We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious quality dining”
Review of Le Vingt4

Le Vingt4
Reserve with
Le Vingt4 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #39 of 1,946 Restaurants in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $27 - $34
Cuisines: French, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Very nice Wine Bar / Restaurant - Come & Try a wine bar designed by a woman - Closed on Sunday all day and Monday evening Only - A brand new concept in NICE .
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This restaurant certainly lived up to its high rating on tripadvisor. The welcome is genuinely warm and the owner's enthusiasm seems undimmed by the many times of explaining the concept to new customers. There is a refreshingly unpretentious atmosphere which makes for relaxed dining without any pressure to turn tables over. Those expecting Michelin style formality should choose a different establishment.

The menu is short but well chosen with an excellent wine list. Scallops are an easy dish to ruin with a minute too long under heat but here they were fresh, succulent and cooked to perfection. The roast sea bream had pleasingly crisp skin and the simple olive oil, crushed tomato and herb sauce allowed the fish to shine. To bring these two dishes out to table together at just the right point , shows skill and attention in the kitchen. The wine list is interesting and arranged by taste which could be helpful where the wine choices are unfamiliar.

And finally, no sting in the tail with the bill which seemed reasonable for Nice . All in all , our most enjoyable dining experience in the city for some time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Phi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Thanks for your comment and your analyzis : We are very pleased to read that our guests understand our restaurant siprit & concept .
We are ,as our cooking, unpretentious and we try daily to share our passion for good fresh seasonnal products & "small" wines coming from unknown vineyards . We hope to see you back soon in NICE.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
There are newer reviews for Le Vingt4
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 455 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

Le Vingt4 was on our list of places to try in Nice based on the reviews and a recommendation from some other travellers in our hotel. We tried to visit on a Friday night, but they had a set menu and music night happening, so we were not able to attend. We made a reservation for the Saturday night. The owners were so friendly and apologetic over not being able to seat us that night, and for only being able to offer us the higher bar-stool table seats, they insisted on offering us some rum punch that they had prepared for that evening before sending us on our way. Very impressed!

The next night we arrived and were thoroughly explained the menu and restaurant concept (all the wines are selected by an all-women tasting panel, descriptions are listed based on their comments and taste). We were blown away by the selection and had a hard time deciding on our choices. We ended up with:

-The Charcuterie Plate --> excellent selection
-The Goat Cheese spring rolls --> melting in your mouth delicious
-The mini chicken satay appetizer --> we each had a few small bites and were left wanting more, it was so tasty!
-Two of us had the scallops with different sides (you can pick the side you want) and I had the hamburger special. It was explained that the hamburger was hand-cut steak, so I went with medium rare, and it was topped with a thick slice of goat cheese and a béchamel sauce - oh and the buns are freshly made by a local bakery. All I can say is WOW! It was so delicious, my dining companions, although they loved their meals, were jealous of my pick. And to top it off, it was only 16 euros.
-We each had desert, lemon tart and two crème caramels. Also very good.

The total bill, with a bottle of wine, was 124 euros. You will not get this quality and service in Nice for that price any where else. I highly recommend visiting Le Vingt4. You will not be disappointed!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dee_247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Hi our 3 Canadian friends : Thanks for your kind comment .
In our restaurant we do not favor the profitability at all costs ... first of all we are here to share our passion for good wines & fresh seasonnable products with our guests .
We try to welcome all our customers as friends and to help them finding an other restaurant if no seats available here . We are never doing to seatings : we really consider that a restaurant must be a relaxing place with no hurry and a friendly spirit .
We hope to see you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went to Vingt4 as a not-Valentine's Day Valentine treat on the basis of the Trip Advisor reviews. We agree with the positive comments; the food was excellent - and extremely reasonably priced for this part of the world and we had an excellent Malbec for €27 which was fab (and so nice to see a non-French wine on a menu!)

We were in two minds as to whether to write a review: in part it would be cool if Vingt4 remained a secret - they don't have heaps of space; on the other hand it's only right that M. le patron and his wife get the plaudits they deserve. The biggest compliment we can pay is to say that if Vingt4 was in a fancier dining room the prices would easily be two or three times higher and rightly so

1  Thank Chooqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Waow ! Thanks for this comment . We are daily focused on the right rate between quality & Price but always with the best raw producers in town .
We have today in our wine list more than 15% of our wines coming from other countries than France ( Italy , Argentina , ... ) and we are very proud of this : We really do not think that quality is a question of geographic location and we very often feel that French wine producers are "sleeping" on their previous fame .
At the same time we try also to promote actively wines coming from Cotes de Provence and medirranean coasts with more than 40% of our selected wines .
We hope to see you back soon .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was one of my favorite resturants in Nice. We made reservations for Thursday nite. The resturant was packed, so reservations are a must. The starter, the main and desert was so delicious. Friendly service and nice ambiance. A must in Nice!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank adaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Thanks for your comment !
Your are our first guest coming from Houston and we are very proud to be able to seduce you .
We hope tio have the pleasure to welcome you again soon and do not hesitate to promote our restaurant in all Texas ... :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

After reading all reviews and seeing pictures here on trip advisor we decided to visit this restaurant. It was fully booked for the evening, but they helped us book a table at another restaurant. Which we thought was good service. We had high expectations for this one. For starter we had a spicy chicken burger served on a very spicy exotic fruit salad, drenched in chili and possibly cayenne pepper. I am used to spicy food but I think this is the spiciest thing I ever tasted. You had to keep eating it though because it was so good. For main course we got one well done lamb and the other one medium done. The well done was too well done for our liking but the medium one was supperb. We had desert with that but after the meal we were full and could have skipped the desert.Wasn't as delicious as the meal. Service and treatment from the waiter was very good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cat285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric D, Propriétaire at Le Vingt4, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2013

Thanks for leaving your comment .
In our restaurant nothing is lukewarm : we love characterful wines , and for sure characterful cooking :) !
You will never find elsewhere same plates ... but on the top of all we want to share our passion for good products at reasonnable prices .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Vingt4 also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Le Vingt4? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing