We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nice Excelsior Hotel
Ranked #10 of 203 Hotels in Nice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We only stayed one night but immediately fell in love with this hotel. The interior design is fantastic with everything from the carpets to the furniture taking inspiration from travel. All the staff were very polite and helpful speaking several languages. The bar in the garden is a delight and breakfast was very good with a good selection. The hotel is really close to the station and only a few minutes walk from the shops and Promenade des Anglaise.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (631)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

366 - 372 of 631 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I would like to start with a warm recommendation of the hotel due to a genuinely warm and helpful staff. This is a small(ish) hotel with more personnal service than the big hotels. We decided to book the hotel without breakfast due to the 15€ price (decided to buy breakfast at a cafe instead). At arrival we found out that we could order an "express breakfast" for ~= same price as a cafe. However, the full (15€) breakfast was so tempting that we had the regular breakfast at the hotel for 2/3 days.

The garden in the back is nice and have sufficient wifi coverage to sit and read and relax. We would like to be able to watch the football matches in the garden, but this was not possible (private house next to the hotel garden). The lady in the bar helped us to find a webpage to watch the games on my ipad(she even called a friend to sort things out for us).

The quality of the products in the bathroom is far above average for 4* hotels. The bathroom could
have been larger, but they are not unusually small (we had 3 rooms). The shower is cool, but slightly impractical (water spilled onto the bathroom floor). However that is a bigger problem for the cleaning staff than for guests.

In one of the rooms we had, the AC was noisy but in two rooms it was very quiet.

The area close to the gare sncf (Nice Nord) is supposed to be dodgy at night, but we did not have any unpleasent experiences even though returned home late a few nights.

Finding parking in the road may be a challenge, but there are parking nearby (a few blocks away and at the the Gare SNCF - 200m from the hotel).

I have stayed at NH Nice before and do clearly
prefer the Excelsior Hotel to NH Nice

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KaffeGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband was robbed 800 usd from the hotel's room safe!!!When we complained to the management we were told that they will try to solve the problem by doing an investigation. And that we might get our money through the hotel's insurance besides we called the police.. but according to management being reimbursed may take time!!! I can't understand how this can happen in a 4 star hotel. Am not sure if management will do anything to compensate us!!! Terrible experience!!!! Terrible response from management!! We were robbed by a hotel employee who has the master key that opens the safe box!! 

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
27  Thank Dina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

Not the best location but one of the nicest hotel stays in our 2 week trip. Staff was amazing and rooms were way above average. Loved it. The outside bar was a great touch as well. The staff really is at your service the entire time. The wifi changing every 24 hours gets annoying but overall a great experience

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel is artfully decorated throughout with high ceilings. The superior room with double bed was well decorated and had sufficient room, electric outlets, lighting, small refrigerator, and amenities such as robes, slippers, hair dryer, and toiletries. For breakfast we had more options than we had seen elsewhere: coffee and a roll, 4 euros; coffee, juice and three small croissants for 7 euros; or a full breakfast that also included eggs, meats, cheeses, yogurt for 15 euros. It is a very short walk to the train station and a 10-minute walk to the 7-mike long crescent shaped pebble beach along which you can stroll or bike on a wide promenade. The woman at the desk during the daytime was very helpful.

The shower head was so high that at 5'3" I could not manage to shower without getting my hair wet. One of our two rooms did not have a chair. The safe is tricky to use so read directions first
Sent from my iPad

Room Tip: Ask for a sheet to putt between you and the comforter. They are provided only by request
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

The hotel is nice with room recently renovated.
Small rooms but nicely done
The service is very nice with occitaine products and nice staff, bit not a 5 or 4 stars. Mote a top of the line 3 stars.
Overall the stay was nice, however next time will look for a hotel closer to the old city and the sea.
The nice beaches were at 15 minutes walking, old town at 15 minutes as well

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank G S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Booked here because of proximity to the train station (2 minute walk) but I am definitely staying here on my next visit to Nice. The staff at this hotel are amazing! The rooms are very comfortable and clean, short walk to the coast through beautiful neighborhoods. Can't say enough about this wonderful hotel!!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank JPSLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nice hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jardin Albert 1er
Mercure Nice Promenade des Anglais
Centre
Grand Hotel le Florence
Centre
Ajoupa Apart'hotel Nice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nice Excelsior Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nice Excelsior Hotel

Address: 19 avenue Durante, 06000 Nice, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > French Riviera - Cote d'Azur > Nice > Thiers / Train Station
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nice
#6 Luxury Hotel in Nice
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nice
Price Range: $68 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nice Excelsior Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Nice Excelsior Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel Nice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing