We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unassuming from outside & fabulous on the inside”
Review of Palais Lascaris

Palais Lascaris
Ranked #28 of 221 things to do in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Unassuming from outside & fabulous on the inside”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Full of artefacts, decorated ceilings and interesting, very old musical instruments. Free entry and leave your rucksack at the door (which seems to be the case for all museums we visited in Nice).

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MemmaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    199
    61
    23
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Pretty little museum, but nasty arrogant reception”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Having passed by this museum several times, I knew that the sign in front of the museum said it was open every day at 10-18h except for some holidays. The first time I wanted to visit, it was closed without explanation. Some internet sleuthing later revealed that it was closed on Tuesdays, which was not indicated on the sign.

When I visited the next day, the first sign inside the door said "Entree libre et gratuit." I did not see another (small) sign about four feet away saying that we needed to report to the reception. It was at waist's height and was printed in about a 40pt font. When a few other people and I proceeded, a lady came and scolded us in French. She told us we had to report to reception for statistical purposes and wagged the sign in our faces. We were asked in no friendly manner where we were from. When she didn't understand what we were saying she yelled at us some more. After having cursed in French and yelled at us for a good ten minutes, she told us "nice visit," which could not have been more ironic. Once inside the rooms, museum attendants there are extremely friendly.

The museum itself was a gem, especially the collection of musical instrument (loved the upright grand piano) and the old Turin doors which were only hinged on the upper side to avoid it gettig stuck on the carpet and, I was told, for automatic closure. It was small though, I needed only 30 minutes to see their entire collection.

We are allowed to take pictures without flash only on the second floor (which is the third level).

Helpful?
1 Thank Cnidaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Little gem in old Nice”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We stumbled upon this little gem by accident but i guess we should have paid more attention to the guide book! Lovey old staircases and 17th Century (?) furniture on display plus a very interesting collection of old musical instruments and a little of the history of old Nice. It is free to visit and well worth a look.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MerlotRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Fretted violas! didn't know they existed”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Delightful. Many smallish rooms, heavily painted walls and ceilings. Strange hinges on the doors. did they slam shut really, really hard?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleymarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Free history lesson”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

Hidden away on a little street in the Old Town this is really a beautyful place to see. When I went there there were only 2 other visitors so I got to fully enjoy the place. Whomever likes history has to go there. Beautyful tapestries and old furniture are very well preserved. The staircase is quite impressive as well and you can only imagine how it was actually living there. Very impressed by the old pharmacy on the ground floor!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoxanaNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palais Lascaris also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Palais Lascaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing