We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tiny, but great location”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #7 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Hoboken
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very tiny, but great location”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Stayed here for one night while in Nice - despite a booking problem (my fault) the hotel was able to accommodate us. Unfortunately I booked the wrong date accidentally so the room I'd chosen (overlooking the water) was not available and the only available room was in the back so our "view" was out of a tiny window facing an alley. :( In any case the hotel is very cute and has an excellent location. Just above the hotel you can hike up to see some additional views, but even just outside the hotel is an amazing sight of the water and the town. Just a few minutes away gets you into the main area of Nice for restaurants, etc. The room was teeny tiny, but comfortable. If you have a lot of large luggage be careful because the elevator won't fit more than two suitcases or people. :)

Room Tip: Pay up for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susalina56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    470
    126
    31
    25
See reviews for
133
765
62
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Room is small but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very average. Staff are reasonably friendly. Position and view outstanding!
This hotel is in an amazing position close to the old town, lots of restaurants and easy walking to local buses for exploring the surrounding area. The view is amazing and in my opinion the best, not only an ocean view but also a view down the main boulevard. Yes the balcony is small but it is big enough to sit with a wine and take in this breathtaking view. I will definitely return to Nice and will definitely stay at Hotel Suisse.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Decent hotel, utterly blighted by smoking. Booked a privilege room, fourth floor, fantastic views, decent room and small balcony. First night slept with windows open, sea, balmy air etc. Second evening, heavy smokers chain smoking next door on balcony with all their smoke flowing into our room. Polite request to smoke elsewhere met with abuse. After titanic struggle with reception move room for next night agreed. Will have to sleep with windows closed until then. Such a pity as always smokers come first. Will never ever stay here again. Good luck, you may get lucky or you may not. If not smokers will prevail.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms with balconies unless you want to risk smokers next door. Hotel does not really care if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Stripedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Staying at this hotel for Easter weekend. I booked it as a Christmas present for my boyfriend so I was looking for something special. I pre-ordered Champagne for our arrival which was I our room on ice as promised. Room is clean and modern with an amazing view of Nice and the sea. The location is perfect for exploring the old town. An excellent hotel that I would definitely recommend.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikk19_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Lake Tahoe, California
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is situated on the point separating the harbor from the beach walk (Path of Anglais?), but getting out of your car to check in is death defying. There is almost a place to pull over, put on your hazard lights and throw your luggage out, while parked on a blind curve. The nearest parking was an 8 minute walk and our car was vandalised in the car park. Staff cordial, rooms minuscule, although I believe we had an entry level view room. Perhaps more expensive rooms are better, if available. We chose to move the next day, and retieveing luggage was just as difficult. I would stay again if I were in one suitcase, but we were not. Too difficult to manage luggage.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Runsailwrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Hotel Suisse to celebrate our anniversary and had a great stay. We paid for the Premier level room which was on the 5th floor and had a private balcony which provided a great view of the bay of Nice as the hotel is located at the end of the Promenade. The was a little on the small side but good enough for us as a couple for three nights. The hotel is clean and good value and service was very good. The hotel also provides free wifi for as many devices as you need and if you book directly with them, they provide you with a free drink voucher (which we used to have a nice glass of champagne).

The only problem we had was that the pillows provided were a little lacking in structure so it made it a little more difficult to sleep than normal.

Room Tip: Pick the Premier rooms as they are on the upper levels and have a view of the bay of Nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicholas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We are just back from a three night stay at the hotel Suisse. We stayed on the 4th floor, room 45 and our friends stayed in room 12 on the first.
Firstly view. As mentioned by everyone reviewing on Trip Advisor the view probably the best you could get in Nice. Our room on the fourth floor had an amazing view. We had a lovely long balcony but quite narrow, not great if you suffer from vertigo or a fear of heights. Our friends who were on the first floor had a much wider balcony and even though there view obviously was not as good as expansive as ours, you could see over the tops of the palm trees so they had a really pleasing view as well.
Location - This is our third trip to Nice and this location is hard to beat. A stones throw from the old town, buses and the port. We definitely preferred this end of town.
The lift is tiny but was not an issue, we walked up and down the stairs and used the lift when we needed to.
We were luck to have had breakfast included in our booking deal. No complaints there, everything fine but if you were paying additionally it would not be good value for money. The tending staff (Connie I think her name was) was extremely friendly and nice. Staff in general were very polite and obliging.
Bedroom. Very nice. Beds comfortable and as stated early cold see the view from them. Coffee machine in our room, nice touch. Showers were good, plently of hot water and bathroom spacious enough. Closet was small but we did not find it a problem. Not enough hangers but this seems to be the case with most hotels we have stayed at.
All in all I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Higher for view. Room 12 on first floor for wider balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonUna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Negresco
#17 of 204 in Nice
2,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Property: Hotel Suisse
Address: 15 quai Rauba Capeu | Promenade des Anglais, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#28 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Suisse 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Suisse is ideally situated between sea and sky. Constructed along Italian-style architectural lines, it enjoys a unique location. For a stay in Nice on the French Riviera, enjoy the comfort of the various rooms and their stunning panorama. With their clean, stylish lines, the suite and the rooms ensure comfort and well-being and offer a breathtaking view of the Baie des Anges. First thing in the morning, enjoy a full buffet breakfast in our lounge. In some rooms you will be able to enjoy it on the terrace. Then, you'll be able to head out to the beach, which is only a few metres' walk away (preferential conditions on the private beach of our partner). Just minutes from the city centre, the hotel allows you to easily explore the charms of the historic centre of Nice or the port. Upon your return, share a moment of conviviality in the bar as you sip the cocktail of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Fastbooking, ACCOR, Booking.com, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suisse Hotel Nice
Hotel Suisse Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing