We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dave & Sue UK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Fontaine
Ranked #6 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dave & Sue UK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed at hotel in Aug 13 for the second time, Just booked for same time next year with Olga who was very helpful and patient as are all the other staff. Lovely location within easy reach of everything. We strongly recommend as base to travel the cote d'azur. Hotel description very accurate. Thank you and we are already looking forward to seeing you next August.
Dave & Sue

Room Tip: Book Early to avoid diassappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL DE LA FON... N, Responsable réception at Hotel de la Fontaine, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Dave & Sue,
Thanks a lot for your recent stay with us & your kind review!
We do look forward to welcoming you again in August!
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    170
    39
    3
    5
See reviews for
50
190
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
82 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

What we liked: Excellent front desk team, mult-lingual, very helpful, incredibly nice. It feels very safe. Room is very functional and well designed; everything worked well. Nice balcony (not available for every room, I think) WiFi was good. Nice modern look and feel. Location is good -- just one block from the Promenade des Anglais, the beach, shopping, and cafes. An easy and entertaining 5 minute walk from the main shopping area.

What we didn't like: 8 Euro charge to use the safe in your room -- I've never seen that before, and I think it's ridiculous. Also, the 12 Euro fee for their breakfast seems to be too much given that you can buy a good breakfast nearby for substantially less.

Just FYI stuff: Nearby parking garage up the street at the museum. 23 Euro per 24 hours. We drove into Nice and had a hard time seeing the hotel as we drove past because the sign is a bit small and there was a tree in a planter in front the partially blocked the sign. So we used the yellow "Toto" sign across the street as our marker.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. Negotiate to have the safe included with the room before booking. The extra fee f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David_The_Blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed here three nights and were quite content. The room was clean, quiet, and well equipped, but very plain, decorated in a modern style that felt like it could be anywhere in the world. Good firm bed. Great location, felt quite safe, close to the seafront and some good choices for meals. The breakfast was decent, good selection and food very fresh. The staff on the front desk were very pleasant and helpful.

In short - if I had to stay here again, I would have no concerns.....but i would keep my eyes open for some place with a little more charm. if you just want to be confident of a safe trouble-free lodging, this place is a good choice.

Room Tip: It 's worth upgrading to a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crs1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL DE LA FON... N, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de la Fontaine, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thanks for your recent stay with us!
We're happy to know that you enjoyed your short holiday!
Thanks for appreciating the cleanliness, quietness and modern comfort of the room, our location, safety, breakfast quality and our staff professionalism.
All our 29 rooms are fully refurbished having their own individual design and color.
We'll be pleased to accomodate you next time in a different room with another decoration.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed in a twin room Sept 2013.
Twin rooms are bijoux and compact however, they do have everything you require. Bed was perfectly comfortable and extra bedding easily accessible. Our room was on the road frontage and we didn't have any particular road / noise disturbance (even more amazing as we stayed a Friday and Saturday night).

The location of the hotel is great and the price good value for its central position.
One row back from the Promenade de Anglais - the main promenade on the sea front. The beach (stony) is less than a 5 minute walk. There are a whole host of restaurants and shops on the Rue de France (where the hotel is situated).

The Continental breakfast displayed a reasonable range of options (the granola was particularly tasty) and can be experienced both inside and outside.
The front of house (reception) was fully knowledgeable as to where to / not to go during our short break, providing a variety of maps.
In summary, on another trip to Nice I would have no hesitation about staying there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeradl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights hotel room small but perfect for what we wanted relaxing on the beach or walking into the old town. Both take only 5 minutes and you are surrounded by an abundance of cafe's bars and shops. Breakfast we decided to use a cafe and for 7 euros coffee and croissants for 2. On arrival at the airport we took a taxi (45Euro) as it was our first trip to Nice but returned on the bus which couldn't be easier at 6 Euro each. We will return to Nice and probably stay here again

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

My girlfriend and I booked a room for our trip, the first night we had a room overlooking the street which was rather noisy. But the next three nights we moved to one of the rooms overlooking the breakfast patio, which were lovely, characterful and quiet to boot.

The breakfast buffet is great, staff friendly and it's a good location too.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the patio are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Hotel de La Fontaine is a small hotel in a great location one block from the waterfront - where the West End and Negresco Hotels are. The room was compact but very functional and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We were very pleased that we could walk down Rue de France and in one block be in a pedestrian area directly connecting to Place Grimaldi and Place Messena. We couldn't have asked for a better location. The air conditioning and elevator worked well. A real find and a great value.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LewDalTex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centre
Hotel Villa Rivoli
Hotel Villa Rivoli
#13 of 204 in Nice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
Centre
Hotel Villa Victoria
Hotel Villa Victoria
#10 of 204 in Nice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Fontaine

Property: Hotel de la Fontaine
Address: 49 rue de France, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#9 Family Hotel in Nice
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Fontaine 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city center at only 50 meters from the famous Promenade Des Anglais & the sea and at 100 meters from the pedestrian street, Hotel de La Fontaine offers you an easy access to the sea and an ideal opportunity to explore the attractions of the old town and other tourist attractions (restaurants, shops, beaches, and casinos...). All our 29 rooms are fully refurbished having their own individual design and color. The rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioning control system, anti-allergy flooring, blankets and pillows, UPVC double glazed windows, LCD screens with satellite TV, hair dryer, security safe, direct-dial telephone, and a tower corner with coffee table. Also, the free WIFI internet connection is available in each room. All our rooms are no-smoking. You will certainly enjoy our delicious buffet breakfast in the patio near the fountain or to take a drink from our bar after a day of shopping, sightseeing or just sunbathing (having the beach at only a few steps away!). Parking if needed, Massena Museum parking & Palais de la Mediterranee,both very close to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel de la Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Fontaine Nice
De La Fontaine Hotel
Hotel Fontaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing