We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough food in a friendly atmosphere”
Review of Le Vingt4

Le Vingt4
Reserve with
Le Vingt4 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 1,977 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $34
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Very nice Wine Bar / Restaurant - Come & Try a wine bar designed by a woman - Closed on Sunday all day and Monday evening Only - A brand new concept in NICE .
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Le Vingt4 is a nice place with a wonderful staff. The owner and waiter were charismatic and very friendly. The food.. was good, but not "wow" - good simple, homely food. Not particularly memorable but also I can't fault it at all. Maybe 7-8 out of 10. I'm not sure if the other dishes on the menu perhaps have more of a wow factor though as we only tried 2 out of the whole menu so - this review is only representative of the two dishes we had which were the seabream fish with herbs, and the dish of the day which was a hamburger with goat cheese. The atmosphere is very pleasant and the prices are affordable too and the thing we enjoyed the most was the kindness and charisma of the lovely staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Susie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

For the first time since more than 2 years running le vingt4 , I do not know how to react to a such comment : reading your review carefully you found everything great but you gave a median note .... Unusual reaction for sure but the positive point is that you loved our restaurant at the end .
We hope to see you back to try to explain this mystery with you around a glass of wine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,471)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 396 of 1,471 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

Basically everything you have is great, the owner (staff) is friendly, the food is fresh, and the wine is good. Do make a reservation for dinner though as it's small and gets full quite quickly.
We had the lamb, sea bass, cod, and linguini with clams. All were perfect.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

It was a great pleasure to share this moment with all your family coming from all over the world and joining in our restaurant !
For your information our lamb is coming from one of the best butcher in old town and is feed only with milk ... And this give him a particular flavor !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Superb find. Was taking friends back to airport and just happened across this little gem by accident. Superb service (owner truly enthusiastic about his food and wine). Home cooked everything including the bread and the biggest surprise of all, such amazing value. I truly hope this establishment is open for years to come, I will definitely search it out again.

1  Thank TimCBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

... And you will be as welcome as for your first visit ! We are not in a very touristic area but we try to compensate by our friendly welcome and the best rate between quality / price in town :)
We hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Read the reviews on Trip Advisor and had to check this gem out for ourselves. So glad we did. From the bread to the meal to the accompanying wine suggested by our hostess...a splendid meal. Fresh ingredients freshly prepared. No microwave in this fine eatery. No sticker shock either on the price. Go there again? You bet. The owners and waiters speak English very well and are oh so nice. You will not be disappointed with this new twist on classic French dining!

Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2013

Thanks for leaving your review and you right : in our restaurant no deep freeze , no microwave , no vacuum machine ... Only fresh seasonable products coming directly from the best suppliers in town !
We hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Quaint little place in Nice run by a true professional. The menu is clearly written with care suggesting reasonable wines to enhance every dish. The salads were interesting and fresh. The meats cooked to perfection. This is fresh French food without any pretentiousness.

Thank LiveinNorcross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thanks for your comment . Yes , all our family is in the restaurant business and we are running restaurants since few years also ... but as you nicely explained we are an unpretentious bistrot and our only target is to share our passion for fresh seasonnal products & nice wines at reasonnable prices

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vingt4 also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Vingt4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing