We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but expensive food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Grande Voile

La Grande Voile
Ranked #1,481 of 1,866 Restaurants in Nice
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good but expensive food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a lunch restaurant and thought this one looked good, the display of seafood looked good. The personell was very nice and extremly child friendly, they were very good with our baby daughter and got her a high chair.
The food was good but quite expensive. I had spaghetti fruit de mer and my parents had swordfish and monk fish, which were good. Beer was expensive, almost 9.50 € for half a liter.
After asking for the check the waiter seemed to forget us, but apart from that, service was good. We even got a refill of bread. Toilets were clean and fresh.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Virionkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    15
    21
    26
    109
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Really terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

No words! That was so bad, stay away from this place. They didn't give us what we ordered but counted in the bill. The food was not good too.... May be they didn't clean their grill.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Octobernew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Menu Misleading”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

The food at this restaurant was edible but wasn't particularly tasty. My biggest warning to prospective patrons is to read the menu carefully. We ended up spending 90 euros more than we had anticipated because of what I believe is a purposely misleading menu. At the bottom of the menu, there are pictures of some of their dishes. The one that we liked said (in French) "for 2 persons". I looked at the price and it said 45.50 euros, which was a bit pricey not unacceptable. We ordered two of them. When we got the bill, instead of those two dishes costing 91 euroes (45.5 x 2), they were 182 euros! When I told the waiter, he pointed to the small print below stating that the prices were listed "per person." So a dish that is meant for 2 people is double what the listed price says. When I told him that this was misleading, he just pointed to the fine print. He didn't seem to care. Since they won't cut the portion down so that one person can order it and get it for 45.5 euros, I told him that they should state 91 euros as the price. He didn't seem to care about this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ElliotTempleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

At first everything looked perfect. They display the fishes and the seafoods that they are going to serve you in front of the restaurant so you get the false idea that you are going to have a wonderful meal. We got tricked.
The fishes we ordered didn't even taste like fish. I kind of tasted like meat! We hardly ate anything.
The waiters didn't really asked why we didn't eat, they seemed clueless. The whole experience was so bad...
We didn't want this to spoil our vacation so we didn't argue or ask a refund but we were really chocked. Don't make the same mistake as us, avoid that place!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Valerie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Overpriced sea food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Very expensive sea food, actually the most expensive sea food I ever had! The prices in the menu are per person so we end up paying 101€ bill, for a platter and two drinks, after that we had to eat again cose was not enough. Sea food was dry, service not there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thefoodcomesfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Grande Voile also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to La Grande Voile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing