We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location in beautiful Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi
Ranked #39 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Hotel in perfect location, close to beach, promenade, shopping area and historic part of Nice.
Staff was very helpful and friendly. Good breakfast with great choice (for French Hotels)!!!!
Standard room (could be cleaner) with good bathroom and air-con. Parking situation around the hotel is very difficult. Get fare reduction ticket, 8 € cost from 6pm to 9 am, a hotel reception for use parkhouse Grimaldi. Sun roof with nice view.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sponsheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

288 - 294 of 904 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2012

Hotel was in a good location close to the main train station. It was also close to the water and the main shopping/resturant area of Nice. The reception lady was very helpful arranging for the tour operator to collect us from the hotel.

Room was a good size and there was a proper bed for the 3rd adult and not a fol away bed.

Breakfast was very good with a wide range of options and a organic selection for those who want organic food.

Would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney190454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

When my wife and I arrived we were given room 623. It had virtually no storage space, only a small cupboard with 4 hangers. My wife went to reception and pointed out this was unsuitable for our length of stay. They agreed and said they'd given us that because it had a balcony which they thought we would like. They moved us to 420 which had plenty of space. Throughout our stay we were impressed with the staff.
Several reviewers have commented about cleanliness of the hotel. We found that our room, towels and bedlinen were immaculate. The carpet was badly stained but one of the receptionists explained that they were cleaned,and steam cleaned once a month. However she said that things were spilled by guests who did not tell housekeeping so that, by the time cleaners arrived, the stains were set. This seemed plausible. Also the hotel is shortly to be renovated.
The buffet breakfast was good with a wide choice including hot and cold food.
When we return to Nice on what would be our 5th or 6th visit, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: If your room seems small, ask if there is a larger one available. On the Grimaldi side , you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHRIS C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Let's be honesty - Nice is generally expensive for what you get, and this hotel, while not amazing, does a couple of saving graces.

Stayed for 5 nights in August.

Location wise, everything in Nice is walkable, and this hotel is located close the beach, close to the trains, close to the old town, and has a supermarket next door and laundromat a couple of blocks away.

The staff are excellent and very friendly. Nothing too much for them. Always greeted with a smile and happy to chat.

Room was a bit old and tired, but it was clean and had enough space to put out our suitcases and move around. Bathroom was old again, but good water pressure in the shower.

Beds were comfortable, room had air-con that worked and good blinds to keep it dark at night.

The best part of this hotel is the breakfast - it is truly one of the best buffet breakfasts I've ever had in Europe. Mix of western and continental, including fresh pancakes and a huge variety of cold meats, fresh breads etc. There are some five star hotels that could come here and take a lesson from the Mercure.

Building has free wifi which is great - expected now.

There is also a roof-top area open to all guests to enjoy the sun or chill out with some wine, cheese and bread in the afternoon.

I would have given 3 star rating, but the breakfast pushes this up to 4 star

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydney_CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Rooms and the hotel is clear in general,staff is very friendly,breakfast is the best i ve ever seen in europe ,open buffet and fast coffee service. Rooms are not small,enough squaremater,air conditioning ,lighting and hot water is good. I highly recoment this hotel for whom visit Nice,2 minutes walk to see and heard of the city,price was also great for this 4star hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duyşen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobCWashington_Dc
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

The checkin was very efficient, the room on the fourth floor was excellent and had a large balcony. Breakfast was plentiful and had a variety of options. The staff are very customer focussed and was a highlight of our stay. Thankyou to all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyHerbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Mercure Nice Centre Notre Dame
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Le Grimaldi by HappyCulture
Thiers / Train Station
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Nice Excelsior Hotel
#11 of 203 in Nice
648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi

Address: 6 rue Grimaldi, 06000 Nice, France
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Jardin Albert 1er
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#24 Romantic Hotel in Nice
#25 Business Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $103 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This completely non smoking hotel offers 84 spacious rooms with airconditioning, cable TV and a refrigerator in the superior rooms. The Mercure Nice Grimaldi is located in the heart of town just 300 m from the famous Promenade des Anglais and close to the pedestrian area. Discover the refurbished superior rooms in this stylish establishment. Relax and enjoy the solarium on the 7th floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mercure Nice Centre Grimaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Nice Grimaldi Hotel Nice
Accor Nice Grimaldi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing