenwood
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2012

This hotel is very outdated and needs a total makeover. Spent 2 nights there in June of 2012. Unfriendly staff, room keys have to be turned into front desk whenever you leave premesis. At night the keys are left on desk counter, to be picked up upon return, no ID required. Was travelling with EF Tours. 2 guest were robbed in the elevator, the tour guides I-Phone was stolen in the lobby, all within minutes of arriving. The camera pointing toward the elevator was not working I hope EF Tours takes this hotel off of their list. STAY AT YOUR OWN RISK !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeuptownEllenw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Ma & Pa hotel with an excellent location for access to the beachfront of Nice, around 5 minutes walk from the water.
Room interior very dated and service fairly patchy; don't bother with the breakfast offering, take a short walk and find something tasty only a city block or 2 away.
Wifi strong, constant and only 5 euros for 24 hours - have never found cheaper in Nice!
Recommended for location alone. Certainly don't expect luxury, and find elsewhere if you're asked to pay luxury rates.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QF1A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

We were due to stay at another hotel nearby who "apparently" had an electrical issue with our rooms (2 couples...both rooms?) so we were asked to locate to the Hotel Busby for one night.
1st impressions are not good. Reception area is ok but hallways are very unwelcoming and dark and the rooms are very old fashioned. Reminiscent of the 1970s with odd coloured bathroom fittings and old fashioned duvet covers etc.
Having said this the room was clean, we had a balcony onto the street and it was clean. Also a good strong shower.
It is located well for the beach and there are lots of restaurants nearby and does serve as a base but needs some TLC.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clanranald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Helvetique
Hotel Helvetique
#74 of 204 in Nice
135 reviews
Centre
Hotel De France
Hotel De France
#148 of 204 in Nice
81 reviews
Centre
Hotel Acanthe
Hotel Acanthe
#156 of 204 in Nice
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel les Cigales
#48 of 204 in Nice
472 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Le Meurice
Le Meurice
#82 of 204 in Nice
98 reviews
Hotel Azur
#172 of 204 in Nice
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Busby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Busby

Property: Hotel Busby
Address: 38 rue Marechal Joffre, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #180 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Busby 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Busby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Busby Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing