We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beware there is an entrance fee!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Musee d'Art et d'Histoire Palais Massena

Musee d'Art et d'Histoire Palais Massena
Book In Advance
$392.90*
and up
Private Tour: 4-Hour Sightseeing Tour in Nice
Ranked #20 of 213 things to do in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beware there is an entrance fee!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

We went to collect our ticket and was told that it would be €20 for 2, contrary to what has been written on trip advisor. The fee included other attractions but we were not allowed to see this villa unless we bought the whole ticket €10 each. Unfortunately we didnot have the time to see the other museums. We walked through the gardens which were lovely and missed out on seeing the villa.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    180
    49
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NW UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Lovely house with interesting photos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

It took us three visits before we found it was open (it was used as an event venue the first time and merely closed the second time) Although entry is free, you have to get a card from the office next to the main building. The photos of the house, its family and the development of Nice were very interesting.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LondonbabyNwUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
166 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very Rewarding Spot to Kill Time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I were on our way to the cinema but had to kill more than an hour. Fortunately the Palais Massena and the movie house share the same neighborhood. Nice has more than a dozen museums that are free and this is one of them. Actually its a beautiful family residence very well restored so that you can get a glimpse of what it was like to be an aristocrat during the 19th Century. Period costumes and jewelry may be viewed behind glass and the paintings and portraits give life to these folks now long dead like their way of life. The gardens are beautifully maintained.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DelrayJack07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
209 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Free and OK for half an hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Big House that contains some interesting artefacts from Napoleon and Josephine plus a lot of local history on the Prom des Anglais.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank CheshireMog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, VA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent history of Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Lovely grounds and excellent museum (free). All explanations are in French, but can be decifered with a little patience. Gives one a great history of Nice and its earlier inhabitants in the Belle Epoque.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mills1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee d'Art et d'Histoire Palais Massena also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Musee d'Art et d'Histoire Palais Massena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing