We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de la Fontaine
Ranked #5 of 204 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We needed a hotel for an overnight stop before catching an early flight from Nice airport. We found this hotel on the internet so we weren't really sure what to expect but were pleasantly surprised. The hotel has a central location in a side street, the room was small but very clean, had very efficient air conditioning, a comfortable bed and a great shower with toiletries. There is a lovely courtyard at the rear where we enjoyed a buffet breakfast and the staff couldn't have been more helpful organising a taxi for the airport. Because of the location there is no parking, only a drop off space it you're lucky enough to grab it. They don't provide an evening meal but as there are lots of restaurants/brasseries close by this wasn't an issue and gave us the opportunity to walk along the promenade and enjoy a fantastic view.
I wouldn't necessarily want to stay here for a week but it was great for what we wanted and Diana on reception couldn't have been more helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Busbylovescuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (445)
There are newer reviews for Hotel de la Fontaine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 445 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed at the de la fontaine for four nights in a room at the font of the building, over looking the road. The windows are double glazed and as it was cold outside when staying there i kept the window closed and apart from rubbish collection outside, and people getting up in the mornings, banging doors inside, (to be expected) i found the hotel a good base. The rooms were modern, clean and warm, adequate for our stay. The breakfast was plentiful, however staff were looking all the time to prevent you taking any food for later in the day. Due to it being cold weather when visiting we did not have breakfast in the courtyard garden.
We were close to all amenities/promenade/bus stops/train station - great location.
Negative point - we had a small kettle in our room with coffee sachets, but no cups/tea/milk. Unsure if tea/coffee making facilities are supposed to be provided, but did not really bother me only drinking tea at breakfast.

Room Tip: Rooms at back of hotel over look courtyard garden
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank unhappy008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

This really is not for one to relax--we work hard for our money or even if helped financially-whatever the situation- we all deserve a good relaxing break and if in need and searching for a good relaxing break -this is not the place for anyone for a peaceful quiet stay at all. As a hotel, a hotel already knows that they are there to serve the customer with a good stay. The rooms are not sound proof at all and makes one feel un-comfortable to even speak or feel free to sing, one can hear other customers talking outside of the rooms and inside their own rooms-the doors make a loud banging noise and any noise in general can be heard which doesn't allow one to rest as they should and be woken up- The internet reception in the room is bad for skype-the room if also on the very end of the front facing half of the hotel in addition has the late night crowds making noise-the friday-saturday night especially and is situated near too many little restaurants and not the nicest area of Nice -not a good atmosphere near here-more club goers feel in the area and not a good atmosphere on entering the hotel but a strange feel. And one particular lady hotel staff was terribly rude on speaking with her over the noise issue-this is not a nice place for holiday makers and not for longer stays or even short stays depending on your tolerance levels at the time. I would be woken up with the noise from the doors banging, customers talking outside of the room or in their rooms i could hear a tad also-The cleanliness of the rooms is the best part of the hotel and the breakfast was quite nice there, there were also polite members of staff that were there, the rooms were well furnished-the floor is a bit over the top for my liking and if one is not allowed to eat in the rooms-it's not the stay for me.

Room Tip: Not by the front of the hotel side
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Natasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL DE LA FON... N, Responsable relations clients at Hotel de la Fontaine, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Madam,
We thank you for your 5 days stay in our hotel. Initially you booked for 4 nights & later you extended your stay with us. You were happy with a special discounted rate we offered to you within a busy Easter period.
It’s a pity that we had to call the police as you couldn’t pay your invoice as you didn’t have money on your account.
It’s a pity that you were very rude to our staff on your check-out.
We look forward to receiving your apologies.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank katia536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank aramos_348611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank erosenmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MarioGraziella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de la Fontaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de la Fontaine

Address: 49 rue de France, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Nice
#9 Family Hotel in Nice
#39 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $86 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de la Fontaine 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the city center at only 50 meters from the famous Promenade Des Anglais & the sea and at 100 meters from the pedestrian street, Hotel de La Fontaine offers you an easy access to the sea and an ideal opportunity to explore the attractions of the old town and other tourist attractions (restaurants, shops, beaches, and casinos...). All our 29 rooms are fully refurbished having their own individual design and color. The rooms are equipped with individual air-conditioning control system, anti-allergy flooring, blankets and pillows, UPVC double glazed windows, LCD screens with satellite TV, hair dryer, security safe, direct-dial telephone, and a tower corner with coffee table. Also, the free WIFI internet connection is available in each room. All our rooms are no-smoking. You will certainly enjoy our delicious buffet breakfast in the patio near the fountain or to take a drink from our bar after a day of shopping, sightseeing or just sunbathing (having the beach at only a few steps away!). Parking if needed, Massena Museum parking & Palais de la Mediterranee,both very close to our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel de la Fontaine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De La Fontaine Nice
De La Fontaine Hotel
Hotel Fontaine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing