We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel, In a Beautiful City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of AC Hotel Nice

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AC Hotel Nice
Ranked #32 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel, In a Beautiful City!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. This is a beautiful hotel, which you realize as soon as you walk in. The decor is very modern and inviting. Our room was a good size and very comfortable. We found the staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful. In particular we really appreciated Marion at the front desk. She was very patient with our poor French and took the time to give us detailed directions, to discuss touring ideas and to give us restaurant recommendations. I noticed that she did this with many guests and was just as kind to them.

The location is great as well! You are a road across the street from the beach and within walking distance of many great restaurants and shops. We went to a local "Super Market" very close to the hotel our first day and picked up snacks, since we had a fridge right in the room. We would then have cheese and wine and bread on the beach at night, which was especially romantic and helped save a little money. The Regional train that can take you to Cannes, Antibes and Monaco is also a 20 minute walk from this hotel.

Overall we really enjoyed our experience and would certainly stay again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    248
    103
    29
    9
See reviews for
112
247
20
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

AC/Marriott is a fully renovated hotel, located about 15 minutes from the airport, just off Promenade des Anglais. The transition to Marriott is Marriott is pretty much complete. The rooms, though not large, are contemporary and well designed with desk, small fridge, chair, etc. The bathroom is large with plenty of space to spread out dop kit items, and includes a shaving/make-up mirror. Pool is on the roof. The staff is friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful. The hotel is a 20-25 minute walk to the Cours Saleya, or a 10-minute, 1.50 Euro bus ride. Downsides are there was still some mechanical issue with the elevators and only choice for breakfast was an expensive buffet, but there are cafes just a block or 2 away with less expensive options.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank photoworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Of all the good and not-so-good hotels I've stayed at in France, this one really sucked it. First off, even at a discounted rate, this hotel is no deal. I've read the other reviews and the same things keep coming up, flooded halls/rooms and no elevator service. The staff is aloof and aren't helpful in regards to local tourism. I stayed at the AC Hotel down the road in Antibes and it was a completely different story.
If you are on the top floor with a bum knee and the elevators don't work, can you imagine what a pain in the butt it is to get in and out of the hotel.
The hotel is not centrally located. It's way down the beach, far from the main areas of interest. Luckily we had a scooter but walking dozens of blocks each time you want to get to the attractions isn't worth it. I hate that there isn't one nice thing I have to say about the hotel but the rooms are extremely small. The windows are so heavily tinted that you never know if its night or day. Prison windows are bigger than these. The bathroom compares to a Motel 6. They ran out of towels. My room flooded due to a small rainstorm. Water was running down the chandeliers in the lobby. The a/c units need a serious overhaul and the temperature was tepid and humid. The bed linens were threadbare with small holes in them. No one had cleaned the windows in a decade. The furniture was for looks only and really uncomfortable. The restaurant is on par with Shoney's with the worst service imaginable. The bar was overpriced which is to be expected but the bartender couldn't make a simple cocktail. There were never any towels at the pool and always understaffed. But at least it had a pool.
I would'nt stay here again even if it was free.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suegator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Schaub1, Manager at AC Hotel Nice, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Suegator,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the AC Hotel Nice.

We are very sorry to hear we did not live up to your expectations during your stay with us.

We have had indeed several issues with one of our elevators that is fixed now but the other elevator always worked and has never been put out of service at all.

So we apologize for the fact you had to walk stairs although one of the two elevators was working.

All your other comments have been shared with the respective Department Heads to improve on the quality of their service towards our guests, for which I thank you. It will serve as a good tool to do better!

We do hope you will give us another chance in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
241 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The AC Hotel Nice by Marriott was very nice, the hotel looked to be recently renovated and very well maintained, it was hot in Nice when I was there but the rooms stayed very cold with the AC. The hotel is less than a block from the beach and about a 15 minute walk to the city center where all the good restaurants are located. The staff was extremely helpful and nice.

A few negatives:
I was shocked to find that the hotel did not provide towels for the beach, they tried to up-sell me on going to a place on the beach that charges 19 Euros for a towel, lounge chair umbrella and a drink, I just wanted a towel so I could lie on the beach! I ended up having to take my bathroom towel to the beach.

The gym was extremely small and lacking, there were two bikes, one treadmill and a few hand weights, not much of a gym at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlwaysGl0beTr0tting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I traveled throughout France for 2 weeks and planned 4 nights in Nice last week! The hotel is in a great spot, a block from the beach and close to a market and soy inert shops. Easy to get to the hotel using the 98 bus at the airport-worth it! The only thing I'd recommend is that if you are going to Nice during the warm times, it really isn't necessary to get a hotel with a pool- we didn't use the pool because we love the beaches so much!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmnop715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed here many times. Recently changed hands and given a much needed makeover. Some rooms are still a bit tired but I think they are getting there. Not too far to walk for reataurants and bars, two minutes from the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milton,Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel is within steps of the sea, close to great shopping and dining, with a tremendous rooftop pool and bar. I found the hotel staff to be helpful and friendly.Two twin beds do not equal a king bed, especially when the beds are on wheels. Breakfast was included and is very ordinary. The fitness center was closed and appeared to have little equipment. The primary benefit is a great location at a fair price. Would recommend and return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jml6010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Le Meridien Nice
#73 of 204 in Nice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel West End
#52 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Nice

Property: AC Hotel Nice
Address: 59 Promenade des Anglais | Entree Rue Honoree Sauvan, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The AC Hotel Nice is located on a quiet street a few steps from the Promenade des Anglais and the Baie des Anges. It features a panoramic terrace with a heated swimming pool and lounge chairs. Guest rooms at the AC Hotel Nice are equipped with wireless internet access and a minibar with 5 free soft drinks. Each is air-conditioned and features a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Guests can relax in the hotel's Zen garden and enjoy the local art displayed throughout the hotel. The AC Hotel Nice offers several restaurants which serve regional, traditional French and American cuisine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your AC Hotel Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing