We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value with excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Ranked #31 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I chose this hotel for my sixth visit in Nice based on very good previous experiences in another Mercure hotel and the unbeatable location. It's situated within a walking distance from Promenade des Anglais, Place Massena, Old Town, shopping street Jean Medecin and even the railway station. Pedestrian street Rue Massena with plenty of restaurants is just a few steps away but the hotel is located on a quiet street so there wasn't any street noise disturbing our sleep (even when our room was on the 2nd floor right above the entrance).

The reception staff were very welcoming and effective and my emailed request for a twin room was fulfilled. As mentioned here by previous reviewers, the rooms are quite small but they have all the amenities needed. The room had been quite recently refurbished so small fridge, safe and large tv were new and beds were comfortable. Bathroom was tiny but the shower was very nice with a pretty oval-shaped window letting daylight in and a rainfall-type function. Air conditioning was efficient and easy to adjust, free wi-fi seemed to work fine.

We had breakfast included in our deal and I was happy to find the buffet breakfast as good as in other Mercure hotel I've stayed in. The food was nicely presented and the selection of breads and pastries impressive. We went there quite early every morning around 8-8.30 am and had no problem finding a table or having to wait for refilling.

Compared to Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais, this hotel is closer to the shopping streets and restaurants and you can probably get a better deal here but rooms are smaller and views are not that impressive. I would be happy to return to Mercure Grimaldi for my next visit and maybe take better advantage of the cosy relaxation/sunbathing area on the top of the building.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suns33ker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozenn P, Manager at Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

We thank you for your comments

The satisfaction of our guests is our best reward, and encourages us to double effort to return their fellow stay to even more unforgettable.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcome you again,

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 895 reviews

Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have stayed many times before and were delighted to be given a brand new room, thanks to the excellent service of Alicia.The hotel was, as always everything that we wanted and we stayed on the first floor. It will be great when they have finally redesigned the ground floor at the end of the year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FoodAndArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozenn P, Manager at Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you so much for your comments !

It will be always a pleasure to welcome you!
The renovation of the public areas should start in November up to February!

Awaiting your next visit,
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Don't you just hate it?

We stayed in a fairly small double room. Not a problem, and we liked the way the hotel provided a kettle, tea and coffee and an empty fridge so we could keep some milk chilled. However the bathroom was badly thought-out. There was no proper towel-rail, just some small wire shelves and a sign that said you should put your towels on the shelves if you wanted to reuse them and therefore save the planet. But if you put them on the shelves they will still be wet the next day, so I hung mine from the hook on the wall by the door. Unfortunately the hotel has chose to fix the holder for the toilet brush directly below the hooks, so when the towel fell off the hook, that's where it landed. It's just a stupid layout and of course I had to have a fresh towel as a result, so now the planet will die and it's all the fault of Mercure's interior design team!

Seriously, though, it's not a bad hotel. It's in a good location and there's a neat roof terrace where you can sunbathe. Breakfast was fine, with some organic products and some nice cheeses. The decor is fresh and modern, but the inept bathroom design spoiled the experience for me.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flintmills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozenn P, Manager at Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2013

Dear Sir, Madam,

You have taken the time to give us your opinion about your stay in our hotel, and we thank you for that.

We are sorry that the hotel did not meet your expectations, especially in the bathroom, and we beg you to accept our sincerest apologies.

Be assured that the necessary corrective measures have already been taken to ensure that the quality level meets your expectations and earns your trust when you next stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you shortly in one of the hotels of the Mercure network.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Hitomi K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rozenn P, Manager at Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Hi, I have just returned from a 10 day stay in this hotel and found the staff all to be very friendly. most could speak English and those who could not still tried hard.

The room was small but very comfortable and had everything you could need and had been newly decorated with a clown above the bed but I found that quite nice.

The breakfast was good form me and I understand that area is going to be done up later this year. The sun terrace was a good place to relax but a bit more shade would be welcome.
I would come back to the hotel again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 129Isa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozenn P, manager at Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear Clients,
We thank you for your message, that we go transmits immediately to the whole team.
Your satisfaction is our best reward, and encourages us to double effort to return your fellow stay to even more unforgettable.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcome you back next year,
Cordially

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed here for a week with my boyfriend. As a young couple we found the hotel was in a great location, central to many places with the promenade de anglais and the Old Town only 5 minuets away by foot. The train station, which is great for access to Monaco, Cannes ect is also easy to get to taking around a 10 minuet walk. The hotel was very clean and has been recently renovated. We booked a standard double room which although small was comfortable and had everything you needed. There hotel has a private roof terrace which is a nice relaxing place to sit where you can take a bottle of wine and nibbles with you and be sure for no one to bother you. Over all the hotel and staff where great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samantha s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rozenn P, Manager at Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

We thank you for your message, that we go transmits immediately to the whole team.
Your satisfaction is our best reward, and encourages us to double effort to return your fellow stay to even more unforgettable.
Looking forward to the pleasure of welcome you again,
Cordially ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank fortunate60
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rozenn P, Manager at Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#10 of 203 in Nice
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi

Address: 6 rue Grimaldi, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#24 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#25 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $91 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This completely non smoking hotel offers 84 spacious rooms with airconditioning, cable TV and a refrigerator in the superior rooms. The Mercure Nice Grimaldi is located in the heart of town just 300 m from the famous Promenade des Anglais and close to the pedestrian area. Discover the refurbished superior rooms in this stylish establishment. Relax and enjoy the solarium on the 7th floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nice Grimaldi Hotel Nice
Accor Nice Grimaldi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing