We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel in Nice”
Review of Hotel Suisse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Suisse
Ranked #8 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2013

i have stayed there for my honeymoon, its very romantic and the employees are friendly and treating us very good.
from the bed i can see the beach and the promenade des anglais
the hotel is near the parking, we have rented a car and it was convienient for us.
we took the boat to st tropez and the location of the hotel helped us a lot

Room Tip: Seaview for sure with small balcony
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zeina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,228)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Suisse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

612 - 618 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

I stayed at this hotel over christmas 2012 with my mum in a twin room, which was pretty standard as it goes and not what I would expect from a 4-star hotel. The room was very clean and the lift was average by french standards, but the reception staff did kindly give us a room on the highest floor as requested. The colours and the decor inside the room were soft and soothing which we both liked very much. And the view from the balcony? Breathtaking. We had wanted a sea view so looked at other hotels like the meridien and the negresco but settled on the suisse after seeing photos from their balconies. It is undoubtedly the best hotel view in the whole of Nice and looks out onto the old town with the promenade stretching off towards the airport. The only down side is that it's a good 10-15 minute walk to get to the centre of town and Jean Medecin, while the train station is at least 25 minutes away on foot. But Cours Saleya is a mere 5 minutes and offers lots of quality restaurants and a flower market open every day except mondays.

The one down side was the incredibly over-priced breakfast buffet. If you could even call it that. We paid €17 per person one morning for 2 slices of salami and 2 burnt pain au chocolats, while the woman who ran the breakfast ran around like a chicken with no head on trying to sort us out with coffees and not knowing whether she was coming or going. Baring in mind we were the only clients eating at this time. The eggs and sausages had already finished when we got downstairs at 9am. Better save your money, and your time (because you'll definitely be waiting a while!) and just have breakfast somewhere else. I recommend the Scotch Tea House on Avenue de Verdun or Liber'tea in Place Magenta. Both great alternatives!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the top floor for the best view of Nice
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank e_s_m91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Pros:
-There is no doubt this place has the best view of all hotels in Nice. It is located at the end of Promenade Des Anglais so you can see the whole Promenade from your room, a picture perfect postcard view.
-But because it's located at the end of Promenade Des Anglais, it's also not located at the centre of town. However, the location is OK as located five minutes walk to the Old Quarter.
-Newly renovated rooms
-Beach front location
-Free WIFI internet
-Very clean inside
-Friendly staff

Cons
-It's not located at the centre of town. It's 15 minutes walk to the tram and public transport. It's 20 minutes walk to the airport bus. This is a minus because taxi to airport costs 35 euros, whereas airport bus is 4 euros (or free if you have the 4 euro day pass for the day of departure)
-It's also difficult to get there from the train station. It's not closed to public transport. A 5 minute taxi ride costed me 25 euros.
-Small independent hotel with no pool or facility
-Luggage room is self service so I am not sure how secure it is.
-There is only 1 staff at the front desk (being a small hotel) so no one to help with luggage etc.
-It's located near the "restaurant street" with many 20+ dining options, but I found some of them of low quality "tourist traps"
-It is located on a very busy road, although it wasn't noisy when the windows are closed.

There is no doubt the view is the highlight, so I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sea2skyaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

I booked this after reading reviews on trip advisor, and it's a gem... Not quite as I might have imagined, more boutique than traditional 4 star, but the staff were excellent, and extremely helpful, the room though small had everything you needed. And what a view!

The only real complaint being the walls are pretty thin, and you can hear all the goings on in the rooms around you. The other guests certainly wasn't very noisy, but you could here every word of a wake up call next door.

Perfectly placed to explore the old town, I'd recommend this to others, though with caution if you're a super light sleeper...

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tezza80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel enjoys stunning sea view. Just ask for privilege room, and you will see probably the most stunning view ever. The hotel is located on the verge of English bay, and this makes it a unique position to see the panaramic view from the side.

Besides, comfy bed and spacious bathroom.

On the downside, the furnature looks light and cheap. Not 5-star.

Overall, the view is the reason that you should stay here.

Room Tip: Choose the privilege room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Had a lovely stay here, nice decor, comfy beds.

Ocean view room, ordered champagne on arrival and it was bliss! Great location and friendly staff!

Good value, looking forward to coming back in the summer!

Room Tip: Ocean view are a must
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LouFlower80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were very pleased with our one night stay here. It was at the end of a week long tour of the Cote D'Azur. The hotel location at the end of the Promenade Des Anglais made it very convenient for exploring the Old City, the Cours Saleya and the Christmas Village, and the sunset view from our 4th floor room was amazing. The room was comfortable and the hotel staff were very helpful.
The hotel's elevator was very small so we had to make two trips with our luggage, and the walls seemed to be very thin as we could hear the people next door clearly, but that's why we travel with a sound machine to drown out noise. We didn't get the chance to try the restaurant.
We got great value for the money since it was off season and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank The_Mystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Negresco
#18 of 204 in Nice
2,379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suisse

Address: 15 quai Rauba Capeu | Promenade des Anglais, 06300 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#28 Family Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $159 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Suisse 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Suisse is ideally situated between sea and sky. Constructed along Italian-style architectural lines, it enjoys a unique location. For a stay in Nice on the French Riviera, enjoy the comfort of the various rooms and their stunning panorama. With their clean, stylish lines, the suite and the rooms ensure comfort and well-being and offer a breathtaking view of the Baie des Anges. First thing in the morning, enjoy a full buffet breakfast in our lounge. In some rooms you will be able to enjoy it on the terrace. Then, you'll be able to head out to the beach, which is only a few metres' walk away (preferential conditions on the private beach of our partner). Just minutes from the city centre, the hotel allows you to easily explore the charms of the historic centre of Nice or the port. Upon your return, share a moment of conviviality in the bar as you sip the cocktail of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Suisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suisse Hotel Nice
Hotel Suisse Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing