We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing Special”

Trans Cote D'azur - The Coastal Ride
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.48*
and up
French Riviera Sightseeing Cruise from Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

This activity provides a worthwhile view of the coastline from Nice to Villefranche, Eze, Cap-d Ail to Monaco. Narration is a throw away (person spoke so fast it was difficult to follow along). First 10 minutes were quite choppy but the rest of the trip went smoothly.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank YouDoTheDishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    42
    10
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Syosset, NY
Level Contributor
243 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Coastal Tour - Nice a Rade de Villefranche - Fun and scary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Scared h*ll out of us. Nice looking modern medium-sized boat in Nice Harbour. Warm May Sunday afternoon with some clouds. Water looking choppy. Weather does move fast in Nice. Enhtusiastic looking crowd of all ages, mostly French nationals.

Waited for a huge Corsican ferry to load and move out of the harbor ahead of this. Again...weather does move fast in Nice. Had to churn out of Nice Harbor ro get into Villefrance Harbor, where there will be villas of the stars (Elton John; a Stones recording locale fameux...) narrated by a nice host in a boat shirt typique and an actul beret, tres charmant...

So we actually "headed straight out to sea" banging repeatedly head-on against the incoming waves...bang, bang, bang, dip, rise, dip, rise. We were on the upper outdoors deck with many others. Everyone laughing, saying it is like a roller coaster, and now apparently we know I don't get seasick, because if I did, I would have by now.

Then we make a forceful u-turn to head into Villefranche. As they said - calm waters, two huge cruise ships to ogle over, all those famous villas, and they are beautiful. Lulled into terrifc comfort by the beauty in the harbour and on the hills surrounding it.

Time to leave. Again into the sea with the rise, dip, rise, dip, more darker clouds in the sky. Now the host offers those who wish "you may be more content inside the ship as the waters are considerably roughter than earlier" (and this is only 30 minutes later on a warm May afternoon, albeit a few days after the torrential rains of the Cannes Film Festival 2013/whole Cote D'Azur, so who knows?)

We scurried inside, and saw many had already given in to seasickness. This time I thought we were in a submarine: crashing dead ahead at 10-14 foot swells, I estimate. Banging really hard up then really hard down, with a very loud crashing sound. The cabin seemed very water tight and strong but still, this is not what I expected. Too scared to take pictures, envisioning a news story "tourists submerged in freak coastal tour mishap...", and that will be me.

Then we make a second very harsh u-turn getting from this bay back to Nice's and I seriously thought we would flip. But we didn't. The only thing that kept me moderately composed was a little 5-year-old-ish girl with her mom and aunt, tucked away in a corner of the cabin, laughing her little head off!!! SHe was have The Best Time! So exciting for her. Ah the bliss of not knowing to worry :-). So she kept giggling and I survived. Who could dream the a one-hour tourist ride could pertify me like this. Husband admits is Was Dicey, and we probably should have declined this trip due to the changing weather. Not sure how the other passengers felt about it. Yikes.

In short, its a fun ride, but not when the whether is anything but blue skies and low wind.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank SueSyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Only way to travel to Monaco!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Not sure about the coastal tour but the trip to Monaco is awesome. The captain was great and funny. He switches between French and English. You get to see so much that you would never experience by train or car. Trust me it's worth it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank dcrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Trip to Cannes for Fireworks”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Took evening boat trip to Cannes with the Trans Cote D'Azur for the fireworks festival in Cannes. The boat ride was nice, but the fireworks very disappointing. Would have had a better view watching it on a TV. The boat floated way too far off off shore so the fireworks were in the distance and the sound needed to travel along way before you would hear it. The fireworks were synced to music but the boats speakers kept cutting out. Best part of the trip was all the yachts honking their horns at the end of the show. Watch from shore instead.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 4foreigners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Different view of Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We thought that this was a great way to see Nice after our early morning flight. We enjoyed the trip but found it hard at times to understand the captian, we speak both English and French. It was interesting to be shown some of the more intesting houses in teh area as well as some quirky history deatails as well.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank filafan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trans Cote D'azur - The Coastal Ride also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Trans Cote D'azur - The Coastal Ride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing