We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need an Airport Hotel? This Met Our Needs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Nice Arenas Aeroport
Ranked #91 of 204 Hotels in Nice
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and I were facing a 6:25 a.m. flight from Nice to Frankfurt as a first flight leg to return home after our week in Provence and Nice, and per our routine, we thought it practical to stay at an airport hotel the night prior to the flight. As always, the TripAdvisor reviews were extraordinarily helpful in guiding our decision as to where to stay. We noted no "home run" options, but it seemed that the Novotel Arenas had the edge in ratings, so we booked there.

The airport bus #98 trip from downtown Nice (four Euros, driver makes change) took quite awhile as we were travelling at 5 pm, and rush hours are universal. We were not altogether certain as to how to coordinate the bus to hotel connection, but as this is not a local bus and does NOT stop in front of the hotel, got off at the first airport terminal, number 2, which in fact is quite a bit farther from the hotel than is terminal 1. Inside the terminal is a nice information desk from where we dialed "star" and a four digit number, and a friendly voice at the hotel indicated that the Navette would be arriving in front of the A1 entrance within five minutes. It ends up that another couple had already called for their own pickup, thus the virtually immediate service for us!

On arrival, we were promptly and cheerfully checked-in in the spacious lobby, and settled into room 604. The hallway did have a very slight someone odd fragrance, but not repulsive. Our room was cool, nicely sized, with a comfortable king size bed. The bathroom also has a reasonable amount of room, shower with good power and temperature control. That interesting French pattern of housing the toilet in a room separate from the bathroom itself prevailed here too. There were nice body gel, soaps. The plastic cups provided seemed strangely brittle, we cracked two of the four merely by trying to remove their plastic coverings! The room was absolutely quiet, you would never know there was an airport right outside.

The restaurant opens for dinner at 7 pm, and we did not want to be typical Americans who arrive the minute a restaurant starts serving, so we got there around 7:45, finding quite a number of tables already occupied. We were warmly greeted and promptly seated with menu provided, but it did take about fifteen to twenty minutes for our order to be taken. We only wished a light meal, and figured a club sandwich would work, but they said they were all out of them! This does seem to be a theme mentioned in prior reviews. We then opted for two beers, promptly provided, and ground beef with fries and salad, which were delivered to the table shortly thereafter. The meal met our needs.

We then used the computers in the lobby to check-in and print out boarding passes...when one is tired, it takes some adjusting to deal with the slight variations the French keyboards have versus those in the States.

The button on the room phone for arranging wake up calls did not work, so we called the front desk and requested a 3:50 a.m. wake up call, which we received at 3:30 a.m. Guess in this circumstance, earlier is better than later. If you solicit USAirways' advice, they generically advise arriving at the airport three hours prior to international flights...but in Nice, the security does not even open until 5 a.m. We decided a reasonable compromise would be to take the 4:30 a.m. hotel bus, particularly noting prior reviewers having noted that since the shuttle bus only has six seats, and there is only one run each half hour, there could be a risk of being left behind...and that sure looked to us like a potentially very long walk from the hotel to terminal 1. So, although Lufthansa started check in shortly after our airport arrival, we did do a fair amount of standing around at security and the departure gate.

So, we really had nothing significant to complain about at the Novotel Arenas, and thus felt that although it is not a palace, it was closer to a five than a four!

And all readers should keep in mind the confusion that can arise from having two Novotel's close to each other, the Suites version is NOT the Arenas!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank petergoode2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

260 - 266 of 794 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at Novotel hotel from 9 to 12 september2012. The Orel is conveniently located just opposite the airport and walking distance to he beach. The centre of nice city is about 5 km by bus and is well connected by bus which stops just in front of the hotel (a big advantage ). The rooms are nice and spacious and get one overlooking the beach and promenade.the reception staff was courteous and helpful and we planned our day trips to Cannes and Monaco through them .
The negative side of the hotel is its restaurant....... We dined once there and the food was terrible,, had to leave it . There is no vegetarian food available and even for non veggies ther is just beef, pork etc. overall it's good value for money provided u don't eat there. The Carrefour departmental store is about 2 Kim's away and one can get brew, yogurts , Frits etc for Ur stay..

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the promenade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neeraj A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
An EasyToBook.com traveler
Nice
1
Reviewed September 28, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank An EasyToBook.com traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband, adult daughter and I atayed at this hotel because we had an early flight out, and due to location, there were really no dining choices that did not require a cab. So we ate at the hotel dining room. If you want to eat food worse than any airplane food, eat at the cafe in this hotel. Half the menu items were unavailable at the beginning of the dinner service, the raw vegetable appetizer consisted of limp, slimy cucumber slices, limp grated carrots, and canned beet chunks. The chicken breast was dry, the potatoes were from a box or mix, the green beans were over cooked, and the omelette was under cooked with the center totally raw. The French fries and greens on the plates were edible. The service was slow and awkward. This was literally the worst meal I have ever eaten in a restaurant. Also, I was assured that breakfast would be available before 5 a.m., but it is not. I had paid for breakfast, but the hotel would not refund. I will not be back to this hotel, no matter how convenient it is to the airport.
D

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuigiandFulvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Was flying in late for Monaco boat show next day so rather than do the extra hour journey there and then I chose to stay at the airport. Good move. Very efficient pick-up, very friendly staff (excellent English) and a big room with working wi-fi and separate bathroom and toilet. All that for just over 100 euros is good value I think. You could even stay here and bus it into Nice I guess although I think moving into the city would be better.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baicid
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at the Novatel the night before our flight out to Boston. Clean, modern, bare bones type of place. Very convenient getting to the airport. Shuttle runs every 1/2 hour for 24 hours. That is a plus. Room was very basic. A/C did not work making for a very uncomforatable night's sleep. Bed was hard as a rock. Would probably try somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedeemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Arenas / Airport
Campanile Nice - Aeroport
Arenas / Airport
Park Inn by Radisson Nice Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arenas / Airport
Ibis Budget Nice Aeroport
Arenas / Airport
Ibis Styles Nice Airport Arenas
Arenas / Airport
Hotel ibis Nice Aeroport Promenade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Nice Arenas Aeroport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Nice Arenas Aeroport

Address: 455 Promenade des Anglais | Cedex 03, 06299 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Arenas / Airport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Nice
#41 Luxury Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $91 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Nice Arenas Aeroport 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Novotel Nice Arenas Aeroport, in front of the airport Nice Cote d'Azur, on the Promenade des Anglais at 7km from the centre of Nice, welcomes you for your business trip. Easy access : a free private shuttle service hotel-airport, close to motorway A8, the hotel Novotel Nice Arenas Airport is the perfect stop on your holidays or to visit the French Riviera. This fully refurbished hotel offers 131 soundproof airconditioned rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Nice Arenas Aeroport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Nice Arenas Aeroport Hotel Nice
Accor Nice Arenas Aeroport
Nice Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing