We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient but very run-down”
Review of Hotel des Dames

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel des Dames
Ranked #115 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Having stayed at many European Hotel and B & B's I'm use to older / quint establishments. However room #14 was the worst room I've encountered. Unusual smells usually from stall cigarette smoke embedded in the walls is one thing most travelers have to get use to. However mold on bathroom walls and chain-pulling toilets that leaks creating mold on floor behind , shower curtains that are edged in mold are unacceptable. The street in front is a major street so expect noise all night long.
Plus side: very convenient to tram.
Negative side: sketchy neighborhood at night, suggest returning to hotel before dark.
**I'd never recommend, nor would I stay there again.

Room Tip: Garden rooms face the back.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Retiredlvnit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (78)
There are newer reviews for Hotel des Dames
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 78 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two days and it was a nightmare. the rooms are very small and dingy. We had very small useless fan in the room. We could barley sleep as the rooms got very hot (we were in NIce in September). If you open the windows the noise of the traffic kills you. The beds are very bad and small. The room stinks of sewer. The bathroom is very small..you can barely stand. Its a very very bare bones hotel but very over priced for what it offers. Location is central to most places and train station but we didn't find the neighborhood very safe when walking back to the hotel at night.
One of the worst hotels I have stayed in my travel so far.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nycroommate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

The room smelled like sewer and the bed stank of cigarette smoke. Do note all rooms are smoking rooms. Clean yes but stinky! Our room had a cute french balcony, but it is off a somewhat noisy street and during the summer you definitely want your windows open for both some cool air and the aforementioned stinkyness.

Room Tip: Dont choose the room!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agrifo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Clean hotel and very friendly and welcoming staff. Good value for money. Was within walking distance to all the beach and bus station. Fan in room helped keep room cool during the night. Would recommend :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

Hotel Commodore is very good hotel for low-cost travelling. Clean and properly equipped rooms and the proximity of old city makes the hotel a perfect place to stay during your vacation in Nice. The staff is very nice and heplful. A good ratio of price and quality

Room Tip: Room facing to the garden are a bit quiet.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yogi122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

This was a great hotel! The staff (owners) were kind and helpful. I would say that this hotel represents very good value for money, with clean rooms, good comfort compared to the price we paid, and the old town is within walking distance. And the breakfast was excellent compared to French standard breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to anybody who doesn't want a high class hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nojo6266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Our room was quite good, as we had a nice big window that opened completely to the outer street and looked out to a beautiful brick street. The hotel has a nice area to sit outside and eat breakfast or relax, however it would have been nice if breakfast was included in the price!

Room Tip: They were very helpful in giving us a room with one double and one single bed as it was my partner a...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KansasKayla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Hotel Esprit d'Azur
#106 of 204 in Nice
236 reviews
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Hotel Parisien
#93 of 204 in Nice
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Thiers / Train Station
Hotel du Midi
Hotel du Midi
#61 of 204 in Nice
129 reviews
Centre
Hotel Wilson
Hotel Wilson
#98 of 204 in Nice
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Dames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Dames

Address: 10 rue Barberis, 06300 Nice, France (Formerly Hotel Commodore)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Riquier
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Price Range: $76 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel des Dames 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Commodore is 100 metres from the Acropolis Exhibition Hall and a short tram ride from the beach, train station and Promenade des Anglais in Nice. It offers free Wi-Fi.Guest rooms at the Commodore include en suite facilities, a TV and a telephone.The Hotel Commodore is just 500 metres from the port and close to the Modern Art Museum, theatre and old city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel des Dames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing