We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very "Nice" and Clean...but is it worth the money.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AC Hotel by Marriott Nice
Ranked #33 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Went during the locals "low" season and stayed here at the Jr. Suite (it was the only room available) and got ripped of €450!!!!!!! The only bad thing about this hotel is the price since the suite was very tiny. But otherwise the rooms are VERY VERY modern which I love and the pool is good. But you don't need to use the pool because the beach is 5 minutes away and most rooms have a view. Most major eating places are within a 10 minute walk, although the train station is a good 45 minutes by foot. They have a shuttle for the airport but it was about $30. Breakfast is not free either, nor is wifi. Overall the price is a little high for what you get but the views and location make up for it.

Service: 8/10
Price: 6/10
Cleanness: 10/10
Location:8.5/10

Room Tip: Choose corner suites on the sides facing the ocean .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanr794
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

380 - 386 of 653 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

As a Marriott gold card holder I was over the moon when I learnt that Marriott took over a property in Nice. In previous years we stayed in other properties or at the Marriott in Cap d'Ail, but a hotel on the centre of the Promenade looked like a "gift" to us. A minor "accident" almost spoiled our vacation, however the front office staff was very helpful and even the hotel director delt with our problem. He was generous to offer a solution and even came to say good bye when we were checking out from the hotel. Things can go wrong, but AC Marriott was very professional in handling it. We loved the decor, the lobby is pretty contemporary, the room design itself was a bit too minimal for my taste, but it was comfortable, the only thing we did not like that we had a bathtub, while our friends (one floor down) could enjoy a proper shower. Though our room had the city view, we did not mind it, it was not as bad as it is described in some of the previous reviews. The location is just perfect, one minute from the beach and 1/4 hours walk to the old town (if someone doesn't want to walk, there are numerous buses to everywhere just from outside the hotel, for 1,5 EUR bought on the bus or 10 EUR for 10 tickets purchased in advance). We visited the top floor pool only once, it is nice with a great view, but the sea is "the sea" and after all we came beacuse of it. We enjoyed our stay in the AC Marriott Nice and would recommend it to everybody who wants to visit Nice and it surrondings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vizslabp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed at the AC Hotel Nice for 3 night at the beginning of August. Location is just adjacent to the beach. We had a horrible view called "city view" which was really the top of the breakfast room, and the air conditioner units. That was about the only downside. The AC worked great in the rooms which was perfect as it was very hot in Nice. The front desk staff were very helpful and gracious. We ate breakfast each morning, which was quite expensive but for convenience sake we opted for it. It was quite good, when they had things stocked. They seemed to always be running out of items. Beds were comfortable and room was quite clean. Had a small fridge available to us also which was nice. The bathroom was great except for the poorly designed flat square sinks. I have no idea why anyone would choose this type of sink.

No free WiFi but we often sat in the garden or the lobby to use the free lobby WiFi.
Hotel has a pool on the roof which was packed when we went up to check it out. Front desk told us pool was open until 10 p.m. We went up later at about 8:30 and were told it closed at 8 p.m. and only the bar and food service were available after 8 p.m. which was frustrating.

We had a great rate for hotel which was still expensive. Regular rates are quite high and my enjoyment with my stay was influenced by the deal that we had.

Spent a day at the Florida Beach across the street which has an arrangement with the AC Marriott. 15 euro for a chair, umbrella, towel and 1 drink for the day.

Used the fitness facility which was really not great. Two machines and a small set of light weight dumbbells. Not really a fitness center.

Loved the French Riviera and enjoyed our stay at the Hotel. Would definitely stay at again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sun_seeker_minnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was my second year at the AC Marriott. What a difference a year makes!! They have had a refurb and its looks fantastic! The lobby is really plush and very boutique! The rooms have also had a makeover, very comfy beds with beautiful linen. We got the bus which takes about 15 mins. We opted out of the breakfast, as we liked to take a stroll into nice centre for that. Roof top pool gorgeous with great views. They have also changed the menu on the rooftop to more simple foods that we all want to eat, club sandwich, beautiful burgers, and my fave there the gnocchi! All washed down with a wonderful bottle of French Rose. Can not fault this hotel! About 20 mins walk into centre, either along front or back streets. Make sure you visit the waterfalls right at the end of the flower market, you can take the lift up there! Great views!!! Enjoy!! I will be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnsons_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is not a quality Marriott, or even a good "hip" boutique Marriott. Rooms are very minimalist, extremely low, poor lighting throughout room (we felt like we were in a cave). Bed and bedding were very comfortable though, bathroom modern and clean. Location "showed" the address to be right ON the Mediterranean.....but it is deceptive. The hotel is on a side street, close to the Meditererranean, by about 1/2 block. The prices of, for instance, a Capuccino, were as if it were in a prime location overlooking the water, and quite high for the area. The front desk staff, perhaps on break, were found outside on the side of the hotel when I passed it. They would be hanging around socializing and smoking. Breaks are fine, socializing is fine, but the area should be more hidden.......I found the design of this to be poor and my I felt that it was not a "professional" look, especially for a Marriott hotel. I would NOT stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldenretrieverny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Started from poor to bad. We left clear instruction on booking to have baby cot in room as we were traveling with a 2 yo. To our surprise this was not done after checking in and it was already 8 pm there. We then asked reception about this and went for dinner. To our surprise the cot was still not in the room when we returned. As there were no messages we called reception again and they indicated the cots were all in use. The reception reluctantly apologized and said she would have manager call us tomorrow.
The next day a broken cot with stained sheets in the cot arrived. We decided not to use it. We were on the second floor and they were renovating some of the units on the same floor. We had construction work during most part of the day and until late t night (like 9 pm). This was not particularly helpful when our daughter needed quiet naps.
When we asked for cutlery from house keeping they told us to call the restaurant by the pool and when we called that restaurant they said to call downstairs restaurant as they will charge us for them. In the end I went to the ground floor restaurant and got them myself.
The rooms were not cleaned properly when we first checked in with hair in the white shower flooring and drain blockage.
Whilst its close to Promenade d'langlais it is located at least 15 mins walk from downtown and where all the action is. Initially, we thought staying away from downtown would avoid noise but the daily construction did not help.
I found some staff to be unfriendly and impatient. Perhaps they are under staffed which explains the long wait at times.
Over priced for what you get.

Room Tip: Do not book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederic_Schaub1, Manager at AC Hotel by Marriott Nice, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear "Simon H".

Thank you for taking the time to let us know your comments about your stay.

We really do apologize for your disappointing experience with us. I have discussed all your issues with the departments involved and they will do extra trainings on service procedures

Please be assured that your input will serve as a tool to improve our product and services.

We really do hope to welcoming you again, in the near future, so that we may display the type of hospitality and service we are certainly capable of delivering.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Hotel was fine, big clean quiet room, friendly staff and comfortable beds.
No lock on glass bathroom door, which was problematic in family room sharing with teenagers.
One lift was out of order.
Free wifi only available in lounge, not room which was an irritation.
Location was perfect for us, very close to museums, bars and beach.
We ate out as the restaurant was over-priced, many options on your doorstep.
I'd stay there again, but we used it as a base to explore Nice and beyond, not a beach based holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukascot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Boscolo Exedra Nice, Autograph Collection
Hotel West End
#32 of 203 in Nice
1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Cimiez
NH Nice
NH Nice
#29 of 203 in Nice
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel by Marriott Nice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel by Marriott Nice

Address: 59 Promenade des Anglais | Entree Rue Honoree Sauvan, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: $134 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel by Marriott Nice 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AC Hotel by Marriott Nice is located on a quiet street a few steps from the Promenade des Anglais and the Baie des Anges. Our stylish hotel in Nice, France features a panoramic terrace with a heated swimming pool and lounge chairs. Guest rooms at AC Hotel by Marriott Nice are equipped with wireless internet access and a minibar with 5 free soft drinks. Each is air-conditioned and features a flat-screen TV with satellite channels. Guests can relax in the hotel's Zen garden and enjoy the local art displayed throughout the hotel. AC Hotel by Marriott Nice offers several restaurants which serve regional, traditional French and American cuisine.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your AC Hotel by Marriott Nice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing