We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Ranked #26 of 212 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
114 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed in this hotel many times in the last years. It has always been great, but now after the renovation it's even better. Location is perfect but not noisy (5 mns to the beach, 5 mns to the old town, 5mns to the major shopping street), rooms are nicely decorated (although perhaps a bit small and walls are a bit too thin) and breakfast is really very good.

Another very exceptional experience is housekeeping. My room (room 621) was always spotlessly clean, the lady who is in charge of the cleaning deserves praise for her excellent work.

Generally staff is unbelievably friendly (something you should not always expect in France) . Most amazing is staff at breakfast, In particular I would like to mention Mr Jerome. He seems to work there for many years now (a good sign!) and he is a very friendly and very much customer-oriented employee. The breakfast is so well organised, everything is so clean and he is always very polite with his guests. To my opinion he is a real perfectionist and a staff member most employees of hotels should look up to!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netsrac99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozenn P, manager at Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear guest,

We thank you for your "absolutely fabulous" message, that we go transmits immediately to the whole team, and most particularly to Jérome!!
Your satisfaction is our best reward, and encourages us to double effort to return your fellow stay to even more unforgettable.
We are also pleased to read that you enjoyed our renovations!

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcome you again,

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    359
    122
    35
    18
See reviews for
88
370
55
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The staff were very helpful and the hotel was clean. Only problem was sitting on the sun terrace at night in the dark but that was fine if you just wanted somewhere quiet and cool to sit at night with a nice bottle of wine. There is a supermarket a few doors up from the hotel and you can buy things in there and take back to your room to eat with no problems.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcd782014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozenn P, manager at Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
We thank you for your message, that we go transmits immediately to the whole team. We have noticed the problem with the light on the terrace !
The satisfaction of our clients is our best reward, your comments help us reaching this challenge !
Looking foward to welcome you again

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The renovation to the hotel was just being finished as I arrived just before Easter. The interior design is a bit bizarre with a crazy picture/frieze behind the bed, but essentially clean. The walk-in shower was excellent, and the temperature was fine. I could occasionally hear someone early evening in the next room talking loudly on the phone in Italian, but it was not a problem.

Decent sized TV with all the channels you would expect in France, which means few English language TV which Americans might find difficult, so don't forget your Slingbox!

The bed was very comfortable and I got a decent sleep.

The main train station serving the Riviera is a stiff 10-minute walk away (once you have worked out the best route), but leave plenty of time or buy your train tickets in advance as the queues to buy tickets at the station are just silly. Fortunately you can buy tickets for future dates from the ticket machines, so it is worth mastering them.

Breakfast looked good, though I did not have it at the hotel. It would have been an extra cost as I always enjoy a coffee or breakfast away from a hotel in France as it's an excuse to try somewhere else. There are any number of decent restaurants within walking distance.

There are a number of Mercure hotels in Nice, so make sure you go to and book the one you want. The front desk staff were helpful printing out e-tickets and boarding passes and very polite.

Room Tip: Best to avoid cul-de-sac corridors where rooms cluster and there can be 3 doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluebird-Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozenn P, manager at Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
dear client

Thank you to have shared your experience in our hotel. It is a real pleasure to read that you had a most enjoyable stay!
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Astounded by some of the average reviews. This is a great hotel. Great rooms, excellent breakfast and superb location. Very modern, very clean, efficient and a great choice for a leisure break in Nice

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCWManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozenn P, manager at Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear clients
Thank you so much for your comments, some vitamines that I will transfer to the all team!!!
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

All in all we had a very pleasant stay. We had a friendly greeting on arrival and were able to check in early. Our room on the 5th floor with an outside terrace was clean and for the most part very comfortable. In fact the only negative comment was the use of paper cups on the inroom hospitality tray - not what i would expect from a 4* hotel. Bathroom was also very small however this was not a problem.

I agree with some earlier comments regarding the breakfast staff who were very abrupt. Sunday moring breakfast was supposed to run til 11am and yet at 10.30 they had run out of Bread?

The hotel was well priced for what you get - If you want luxury then pay more (a lot more!)
for one of the luxury hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IanF444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozenn P, manager at Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear clients,

Thank you for your comments
We are sorry that the service did not meet your expectations, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Victoria
#8 of 212 in Nice
4.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
Centre
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Massena Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi

Property: Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Address: 6 rue Grimaldi, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#24 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#25 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This completely non smoking hotel offers 84 spacious rooms with airconditioning, cable TV and a refrigerator in the superior rooms. The Mercure Nice Grimaldi is located in the heart of town just 300 m from the famous Promenade des Anglais and close to the pedestrian area. Discover the refurbished superior rooms in this stylish establishment. Relax and enjoy the solarium on the 7th floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nice Grimaldi Hotel Nice
Accor Nice Grimaldi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing