We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mmmm cheese, wine and fantastic music” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cave Wilson

Cave Wilson
Ranked #11 of 39 Nightlife in Nice
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bar Gay Nice - Before - AfterWork - Cabaret - the Cave aux Folles 16, Rue Gubernatis / 06000 Nice Open every day except Tuesday from 6:00 p.m. to 0:30
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mmmm cheese, wine and fantastic music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My Husband and myself visited the Cave Wilson on Thursday 11th July 2013. On this particular evening there was flamenco music (two awesome musicians). We had the charcuterie board and polished off two bottles of wine.... Antoine was informative and accommodating (we had additional requests of changing some of the cheese and we also asked for fig jam) all of which Antoine was only happy to provide.

I will definitely be going back and have taken a batch of business cards to spread the word to friends that visit Nice often....

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Simples79and80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    6
    0
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A great evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a fantastic wine bar and store. It is well worth going whether you just want to purchase wines and learn more about French wine regions - the owner was very informative & helpful or....if you want to enjoy a very nice evening of music, cheese & wine. We hunted this cave out based on recommendations and decided to book for the Saturday night when live music would be on (as it is most weekends). There is a small cover charge of 5E (presumably to pay for the music) - totally worth it. We had a beautiful & generous plate of cheeses, meats & bread - really top quality & shared a bottle of wine. The cave has a nice ambience & the music was FANTASTIC. We saw 2 guitarists and they were just amazing. We enjoyed it so much we are booking again for next Saturday. We will also return to buy wines before departing for home.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank DLWork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

What a wonderful visit!!!! We got there right upon opening at 6p and the owner was wonderful in greeting us. Even though the kitchen did not open until 8p, he offered us an amazing meat and cheese platter that went with our bottle of wine - it was the best assortment of meats and cheeses we have had thus far!! Great atmosphere!! We even came back later for another bottle of wine and great live jazz (Saturday night). It was wonderful!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Level Contributor
66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Superb wines”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

A very pleasant way to spend a Saturday evening in Nice. Live jazz was great although perhaps a little too loud for the size of the room. Lovely food (boeuf bourgignon for my wife, assiette de charcuterie for me). But really it's all about the superb wines and the knowledgeable help provided in such a helpful and refreshingly non-condescending way by the owner. With two of our friends we had two bottles of Faugeres and left feeling very happy.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Deramore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great jazz/blues and wine to match”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Had a weekend trip to Nice with my aunt and was our first time in Nice and on our first night we went here and had the most relaxing time i've had in a while. The Jazz and Blues was incredible. We had italian and French meats and cheeses with wine served to us by the owner and could not fault the service.
Will definitley return upon my travels......this place is a must.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Angie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cave Wilson also viewed

Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
Nice, French Riviera - Cote d'Azur
 

Been to Cave Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing