We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value hotel, happy to stay there again”
Review of Little Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Little Palace
Ranked #14 of 45 Nice B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 1, 2009

We found this hotel based on the reviews on Tripadvisor. We had a very pleasant stay. The hotel and room was very clean, we were surprised with the quality for a 2 star hotel. It is very close to the station and very easy to find. The beach is not too far away. The room we stayed in came with a small balcony which was a pleasant surprise and it was also quiet spacious. Our room faced the street, however, once the double glazed window was shut we couldn't hear the street noise.

The hotel provides guests with information about the the nearby self service laundry which was very useful to us. There is a small supermarket right next to the hotel, which is very convenient.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunshinebertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (382)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 382 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2009

There were four of us and the room was small but worked. The staff was not friendly and almost cold. The best part about our stay here was the location. Parking was nearby but not included in the price of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tacalderon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2008

We stayed for 4 nights, had a spacious room on the second floor overlooking the street. The room had 2 beds, bathroom was a good size but as previous people have mentioned, had no shower curtain which is very common in France.
We found the staff were very friendly and helpful, managed to find parking on neighboring streets at night.
Location is good, with supermarket next door, and is not too much of a walk to the ocean. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

Hotel Little Palace is a short walk from the main train station - cross the road, take the stairway down and go straight ahead 8-10 mins walk. Our room was very stuffy and when we enquired why, were told they turn the air-con off after the hot season. The bathroom had a shower over the bath with no shower curtain so you can imagine the disaster! We asked to change rooms and was accommodated accordingly to a very nice room with suitable shower (no air-con in the whole hotel) but this room was much better. Both room and bathroom very clean and no complaints. The location is great, theres a supermarket next door, you can walk to the main beach in 10 mins. Walk to shops & cafes in 5 mins and the hotel is quiet. The staff are very helpful and friendly and have maps etc for sight-seeing. There is also a bus depot thats a good 20 min walk away-you can catch a local bus to Monaco and see the sights on the way. Although we started off with a few complaints the staff were very good. We liked the hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roseanne2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2008

Our stay in Nice was just a stopover to break the train journey from Italy to Avignon, we didn't expect to like Nice as much as we did. The location of the hotel is a 5-10 min walk to the train station or to the promenade.

Our room on the second floor had views of the street, the street noise dies down at night, but I still had to close the doors to block it out. Although there was no air conditioning on at this time of year, there was a portable fan to keep us cool. In our room we had a queen and a single bed, a large bathroom, which were always kept clean and tidy.

The continental breakfast buffet for 8 euros each was good value, we definately were not hungry afterwards. Overall we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kpiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2008

We stayed for 7 nights in room 302 for 7 nights. The room was a "double bed with bathroom". It was a decent size and had two queen-sized beds, a desk and chair, a cupboard, and a small flat-screen TV. The one window looked out into the other buildings. The bathroom had a bathtub and a hand-held shower head.
PROS
----
o Large room
o Very friendly staff
o Good location: 5 minute walk from the train station, 5 minute walk to the beach and to the tram stop, a couple of blocks from the old town
o Good breakfast: cereal, yogurt, pastries, coffee, fruits

CONS
----
o No internet access
o NO shower curtains! Apparently none of the bathrooms have shower curtains. This was a problem for me as the bathroom got pretty wet unless I was very careful.
o Breakfast is E8 per person

Note: The hotel is one block away from a bunch of other hotels: Garden Hotel, The Holiday Inn, etc. I booked via the hotel website and saved some money.

Overall, I was not unhappy with the hotel. It ended up costing E90+2*8 = E106 a night. If I had to do it again, I would try the Hotel Suisse; it has spectacular views of the sea and internet access.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Siddh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2008

The first thing I noticed about our room was that it was between the 3rd and 4th floors and overlooking the back of the building - not a particularly attractive view but at least no street noise. Second, the room was very small, so with the bed and the chair and once you have 2 suitcase on the floor, there is little floor space left. This is ok for those choosing not to spend too much time in their room.

Furthermore, the room and bathroom were cleaned extremely well throughout our stay. TV (French, Italian, German) was available but no other amenities such as wifi or fridge.

I'd say the most negative issue was that the AC was too strong. Even at the lowest setting, the room would freeze by the middle of the night. The other option was none at all.

Another note is that we very much liked the neighborhood (especially the Boulevard Victor Hugo), which was mostly residential. The hotel was convenient to the beach and the touristy Rue Massena (7 minute walk) but a bit further from the Old Town.

Fine stay, but 80 Euros seemed a bit much for what we got. Then again, my thorough research did not give us many options for less; at least not many options with favorable TA reviews.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Assouli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Ozz By HappyCulture
Centre
Villa Saint Exupery Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Palace

Address: 9 avenue Baquis, 06000 Nice, France (Formerly Inter-Hotel)
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Musiciens
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Nice
Price Range: $108 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Little Palace 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated between the promenade des anglais and the train station little palace is a real delightful hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Little Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Little Palace Hotel Nice
Minotel Hotel Little Palace
Minotel Nice
Nice Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing